Image Quality and Framebuffer Speculations for WIP/alpha/beta/E3 games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,717
    Likes Received:
    11,178
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    KZ2 is a camera viewpoint though, as evidenced by the tasty looking internal lens reflections. I guess it's an Extreme Sport head-mounted camera we're seeing ;)
     
  2. flipswitch

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Rebo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    According to post on the previous page, the ps3 version drops to 630p during close ups while the 360 remains at 720p.
     
  4. user542745831

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    1,156
    Likes Received:
    19
    #144 user542745831, Feb 15, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 15, 2009
  5. Martin

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. uso

    uso
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    according to the post on previous page they don´t know because of the video compression
     
  7. Rebo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are talking about different posters. I was refeering to this post -> http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1262452&postcount=123, which does not mentioned any compression.

    "However this is the case with the PS3 version only, the 360 version maintains its 720p resolution all time."
     
  8. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    It isn't so clear. I'm refer to 360 version, it seems there aren't same 'zoom scenes' to establish exactly.
     
    #148 assurdum, Feb 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2009
  9. grandmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mazinger owns the 360 version now and and I don't think he's changed his opinion.
     
  10. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,721
    Likes Received:
    5,815
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Indeed... there are some more output grabs here:

    http://d.hatena.ne.jp/yoda-dip-jp/20090213#1234513625


    normal view
    http://yoda.dip.jp/Game/StreetFighter4/StreetFighter4_03_360.png -> 2xAA, 720p
    http://yoda.dip.jp/Game/StreetFighter4/StreetFighter4_03_PS3.png -> no AA 720p

    close-up view

    http://yoda.dip.jp/Game/StreetFighter4/StreetFighter4_13_360.png -> 2xAA, 720p
    http://yoda.dip.jp/Game/StreetFighter4/StreetFighter4_13_PS3.png -> no AA, slight upscale (I'm getting about 630p too)


    A strange choice considering it appears to just be a closer view. Then again, there are some omissions in the PS3 shots that are suggestive.

    http://yoda.dip.jp/Game/StreetFighter4/StreetFighter4_01_PS3.png -> removed waterfall specular
    http://yoda.dip.jp/Game/StreetFighter4/StreetFighter4_02_PS3.png -> lighting on shoulder is different, but could be bugged...




    On another note, the 360 appears to be using a noise filter on the self-shadow penumbras.
     
  11. SG79

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    0
    So those close ups at 720p may have hindered a smooth 60Hz frame rate? It's a bit bizarre, but at least the two versions run well.

    Have there been any other games that dynamically switch the rendering resolution?
     
    #151 SG79, Feb 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2009
  12. catisfit

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wipeout HD reduces horizontal resolution, on a frame-by-frame basis depending on load, but it's running at 1920x1080x60 to start with.
     
  13. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is something wrong on the ps3 version :???: capcom said to have encountered more problems to insert same shaders on ps3 version and so those are the compromises... really bads...
     
    #153 assurdum, Feb 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 16, 2009
  14. joker454

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    There are two guesses that can be made as to why they did what they did.

    It's looking like SF4 has very little vertex load, meaning the 360's unified shaders will be mostly working as pixel shaders. RSX can't do this, so it will have a hard time keeping pace. This may be why they had to use slightly stripped down pixel shaders on the PS3 version, such as yanking specular from that waterfall. Or perhaps the PS3's shaders are the original ones, and they added more to the 360s pixel shaders since in this case xenos would have lots of pixel grunt.

    Regarding the lower resolution, maybe they did that to deal with overdraw. Normally we render transparent stuff in 1/4 or 1/16 buffers on PS3 to deal with it's lack of edram. In this case though that might not have been possible, because the large transparencies in this game linger on screen and need to maintain their detail. Rendering the transparent pass into a reduced buffer kills details, so they may have instead opted to stick with a full size transparency pass and drop down the main resolution to compensate, to maintain 60fps in those zoom in shots where the transparencies could become a huge overdraw burden.

    Just a guess though...
     
  15. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
  16. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,721
    Likes Received:
    5,815
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ

    Were it so easy! :lol:

    I think it might be the location of Ryu. In the PS3 shot, you can see in the background that he is further left compared to the 360 spot and is in a darker area.

    And oddly enough, the black character outlines disappear in the close up shot.
     
  17. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    heh, cant believe they even have to go with upscaling on PS3, is SF4 even as demanding as Soul Calibur 4 on PS3?
     
  18. grandmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is curious about SF4 of course is that the arcade version is using a 7900GS nVidia board, which isn't a million miles away from the RSX specs. RSX has more grunt, but lower bandwidth.
     
  19. Gitaroo

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1,921
    Likes Received:
    62
    that is what Im thinking too, the no AA etc makes sense if the game uses FP HDR, the missing bloom may or may not be like the arcade version. What Im interested to know is does the arcade version down scale too? Though just through screen shots, the game doesnt really look that much difference atleast........
     
  20. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    At this point I think so, probably the arcade version it's the same and 360 is an 'optimized' version, because I can't explain, it isn't exactly a 'monster' engine...however is out gametrailers review based on ps3 version. Everyone can verify if there is any difference.
     
    #160 assurdum, Feb 17, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 17, 2009
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...