Image Quality and Framebuffer Speculations for WIP/alpha/beta/E3 games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. Caris

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Newcastle, UK
    Can someone tell me if Modern Warfare 2 runs at 600p or not?

    This is the best screenshot I could find.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Still the same. (Though I'm not surprised, given that 60fps is very important to them).
     
  3. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry but I can't resist :cry: how can push 360 to limits1024x600p a 60 fps ? I really don't understood :cry:
     
  4. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    For one thing, it neatly fits within eDRAM.
     
  5. Laa-Yosh

    Laa-Yosh I can has custom title?
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9,568
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Rage probably won't have AA, whereas COD has 2xAA on top of the 60fps. It's a trade-off and different devs make different decisions.
     
  6. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have some doubts honestly; I don't thinks 2xAA is so expensive for the fps. Carmack said pc will have better AA and resolution translation: minor AA on the console (2xAA & QAA I'll bet). Surely id has different experiences of infinity ward in the graphics engine development.
     
    #646 assurdum, Jul 29, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2009
  7. Rotmm

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever do a FPS comparison between the PS3 and 360 for MW? I don't know why, but on the PS3 the game just didn't feel quite so sharp to me. I don't know if that was down to the framerate, or just the fact that the 6axis just doesn't seem to help with that kind of game (for me).
     
  8. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    360 had better fps overall but to be honest I don't thinks affect the controls in the ps3.
     
  9. rekator

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    France
    PR discours… MW 2 don't push 360, or if it push more PS3 to is limit…
    Sorry, but push a console to is limits don't be measuring only by a 720p 4AA… There a lot of others areas who impact performance stable fps, 60 vs 30 fps, textures qualities, colors, lighting, polygones, physic, IA, etc…
    MW2 have, like Grandmaster said, a priority for respond controls, thing that is the more important for FPS game, so 60 FPS target is need for them.
    All games have priorities some is "Whaou" graphics impression, other is "Whaou" gameplay feeling… I preferred the second.:wink:
     
  10. grandmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a clear performance gap on CoD4, as seen here but this sort of discussion is best left to the frame rate analysis thread really.

    However, it is tangentially relevant in that the framebuffer is the way it is in order to get maximum frames and thus maximum response from the controls, and yes, I noticed it too.
     
  11. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,744
    Likes Received:
    16,322
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Please do resist. This is not the thread to discuss developers' choices, as outlined very clearly in post one. We speculate on the IQ here; we talk about it elsewhere.
     
  12. Iron Tiger

    Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    SoCal
    Now that would be interesting to see. id leveraging the PS3's greater storage to use more detailed textures, and still getting similar (or better?) texture detail after QCAA blurring. It would be a first, and could get more devs interested in megatextures.
     
  13. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Can you elaborate on why you believe so? Are you taking into account what Teh Carmack said wrt opting for lower native resolution + upscale? If true and Rage is also sub-HD (let's say, for argument's sake that it's as low as CoD4), does that change your view?

    According to him the PS3 has a little "extra" memory because of the split so we could be seeing two different AA levels on the consoles. Can you dig up that comment about better AA please?
     
  14. Laa-Yosh

    Laa-Yosh I can has custom title?
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    9,568
    Likes Received:
    1,455
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    My reasons are:
    - it's supposed to be 720p and 60fps, so there's just not enough performance to combine it with AA in my opinion
    - also, 360 can't do 720p and AA at the same time without tiling
    - on top of it there's a pre pass for the megatexture stuff
    - also, they have to filter textures manually, and even though I'm no programmer I'd image it can confuse performance related issues considerably
    - and there's a lot of post effects using even more fillrate and framebuffer memory

    However I fully expect Doom4 to use at least 2xAA at 30fps.

    It would, obviously.


    I'd also like to add that I've seen the embargoed screenshots... although they're obviously bullshots so not conclusive or anything. But they're amazing IMHO and some weren't in the printed magazine. AFAIK it's just a few more days until they're public.
     
  15. assurdum

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have just reporting Carmack quote about pc better AA & resolution , so I guess AA however will be on the console although worsen. Why I have to dig up ? :???:
     
    #655 assurdum, Jul 30, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2009
  16. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Because there's a difference between "better" and "more" AA depending on the context. I'd like to see that context.
     
  17. damienw

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    509
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    Seattle
    Mod edit : The discussion about RAGE's development is being held in the current RAGE thread. It's too noisy to be held here!
     
  18. brain_stew

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    #658 brain_stew, Aug 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 6, 2009
  19. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,533
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    The 360 footage I've seen was 720p.

    These PS3 ones...I'll have to check later. 720 vertical. Horizontal res may or may not be 1280 - the blur filter is pretty heavy here.
     
  20. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,535
    Likes Received:
    2,281
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    960x720?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...