Playstation 5 [PS5] [Release November 12 2020]

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by BRiT, Mar 17, 2020.

  1. Insight

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2020
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    273
    What about ray-tracing?
     
  2. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    12,793
    Likes Received:
    15,301
    Location:
    The North
    I don't think cache is going to do much for RT. Incoherent rays go everywhere. The BVH structure is 1.5GB in size. I know very little about how hardware RT works with respect to optimizing for hardware, and we haven't seen 6000 series RT performance yet.

    I suspect the greatest consumer of that infinity cache, as Al points out, will be the ROPS.
     
  3. RDGoodla

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    593
    Likes Received:
    170
    PS5 is very like a small version of RX6800xt: almost the same max frequency, 16GB 256bits RAM

    I don't expect 128MB infinity cache but 48MB~64MB is still likely.
     
  4. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    12,793
    Likes Received:
    15,301
    Location:
    The North
    I suppose that's possible, certainly more believable than 128mb. 1/2 the chip equating to 1/2 the cache.

    I would naturally look at SoC die size to get an idea though. Considering how small the PS5 APU is, I'm not fully sold on it as being likely, but not confident enough to say it's not there.

    PS5 is keeping up with XSX so far.
     
    Unknown Soldier and PSman1700 like this.
  5. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Maaaaybe. It's entirely possible they don't need to design the Infinity Cache with as much I/O as the 6800/6900 series has. Someone guessed at a 4096-bit width, but hypothetically what if they did 2048-bit while being able to increase density (less overhead I/O). Then we could look at the bandwidth per flop ratios again, which we know were skimped on starting with the midgen twins, so the cache would be designed around a bandwidth that made sense for ~10TF vs the ~20TF segment.
     
  6. iroboto

    iroboto Daft Funk
    Legend Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2014
    Messages:
    12,793
    Likes Received:
    15,301
    Location:
    The North
    haha you know something. I'll find you on slack
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  7. anexanhume

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    1,534


    Already redeemed mine.
     
    Pete, BoardBonobo, goonergaz and 4 others like this.
  8. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    Sony own 84% of the console market and were the most popular pre-order console in 148 out 161 monitored markets.

    The largest pre-order country for the XSX was... China :D
    The largest pre-order country for the PS5 was Japan

    Source
     
    egoless, Unknown Soldier and Jawed like this.
  9. Kugai Calo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2020
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    181
    Speaking of that, Cerny did say that as a consequence of the high clock, the "distance" to memory (which I interpret as latency to the memory in cycles) is 30% higher, and did not mention any counter measure.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  10. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white(ish)!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    430
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    AMD are working on a DLSS like technology for the PS5 -> source
     
    eloyc and Unknown Soldier like this.
  11. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,901
    Likes Received:
    6,847
    Yes, Cerny said one of the defining features of RDNA2 was to "increase power efficiency by rearchitecting the GPU to put the data close to where it's needed, to optimize the GPU for performance".

    It's at 25m20s on the road to PS5 presentation.


    He too seems to point at the cache changes as the means to increase clocks.
     
  12. Kugai Calo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2020
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    181
    That’s referring to L1 and other L0 reconfigurations.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  13. Proelite

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    889
    Location:
    Redmond
    PS4, PS4 Pro, RX 5700 series too! :runaway:

    On the topic of infinity cache:

    Looks like 128mb esram is taking about ~100+mm2 on the Navi 21 die.
    [​IMG]
     
    #6113 Proelite, Oct 28, 2020
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
  14. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,999
    Likes Received:
    2,932
    Location:
    France
    How can you put L0 and L1 caches closer to the GPU than where they actually are?
     
    iroboto, chris1515 and ToTTenTranz like this.
  15. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,901
    Likes Received:
    6,847
    It's like closer-er.
     
    DSoup likes this.
  16. Kugai Calo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2020
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    181
    The GPU comprises of many cores (aka CUs) and other components, it's the distance between those and the data that matters, not to the GPU die.

    From RDNA Whitepaper:
     
  17. wco81

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6,620
    Likes Received:
    506
    Location:
    West Coast
    SO you get all those games if you have a PS5 and an active PSN membership?

    Oh they're probably not PS5 versions but PS4 versions which you can play in BC mode? Still a few games I still haven't played.

    That's strange, they could sell remastered versions of these games no doubt.

    Can you transfer PSN memberships from PS4 to PS5 or are active accounts on PS4 also active on PS5?
     
  18. anexanhume

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    2,078
    Likes Received:
    1,534
    Placement makes sense. Data will move the least physically if it’s in between memory PHY and the core. The shape is also interesting. Looks like the cache makes a good gap filler to get favorable geometries and space utilization.

    I don’t know if there’s enough fudge room in the known PS5 hardware and die size estimates to include any significant cache over the expected 4MB L2, though.
     
    Proelite and Kugai Calo like this.
  19. Unknown Soldier

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,670
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    I don't find the app on Google Play. Do I have to un-install the old App before installing the new?
     
  20. Unknown Soldier

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,670
    Likes Received:
    1,207
    If you have a PSN membership, you are good to go on the PS5. You must just grab the titles when they become available in November and add it to your account.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...