Windows 7

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by almighty, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Office 2010 will have free (ad-supported) versions of Word and Excel.

    Well, if they add any more features Adobe will probably complain to the US DoJ/EU's commission. :razz:
     
  2. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,321
    Likes Received:
    1,980
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    They're just overhauls in terms of UI though, not that much change in functionality as far as I can tell.

    Still, that was definitely overdue. ;)
     
  3. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    17,613
    Likes Received:
    7,575
    I've always just right clicked on desktop (or in folder), new -> text document. Then open it with notepad (or wordpad). I always found that easier than creating the document after opening notepad/wordpad.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  4. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Same, though I only do this for TXT documents. What I really wanted was to shortcut these two steps with a simple double-click on an empty space in the desktop (or any regular explorer windows really).
     
  5. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    83
    I've finally switched over to Win7, and for the most part I am pretty happy with it. My biggest gripes are the lack of up buttons on explorer windows, and the inability to put buttons up there on the window bar. It annoying that I now have to use the keyboard or context menu if I want to delete a file, whereas on XP I can just click on a button at the top of the window to do cut/copy/past/delete.

    The lack of the up button is just shocking. How the hell are you supposed to navigate properly? Sure, you can go back and forth down the linear path you took, but you can't use the UI to go up the directory tree - often quicker and more logical than opening more windows or going backwards along all the paths you've already been. Back and forth doesn't even do that if you need to move above your original entry point.

    It's pretty dumb that a new, supposedly more advance UI now takes more clicks to do the same thing than it did in XP, or is slower because you have to take your hand off the mouse to use the keyboard. Smacks to me of marketing wanting a pretty window, and sacrificing functionality for it. I just don't understand why it couldn't have been put in as an option for the more tech-savvy users instead of insisting that everyone uses the same "look dummy, it's a web browser" UI.
     
  6. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    88
    Clearly you didn't use Vista as it had the same navigation issues.
     
  7. neliz

    neliz GIGABYTE Man
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,904
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    In the know
    Typing commands etc is way faster than using the mouse etc. Once you learn to use these features and integrated search you'll browse your files faster than you could ever with a mouse. (mail etc.)
     
  8. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    83
    That is correct - doesn't mean it's not dumb to remove useful functionality. Newer interfaces are generally expected to be better than the old ones, not worse.
     
  9. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    83
    How can it be faster to delete or move particular files by typing commands? And I'm saying that as someone who can touchtype and comes from a Unix command line background.

    If I've got a GUI, and I'm using it, it's pretty silly to make me go to a command line or have to use more clicks or move my hands off the GUI controller. It's much slower to take my hands off the mouse and hit the backspace key to do a directory up than it is just to click with the mouse I'm already using.

    If you remove useful, basic functionality from a GUI, then tell people "you don't wanna do it like that", then expect to be mercilessly ridiculed. Suppose MS removed the keyboard and command line interface, and then told you "it's way faster to use the mouse and learn the new features"? You'd rightly be amazed and annoyed at the stupidity. More options for those that want/need them are much better.

    Really, there's been so much request for the up button that it's necessary. It's a basic functionality for efficient filesystem navigation. Without it, its like having a building where you can only walk down the stairs, but not up them. When you ask why you can't walk up the stairs, you're told "it's okay, you can climb in through the windows at any floor".
     
  10. cal_guy

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    3
    You can click on the parent folder in the address bar to go up, or the little arrow beside it to go to another folder in the parent folder.
     
  11. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    this means that you no longer have a non-moving, static target for your mouse click, that you may click any number of times without having to look at it and read stuff. now you have to reach for the backspace key for that.

    at least, the windows file manager is keyboard-friendly (windows is in general, sometimes more than a linux desktop :)) but mouse is useful for file selections.

    I do use copy/paste buttons too. it allows better use of the mouse, spares you going through a menu layer (edit menu or file properties)

    mind you I most often use the file manager with keyboard only under XP, but when I'm mousing I don't want to do ctrl-c, ctrl-drag'n'drop etc.; I still have to do ctrl-clicking (even though I've used three-button mice for the past 15 years)
     
  12. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    11,286
    Likes Received:
    1,550
    Location:
    London
    UltraExplorer for the win.
     
  13. ShaidarHaran

    ShaidarHaran hardware monkey
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2007
    Messages:
    4,026
    Likes Received:
    88
    I agree. Just saying it's not so new.
     
  14. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    83
    I've just found the "breadcumbs" which isn't bad, but it is still something slightly different than an up button. For instance the breadcrumbs won't let you move above your entry point, whereas up does.
     
  15. Bouncing Zabaglione Bros.

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2003
    Messages:
    6,363
    Likes Received:
    83
    I've just come across some similar codec issues (avi files with pretty standard mp3 audio that Windows Media Player just doesn't like), and problems installing codecs that are not simply ignored by WMP. A pretty painless solution was to install Shark 007's codecs For Win7 (x86 and x32) . I just installed both versions, and everything seems fixed and nothing is broken. It's supposed to be quite system friendly and easily reversible.
     
  16. Moloch

    Moloch God of Wicked Games
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    72
    I prefer simply using MPC-HC :D
     
  17. suryad

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,479
    Likes Received:
    16
    +1. So far I have had zero troubles with the CCCP setup and that includes MPC-HC in it.
     
  18. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    I use MPC regular as I didn't find how to disable MPC-HC's h264 codec (I know, it's a feature, but it looks worse than software decoded and deblocked/fixed by ffdshow :))
     
  19. Brad Grenz

    Brad Grenz Philosopher & Poet
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Messages:
    2,531
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Oregon
    You just uncheck h.264 in the list of internal filters.
     
  20. aaaaa00

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    23
    Alt+Up is the same as "Go Up".
    Backspace or Alt+Left is "Back" (same as IE).
    Alt+Right is "Forward" (same as IE).
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...