Image Quality and Framebuffer Speculations for WIP/alpha/beta/E3 games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    The normalmap compression artefacts on the guy's left arm clothing tell me this is probably in-game but resized w/ superspampling as Shifty mentioned. I do have to disagree with the no jaggies comment. The amount of surface aliasing on the dash is distracting even for a screenshot! :razz:

    Other sites on the net, including this interview with the EA guys, says the game is coming to PC, XBOX 360 and PS3.
     
  2. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    I think they got it wrong at oxcgn.com. This is straight from EA.

    http://www.ea.com/read/20090130-NFS.xml


     
  3. MazingerDUDE

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    0
    SF4 seems to have some very interesting properties regarding its rendering res, the game's normally running at the 720p, but when there're close ups (like when you're using supers) its resolution dynamically changes to 630p (1120 x 630) I did quite a bit of analysis on the shots posted at ruliweb, all the close up shots whether it's from cut scene or from middle of battle, they're all 630p. The link to the shots is..

    http://ruliweb.empas.com/data/rulinews/read.htm?num=16730

    However this is the case with the PS3 version only, the 360 version maintains its 720p resolution all time.

    The 360 version incorporates 2 x AA as well (could be 4 x AA, the analysis is based on the movie files from ruliweb, so I'm not 100% certain) while the PS3 version has zero AA.

    BTW, as far as I know the SF4 arcade hardware is based on the 7900, and it's got no AA as well
     
  4. SonComet

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you notice any other differences in lighting, shadows, framerate, etc. regarding SF4? If they are identical in every other respect except resolution during close-ups and AA then it should be a similar situation to SC4 on both consoles in terms of image quality. I can't find any 360 shots on that website, only the 360 videos. The videos are super compressed but the 360 version does appear to have smoother edges than the PS3 videos.
     
  5. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    I watch a few videos for the 360 and ps3 version from the site, they all have a lot of compression artifacts and I dont see any 360 shots. I think it might be something like a overscan thing when the camera zoomed in close up so the game looks like its running at a lower res. Kind of like TV overscan with 720p source. Im not a pro so I can't comment too much. From the videos they seems to work very smoothly, dont really notice any sudden drop in quality ( could be due to the video compression). 1 thing I notice however is both version seems to lag a little when even there is a lot dust effects on the screen, not sure if its done like that on purpose.
     
  6. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,726
    Likes Received:
    5,819
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ

    Yup, rendered at high resolution and downscaled.
     
  7. jutl

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eurogamer Portugal have published large comparison shots of the 360 and PS3 versions of Resident Evil 5 here.
     
  8. Avto

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone explain, why is the image in Killzone 2 single-player campaign, obscured at the corners? The corners are black there is no image. It reminds me of air vent crawling moments from MGS. I'm pretty damn sure in MGS it was something like a filter over the image, but what about Killzone? Is it made purely for design purposes (looking cool) or can it help improve performance?
     
  9. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,726
    Likes Received:
    5,819
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    It's an artistic decision, and a post-processing effect. Mass Effect does something similar at the corners to simulate an old fashioned film camera.
     
  10. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,735
    Likes Received:
    11,210
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Do you have an example pic? I don't recall black corners. From what you say and AlStrong's reply, it sounds like 'vignetting' applied as a post process to simulate a camera lens.
     
  11. Avto

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,735
    Likes Received:
    11,210
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Definitely artistic direction in a post-process. LBP does the same.
     
  13. Avto

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I can remember it was not present in the E3 build, I think they added it late 08 it was there in the preview build. So, when they showed the game at CES, they showed this different buffers they are using, and the 'vignetting' thing was right there with the z-buffer, so this is how it's done? "No shortcuts there"(about 720p) as Arjan Brussee said.
     
  14. morlock

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    One minute in, Arjan shows the different buffers where the first one is the one you are looking for. :)

     
  15. Martin

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  16. Rebo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    ya pretty sure that the 360 version has 2X AA while ps3 version doesnt like the arcade version
     
  18. user542745831

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    19
    #139 user542745831, Feb 14, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 14, 2009
  19. Laa-Yosh

    Laa-Yosh I can has custom title?
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9,568
    Likes Received:
    1,452
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Yeah, we do it sometimes in our CG stuff too, it's meant to simulate the effect of a real camera.

    Not sure if it's required for a human's POV, but looks good anyway ;)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...