Xbox 360 Elite / Falcon

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by Joe DeFuria, Nov 16, 2007.

  1. Johnny Awesome

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Windsor, ON
    Extra HD space would be nice. Cables come with it too, don't they? Maybe by next Fall the Elite will come with the HD-DVD drive built in. That would save me some space.
     
  2. infinity4

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    5
    The HDMI cable that come with the elite is crap. Audio dongle is nice but hdmi cable keeps losing signals for weird reason.
     
  3. pipo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,624
    Likes Received:
    28
    Ehhh... Did you ever consider it might be your cable or TV?

    My mate's Elite is doing fine over HDMI.
     
  4. infinity4

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    5
    How could it be my monitor? It accepts DVI signals well, it is HDCP enabled, it shouldn't be my monitor.
     
  5. Johnny Awesome

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,193
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Windsor, ON
    It shouldn't be, but it might be.
     
  6. J_Saint

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    I picked up a Falcon Elite today. The box said 203w but the actual brick is 175w.
     
  7. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    Thanks for the heads-up...looks like most premiums manufactured October or later are Falcons...
     
  8. J_Saint

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    Mine was lot 0743.
     
  9. Dr. Meaty

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    1
    A couple of weeks ago MS sent me a replacement console with a manufacture date of 11/5/07, but there's no hdmi and it's not a falcon. I guess they're assigning new serial numbers and "manufacture" dates to the refurbs they're sending out.
     
  10. pipo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,624
    Likes Received:
    28
    I've seen Elites here in Europe with actual 175W stickers on the box already...
     
  11. Rockster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    On my rock
    Yeah, my elite (lot 743) which I picked up a few weeks ago at a Best Buy in Orlando had a 175w sticker on the outside of the box. I honestly didn't expect to notice much difference between component and hdmi but the latter definitely provides a sharper picture, which was a pleasant surprise. The new unit doesn't get nearly as hot and the thinner power cords are welcome.
     
  12. 22psi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    1,365
    Likes Received:
    24
    is the power brick any smaller?
     
  13. J_Saint

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Florida
    The brick is the same size.
     
  14. Laa-Yosh

    Laa-Yosh I can has custom title?
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9,568
    Likes Received:
    1,452
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Yeah, HDMI is sharper when viewed from up close, but from normal viewing distance the difference seems to be unnoticeable for me. 32" LCD TV here.
     
  15. Joe DeFuria

    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,994
    Likes Received:
    70
    Got it....Elite (Falcon...175W power supply) Manufactured 11/7.

    That's my own X-Mas present.

    The more difficult one to get is going to be trying to score a Wii...the kids' X-mas present. :)

    The 32" 1080p LCD just arrived too...after two years of "waiting", this is turning out to be a banner weekend for household gaming. :cool:
     
  16. Rys

    Rys PowerVR
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,156
    Likes Received:
    1,433
    Location:
    Beyond3D HQ
    Same here, picked up an Elite today with Falcon innards and 175W PSU. Hilariously, I forgot to pick up a memory unit so I can do the transfer of my gamer profile and saves from the old HDD to the new. Will get one tomorrow.
     
  17. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    I think you can do a gamer profile recovery for the interim and download all your details on to the Elite from LIVE.
     
  18. infinity4

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,235
    Likes Received:
    5
    I thought you can't transfer game saves from MU to HDD (whilst allowing the opposite?)
     
  19. AzBat

    AzBat Agent of the Bat
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,942
    Likes Received:
    1,739
    Location:
    Alma, AR
    Actually if the game save allows copying, it should allow you to send it to a memory card and back to the hard drive too. But not all game saves can be copied from what I understand and it's not just a size issue either.

    Tommy McClain
     
  20. Rockster

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    On my rock
    MS recommends using your original hard drive until you recv the free transfer cable to move your profiles, saves, and content to the new hard drive. It will save you some headaches. It's what I did. I got my cable in 4 days from faxing them the form located on the bottom of this page.
    http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemuse/xbox360/console/datamigration.htm
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...