No Man's Sky [PC]

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Malo, Aug 12, 2016.

  1. cjo

    cjo
    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    123
    I think they've lost too much goodwill with this launch to be able to make NMS2 successful without some major fixes to NMS first.
     
  2. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,686
    Likes Received:
    11,134
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Fixing the issues with NMS is a given, but I don't know that they need to plug the gameplay. For the people for whom the game works, by and large they seem to be enjoying it.
     
  3. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,462
    Likes Received:
    3,793
    As expected with OpenGL, NMS performs significantly better on Nvidia hardware



    Frametime fluctuation is also significantly worse on the AMD side.
     
  4. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Wow the GTX950 really smacks the RX460 in this game. 460 drops below 30fps at medium settings. It's hard to overstate how disappointed I am with the 460 :(
     
  5. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,028
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Is an opengl game, it's hardly a good comparison on the 460. AMD have always been and continue to have very poor opengl performance. You can still be disappointed but no one should use this as a benchmark for true performance comparison (unless they happen to be played many opengl games lol)
     
  6. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    It seems AMD has a problem with CPU utilization in OpenGL. At this point I guess it's unlikely to ever be fixed but yeah it's not a huge deal in the grand scheme. Bring on Vulkan/DX12 already. Preferably Vulkan since MS thinks my Win7 license isn't Genuine (it certainly is) and won't let me upgrade to Win10 :(. I could easily pay for a Win10 license but I don't want to reward them for fucking me.
     
  7. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,028
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Fixed that for you :)

    I'm sure the 950/460 comparison would be reversed if NMS was on Vulkan.
     
  8. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    That'd be a a fairly dramatic role reversal. I think the 460 would probably about match the 950 if the game were Vulkan. The 460 would surely gain a lot and the 950 would probly stay about the same since it's already so well utilized in OGL.

    In any case this isn't really a fair comparison. The GTX1050 will clearly smash the 460 into oblivion. I at least expected AMD to not lose ground this gen after all the hype of Polaris and relative silence on Pascal but even that turned out to be wishful thinking :(
     
  9. DSoup

    DSoup meh
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,970
    Likes Received:
    5,791
    Location:
    London, UK
    The numbers are a fair comparison for this game running on OpenGL. The fact it runs other games using other APIs better isn't going to make your No Man's Sky experience any better. :nope:
     
    Shifty Geezer likes this.
  10. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    You could actually call support ...
     
    RootKit likes this.
  11. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    I meant it isn't fair to the 950 because it is a 28nm part. The fair comparison would be GP107 vs P11 imo. Which makes it all the more incredible that the 950 is faster than the 460 :oops:.
     
    DSoup likes this.
  12. Clukos

    Clukos Bloodborne 2 when?
    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    4,462
    Likes Received:
    3,793
    Maxwell and now Pascal were really successful launches for Nvidia. And their software team has to be applauded as well, I've got my 970 for almost two years now and the only PC game i can think of that was problematic -performance wise- on my system was Quantum Break on the windows store, and i play lots of games on PC. But yeah, OpenGL performance on AMD h/w is really disappointing, i'm just hoping more games will end up picking Dx12/Vulkan so that AMD products can compete at a similar level (or better in some cases) that way we can enjoy more fair prices in PC GPUs.
     
    #112 Clukos, Aug 19, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2016
  13. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    It's very likely that once Vulkan/DX12 become mainstream NVIDIA will not allow itself to lose to AMD. The current situation isn't very surprising since devs have a lot of experience with low level coding on GCN and basically none at all on NVIDIA hardware. Over time that will change. And if it doesn't, NVIDIA will just throw money at the problem.
     
  14. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    798
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    So yesterday they released a ~20 MB patch and today they released a ~60 MB patch and all I can see that has happened is that the texturefiltering has become significantly worse. It's like being back in the days of nvidia's horrible texture filtering "optimizations".

    I am going to try to delete the shadercache, force the anisotropic filtering to x16 (why would you ever use anything except max for this setting?) and start the game again.
     
  15. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    You mean it looks like there's no AF? I know in GTA5 there was a glitch where AF wouldn't take effect unless you turned it off and then back on when you start the game. Also you could try forcing AF in the driver though I'm not sure if that works in OpenGL.

    As for AF, I guess there are rare cases when it makes some difference (Fallout 4?) but on any medium/high end semi-modern card it's basically free. Even 8x looks good enough to me tbh.
     
  16. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    798
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    http://imgur.com/a/YPXbn

    Maybe it's too dark but if you download these pictures and step through them, you should see the ugliness. Gonna try forcing it in the control panel now. Edit: forcing it to 16x in the control panel works, yay
     
  17. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,028
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You named the planet "Wow there is nickel here" ? :lol:
     
  18. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,229
    Likes Received:
    798
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    Yeah I was looking for nickel all over the place and I was so happy when I found a deposit :)
     
  19. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,028
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    haha I can't wait to start up NMS one day and as it's zooming through the stars see "WOW THERE IS NICKEL HERE" rushing by.
     
  20. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,153
    Likes Received:
    928
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    The odds of that happening are well below that of winning the lottery isn't it? I think there is some mind boggling amount of planets in the game.

    Yes as I expected there are 2^64 planets in the game. That's 18,446,744,073,709,551,616. So much for finding his nickel planet xD
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...