Nvidia BigK GK110 Kepler Speculation Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y, Apr 21, 2012.

Tags:
  1. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    It is a three-slot card by reference design which would supposedly mean it has quite a lot of metal surrounding the chip for cooling too. :grin:
     
  2. AnarchX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    34
  3. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    694
  4. AnarchX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    34
    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1827639&postcount=937

    Maybe some kind of answer to Hawaii with its 2,6TFLOPs DP @ FirePro. With GK2xx roots we can speculate, that TMU count is halfed like on GK208 and GM1xx. This could saved some transistors to go half-rate DP too.

    The "GK210-885-A1" should be the GPU string of a Quadro SKU, which goes on sale. Qualification/engineering GPUs have other strings.
     
  5. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    910
    That sounds like a lot of effort just to get a bit more DP performance, not to mention the overlap with Maxwell. If there really is a GK210, I would bet on a respin of GK110 (or GK118 as the latest version is apparently called). Plus Hawaii came out five months ago, that's far too little time to design a new chip.
     
  6. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    694
    But wouldn't a change from 1 to 2 on first number imply more than a respin?
     
  7. AnarchX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    34
    SM_37 and the shared memory increase to 80KiB is a bit to much for just a respin. And NV should had a good picture of Hawaii in end of 2012/early 2013.
     
  8. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    Isn't it just Tegra?, does Tegra K1 have feature level 3.5 or 3.7?
     
  9. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    694
    Since those links point to a GPU being shipped somewhere and not to a SoC, I figure not.
     
  10. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    910
    Maybe, but really, who knows? There's not much precedent for this. Tesla somehow started at GT2XX, Fermi started and stopped at GF1XX, and so far the only GK2XX chip is GK20A, i.e. Tegra.
     
  11. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    Metal layer changes would change the last number, the x in -Ax.
    Full respin would change the A to B to C etc
    210 would indicate completely new chip
     
  12. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    200
    All the Kepler GPUs so far have a 1/(3·2^n) DP rate. Is it possible to go 1/2? I wonder if 2/3 is possible (due to the separate DP units). That would give 3.1 DP TFLOPS for a GK210 with the same number of SP units and the same clocks as the K6000.

    There's also GK208.
     
  13. RecessionCone

    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    177

    G80 was also known as GT100.
     
  14. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,183
    Likes Received:
    1,840
    Location:
    Finland
    You forgot GK208
     
  15. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    I don't think 1/2 would work easily with Kepler. Unless your Kepler chip has a Maxwell-style SMM :). 2/3 can't neither (you would not have enough register fetch bandwidth).
     
  16. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    Wait a second I thought GK110 has 64 FP64 SPs/SMX; IF they would had gone through lengths to implement 96 FP64 SPs/SMX in a followup Kepler chip they would had also catered for everything else also. I just don't see them developing a separate chip just for the HPC market.
     
  17. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,495
    Likes Received:
    910
    Yes, my bad. And GK20A is more or less half a GK208.
     
  18. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    You forgot Poland!
     
  19. Picao84

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    694
    Sometimes I wonder if you post when you are drunk :lol:
     
  20. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    You are right 1/2 FP64 rate probably wouldn't really be all that difficult to implement in some tweaked Kepler chip. I was mostly thinking about how the DP units are arranged within a SMX (based on the neat diagrams, http://www.hardware.fr/articles/916-3/maxwell-1st-gen-smm-details.html) but thinking about it nothing would really exclude having DP units in the shared part.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...