Image Quality and Framebuffer Speculations for WIP/alpha/beta/E3 games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,606
    Likes Received:
    5,711
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    They appear to be rendered at 720p 4xAA.

    I've only just started downloading the HD version. Any time index you're referring to specifically?
     
  2. user542745831

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    19
    Thank you for your reply.

    Not exactly. Some parts of the trailer are looking a bit more sharp/clean than the rest. They mostly have a white border around the picture. Between 01:03 min and 01:09 min for example. But there are several other scenes with a white border around the picture throughout the trailer.

    And the whole rest of the trailer somehow looks much more blurry/soft and less sharp/clean than the screenhots that came with the link.

    Although almost everthing from the trailer seems to be ingame/gameplay footage.

    You'll likely notice it when watching the trailer.

    Maybe it's just the capturing or encoding?

    Would be strange then though, because it doesn't seem to be consistent.

    Or is it some kind of post processing?
     
    #82 user542745831, Jan 18, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 18, 2009
  3. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,606
    Likes Received:
    5,711
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    hm... after watching the video, it seems blurry due to poor capturing method.
     
  4. user542745831

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    19
    Ok :wink:.
     
  5. lbartley

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 7, 2008
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,606
    Likes Received:
    5,711
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
  7. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    <3

    Thats some serious visual candy.
     
  8. el_rika

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0

    I don't trust you. I'm waiting for Quaz to finish the "pixel counting" :lol:
     
  9. makattack

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boston, MA US
  10. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try F.E.A.R. 2 ps3 demo; the game isn't bad the part of the mech is my favourite but technically unfortunately too slowdown and aliasing I have read on 360 version less. I hope it's only a pre build problem but I doubt it; again the monolith prove who works better on 360, I'm not blame anyone but I expected better after theirs comments.
     
    #90 assurdum, Jan 22, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 22, 2009
  11. 2real4tv

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
  12. ZeroRay

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    My first guess would be that FEAR 2 is using QAA on the PS3 due to the more washed out image but comparing these two pictures:

    http://images.eurogamer.net/assets/articles//a/3/8/1/6/9/7/FEAR_2_PS3__1_.bmp.jpg

    http://images.eurogamer.net/assets/articles//a/3/8/1/6/9/7/FEAR_2_Xbox_360__12_.bmp.jpg

    It seems as though the 360 has better AA all together. So either the PS3 has a blur filtered applied, is running at a lower res or both. However, some of the 360 areas tend to be very dark compared to the PS3. I thought it was just the capture but it's the same in the GT videos.

    http://images.eurogamer.net/assets/articles//a/3/8/1/6/9/7/FEAR_2_PS3__12_.bmp.jpg

    http://images.eurogamer.net/assets/articles//a/3/8/1/6/9/7/FEAR_2_Xbox_360.bmp.jpg
     
  13. TheBlackLodge

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Glastonbury Grove
    Ah, funny you should mention F.E.A.R 2 as I was just going to ask about that one. Played the demo last night and is it just me or does it have an absolutely horrible blur filter thing going on ? Or is it just the noise filter messing things up ?
     
  14. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems blur without AA on ps3 to my eyes honestly not sub hd imho. And maybe IQ for more brightness? Just I suppose... However I found the fps really annoying on ps3 demo and 360 really more accurate to cleanly (AA presence) and smoothly.
     
  15. grandmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's difficult to say what's going on those images due to the mega-heavy compression - my guess: Blackmagic Intensity is the capture card being used along with its awful MJPEG codec.
     
  16. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,606
    Likes Received:
    5,711
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    They're both running the same res. 360 is definitely 4xAA.

    These two captures make me question whether or not they're using QAA:
    http://images.eurogamer.net/assets/articles/a/3/8/1/6/9/7/FEAR_2_Xbox_360__14_.bmp.jpg
    http://images.eurogamer.net/assets/articles/a/3/8/1/6/9/7/FEAR_2_PS3__13_.bmp.jpg

    Unless there was a blunder, both shots are virtually identical.

    edit: As grandmaster mentions, the compression is also very bad.. blurry captures.

    Rival writers? ;)
     
  17. grandmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think there's a blunder there as the two pics are almost certainly shots from the same capture. It's virtually unheard of for the contrast and gamma cross-platform to be *that* close.

    In terms of the compression, you can see old-skool DCT compression artefacts around the white, circular scope lines, and indeed almost everywhere else. It's like JPEG level five on Photoshop. Intensity's MJPEG codec is locked to a ridiculously low bitrate, like 20 megabits per second or thereabouts. All that's on top of the drop from 24-bit RGB to 16-bit YUV 4:2:2.
     
  18. Nesh

    Nesh Double Agent
    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    11,238
    Likes Received:
    1,737
    I tried both and even tried to display both versions on the same screen to compare directly.

    The biggest difference I noticed in visual quality was during the beginning of the demo. The PS3 version didnt look as crisp as the 360 version. I also suspect that some textures were slightly worse. I couldnt tell for sure. Can someone check AF at the beginning of the demo? I suspect that there could be a difference in AF but then again the slighly blurrier image probably gives that impression

    Once the game begins normally though I tried to compare as close as possible texture quality and the likes. The PS3 version seemed to retain the exact same texture resolution as the 360 version.

    I didnt notice any differences in lighting and particles, but the 360 did have a slightly crispier look. The PS3 version was a slightly blurry. The noise effect as a result didnt show up as clearly as the 360 version because the blur seems to be a part of the whole image.

    I couldnt tell much about the AA at first glance. I thought they were the same until I decided to check for objects into the distance such as desks and the 360 had more AA apparently or the PS3 didnt have any.

    The 360 version was certainly darker

    (A bit off topic now framerate was slightly unstable on the PS3 and strangely although both demos were on the HDD the 360 version loaded probably twice or thrice as fast )
     
  19. PhilB

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    659
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have the 360 demo but the PS3 version has little to no AF (you can literally see the textures go from blurry to sharp two inches in front of you). Also, the 360 version appears to be using AO while the PS3 version isn't (noticable in back of the box on top of the machine in the second screen that ZeroRay posted).
     
  20. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,606
    Likes Received:
    5,711
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Is that AO or just a shadow being cast? Looks a little too hard edged to be AO.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...