Image Quality and Framebuffer Speculations for WIP/alpha/beta/E3 games *Read the first post*

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Farid, Nov 7, 2008.

  1. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    Interesting, I would've thought the opposite (ghosting more noticeable on LCD vs Plasma). Maybe they have frame interpolation enabled on their LCD.

    If I have time, I'll look at the gamersyde videos on my plasma and LCD.
     
  2. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
    Wait a minute!! They are using a sharpening filter on the XB1 version! Eww! That's gross.

    That's definitely causing the aliased look on the XB1 version. I don't think it could explain the sharpness difference in oblique textures cause the others textures (the non-oblique) like the trees on the 4th image in the DF tool don't show at all the same clarity difference seen in oblique textures.

    PS4 (using high quality jpg, quality 100):
    [​IMG]

    XB1 (using high quality jpg, quality 100):
    [​IMG]
     
  3. hesido

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2004
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    85
    What I thought as well, but maybe, the person is accustomed to the low-persistence of a plasma display where there's no remainder of a previous frame, whereas the brain gets rid of that extra ghost frame when viewing LCD's which technically always have some if it's not adding a blank frame in between. That was the best explanation I can come up with but I'm not sure if that's enough explanation. At least I think I got the Plasma part correct :)

    That indeed looks like a sharpen filter, the way the edges change colour..
     
    #4643 hesido, May 10, 2015
    Last edited: May 10, 2015
  4. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,050
  5. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
  6. Rikimaru

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    395
    Call of Duty had a couple 1080p frames at stills :lol:
     
    Globalisateur likes this.
  7. shredenvain

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    921
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Somewhere in southern U.S.
    Yeah it isn't always about PR though.
    Sometimes it is about the titles performance. The Witcher having a dynamic res is much better than the originally announced 900p. Right?
    I don't consider this PR as much as the devs optimizing the title to get the best performance possible out of the system.
    More devs should use dynamic res as opposed to games having terrible frame drops on any system.
     
    rekator, Cyan and FarticusMaximus like this.
  8. powdercore

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    29
    I suppose that's still better than native 1080p with temporal upscale.
     
  9. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,682
    Likes Received:
    1,200
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    I seem to recall that 1080p with 1440-1920 dynamic res is less intrusive / noticeable?
     
  10. Rikimaru

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    395
    I assume dynamic res is incompatible with best post AA solution - temporal reprojection.
     
    AlBran likes this.
  11. chris1515

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,518
    Likes Received:
    2,129
    Location:
    Barcelona Spain
    #4651 chris1515, May 12, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015
  12. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,725
    Likes Received:
    5,818
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    A number of edges look native with some sort of high AA - entrance to the pub.

    The character cut-scene looks possibly upscaled.

    edit: or... supersampled even? Some of the edges in the close-ups aren't as well AA'd, but they give the impression of 5/4 ratio super sampling.

    edit: woman's bangs look suspicious - something very bizarre about it.

    edit:
    Maybe they're using an HRAA variant. Texture clarity is pretty high. Sometimes there's a ghost offset to some of the objects, particularly when the camera is panning once outside - check out the wood structures.

    Also some ghosting artefact when throwing up the rope.
     
    #4652 AlBran, May 12, 2015
    Last edited: May 12, 2015
    Billy Idol likes this.
  13. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    screwed up the quote, ignore this.
     
  14. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
  15. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,725
    Likes Received:
    5,818
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Yeah, the screenshots are typical PR stuff. Was looking at the demo gameplay vid btw.
    Edit
    Shader aliasing is still an issue at times, so it's probably not real or enough supersampling.
     
    #4655 AlBran, May 13, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015
  16. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,572
    Likes Received:
    2,292
    Agreed. There is no need for a 1080p checkbox crusade if the framerate can't be stable, when the framerate is fully smooth (stable) this imo translates into the best version running on any system if the unhindered framerate never falters.

    Additionally, I have a feeling MS are forcing developers to use the scaling chip, to give it some usage rather than just non native upscaling from 900p to 1080p on a regular basis. I expect some heavy native upscaling and downscaling in Halo 5 to keep a stable 60 fps gameplay.
     
    #4656 Cyan, May 13, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015
    FarticusMaximus likes this.
  17. Rikimaru

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    395
    There is no scaling chip. Standard AMD GPU stuff.
     
  18. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    1,668
    Location:
    France
  19. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,725
    Likes Received:
    5,818
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Yeah, looked about 1440p (1.33*1080). Probably the next highest res that makes sense to use after 1080 if anything.


    The temporal ghosting does make me wonder if they adopted far cry's method at the same time.

    Oh well, never trust pr footage etc.

    edit: I suppose it could just be a temporal SMAA variant too. *shrug*
     
    #4659 AlBran, May 13, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015
    rekator and chris1515 like this.
  20. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    8,572
    Likes Received:
    2,292
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...