NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 Ti

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Rys, May 31, 2015.

  1. Albuquerque

    Albuquerque Red-headed step child
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2004
    Messages:
    3,845
    Likes Received:
    329
    Location:
    35.1415,-90.056
    iGPUs that are more than two generations out receive no driver updates, hence my using them as an example.
     
  2. ninelven

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    117
    They are also a strawman, hence my not addressing them.
     
  3. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    30 to
    50% of the income by month, who is more or less what is spending Nvidia .. At contrario of what peoples think, AMD is spending a lot of money on research and developpement.
     
    #83 lanek, Jul 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  4. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Review: Zotac GeForce GTX 980 Ti AMP! Extreme
    17 July 2015
    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/graphics/84722-zotac-geforce-gtx-980-ti-amp-extreme/
     
    #84 pharma, Jul 18, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 18, 2015
  5. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Not only is AMD spending less than Nvidia on R&D, they're spending it on more varied product lines with less overlap/synergy.
     
  6. Kaarlisk

    Regular Newcomer Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    49
    When generations change every year, they're not a strawman. Not with Haswell GT3e level of performance, especially with it still actively selling.
    However, Intel do still do bugfix releases for older GPUs. They do lack an officially stated policy though.
     
  7. ninelven

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    117
    Nope, that is also a strawman. Or rather is is simply a factual observation that has absolutely nothing to do with the point. Just poor reasoning I suppose.
     
  8. Kaarlisk

    Regular Newcomer Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    49
    Not nothing. It is spending on drivers that influences how much Intel can support. So it does have something to do with the point.
    Though I do agree that it does not prove the point. For example, if Intel was spending more than AMD or Nvidia, but prioritizing catching up in features on new products instead of fully supporting older ones, the same situation would arise.
     
  9. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    The return in term of currency is different, but this dont mean they dont put the money where it should be ... The question of ressources i see offtly on forums, is really a false idea... But maybe it is not really the thread for speak about it..
     
  10. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    pharma likes this.
  11. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Indeed! Also interesting that its noise level at idle/performance is the same as the Fury X while wiping any indication that it was ever in the same performance class.
     
  12. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
    Heartbreaking for AMD..their latest cards are ending up in the middle of the pack...

    Interestingly... oldie 390X (Hawaii) is working double time against 980!

    What this modify bios you speak off? Pique my interest, with it will others 980Ti get up to 1.5ghz on the core?

    There is a floating theory Nvidia is intentionally capping big Maxwell core clocks...or Maxwell core can run higher than what they are being sold for...
     
  13. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    You can modify the BIOS in order to allow for higher power drain. Without that, the AMP Extreme did not go beyond ~1330 MHz in our tests in a _demanding_ gaming environment (I'm not talking Kindergarten like Crysis 3), let alone 1500 "rock solid". True, you can up the slider no probs, but as soon as the game gets more demanding, the card will throttle.
     
  14. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Does the numerical gpu ASIC value determine power drain?
     
  15. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    Depends. It more or less denotes the "leakiness" of a single ASIC. While high leakage parts indeed do tend to need higher voltage and consume more power, they are preferrable when used with more exotic cooling methods because they can also hit higher clocks. Low leakage parts (those with a high "ASIC quality" can run a bit cooler and more efficient within the normal boundaries of the product's spec. They tend not to achieve world record clocks though.
     
  16. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,489
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    By the way, just to brag a little more about the fill-rate power of GM200, I'm finally able to play the good old L4D2 with 8xSGSSAA enabled on a QHD resolution at smooth 60 FPS 95% of the time, in a crowded server. :p
    Only the more heavy particle effects are pushing it down a bit.
     
    pharma, Razor1 and Lightman like this.
  17. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    ha! I've yet to find a card that gives me v'synced 120 fps in Ultra-HD for Mechwarrior Online. :)
     
    NRP likes this.
  18. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    EVGA GeForce GTX 980 Ti KINGPIN Unleashing Tomorrow – Pre-Binned, ACX 2.0+ and Pure Copper Based Card Starting at $850 With 72%+ ASIC Quality

    http://wccftech.com/evga-geforce-gtx-980-ti-kingpin-unleashed-pre-binned-acx-gm200/

    Performance should be different that other factory 980 Ti's, especially if you have an EvBot laying around! Hopefully some reviews will come out.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  19. gongo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    582
    Likes Received:
    12
    I think it has been touched on around here (by Dave?)...high leakage ASIC (low scores) will overclock higher...

    While KingPin has many practical experience in overclocking numerous Nvidia GPU....i would like to hear more from a theoretical insight from our resident engineers...how accurate are those ASIC figures, read from a third party apps (GPU-z), in determining Maxwell overclocking abilities?

    It seems there are inner changes from Nvida Boost2.0 algorithms..?

    Can we call it crazy to pay Titan X prices for a souped up 980Ti?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...