DX12 Performance Discussion And Analysis Thread

Discussion in 'Rendering Technology and APIs' started by A1xLLcqAgt0qc2RyMz0y, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    I know this, i use too Autocad, Inventor and Solidwork ( for my jobs ) so ofc having high count cpu cores ( or even 2P multiprocessors ) stay a must to have. ( when render and simulation are runing on CPU's. ) .. Having the possibility to back to home and work " as at the office " is alllways pleasant.

    ( Lol, i remember the earlly 90's, when we was "play " at work, because some games ( as THX ) was hard to make run properly maxed on "home PC" compared to the workstation beast we had for Autocad at work. ( Autocad DOS version: 8-10-12 )
     
    #1481 lanek, Jul 12, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2016
  2. huebie

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    AMD itself uses Intel i7 5960X CPU for their official Benchmarks :rolleyes:
     
  3. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Theres 2 simples reason to that, as most reviewers use this type of CPU its more easy to get verifiable numbers, and the second is as the high end cpu of Intel ( so far ) outperform the FX in most games, i can understand that they dont want to bring numbers inflated by it.

    This said, it could be interessant to test thoses CPU under DX12, Vulkan ( only one game so far, so... well, you see what i mean ) for the guys who own thoses cpu.
     
  4. huebie

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    *lol* Haha. Kommst mit den Sprachen durcheinander? Passiert mir auch manchmal :happy2:

    I just wanted to point out that even AMD knows that their CPUs are crap for gaming (even if the marketing wants to tell you another story). But yeah - it would be interesting to make a side-by-side comparison with Intels i7 5000/6000 and AMDs FX 8000/9000
     
  5. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,538
    Likes Received:
    620
    Location:
    WI, USA
    There was some fun comparison with FX back in the Mantle days. The main benefit with Mantle was making AMD APUs and CPUs look less terrible.
     
  6. huebie

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    5
    And we all know the results. Mantle is not working or is not working properly on modern GCN-GPUs. This is one disadvantage of low level: you and me, as a customer, are dependent on the goodwill of a (game-) developer. Before we were dependent on the goodwill of hardware-vendors. I'm not sure what i like more, but i do know that i like independency the most. :yep2:
     
  7. sebbbi

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,924
    Likes Received:
    5,293
    Location:
    Helsinki, Finland
    CPU cost reduction of draw calls is the easiest thing to achieve. But Mantle also supported (asynchronous) compute queues. I don't know if anyone used them.

    Low level API + async compute certainly helps AMDs high end GPUs (Fury X):
    [​IMG]
    2560x1440 + max details (= certainly GPU bound). 52% performance gain. Not bad. Vulkan is very close to Mantle (esp when extensions are used).
     
    Lightman and pjbliverpool like this.
  8. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,326
    Likes Received:
    1,952
    Seems they are working to get async compute support on Nvidia GPU's.

    Does DOOM support asynchronous compute when running on the Vulkan API?
    https://community.bethesda.net/thread/54585?start=0&tstart=0
     
    pjbliverpool likes this.
  9. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,601
    Likes Received:
    739
    Location:
    Guess...
    That's an absolutely insane increase. I hope nvidia can pull something even half that good for Pascal.
     
  10. Svensk Viking

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    531
    Likes Received:
    100
    pharma likes this.
  11. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    300
    BRiT and pharma like this.
  12. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,861
    Likes Received:
    6,001
    Don't forget Shader Intrinsics as well. A previous iD tweet mentioned that in addition to async compute, that it was one of the contributors to realizing those large rendering time savings on consoles.

    And apparently AMD just confirmed that Doom is the first game on PC that uses it.

    I wonder if that's enabled for Nvidia cards or if it is disabled as well?

    Regards,
    SB
     
  13. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    300
    Will see when SM 6.0 arrive. Some of those intrinsics will be officially supported by the next shader model in HLSL (like barycentric).
    Also, I am still waiting NVIDIA GPUs to allowing bypass Geometry Shader for VP and RT array index.. AFIK some Maxwell and beyond should support it since they export similar extension in OGL.. Dummy geometry shaders must die.
     
  14. MDolenc

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    Slovenia
    It's not. These are completely custom IHV specific intrinsic instructions. As mentioned above, some of this will be coming in SM 6.0, but that's DX12 not Vulkan.
     
  15. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    300
    Welcome to the The Khronos Group Inc. Extension hell.
     
  16. CSI PC

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2015
    Messages:
    2,050
    Likes Received:
    844
    Interesting to see the video of Doom with an AMD 480 when comparing OpenGL/Vulkan/Vulkan+Async Compute - has all 3 side by side from 50seconds onwards.
    Makes it pretty clear where AMD loses out with OpenGL (with internal benchmark and CPU time although may be glitched looking at GPU for OpenGL, and not sure how both parameters combine for FPS in their tool), and importantly the improvements as you say.
    Start at around 50seconds onwards.

    Cheers
     
    #1496 CSI PC, Jul 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2016
  17. MDolenc

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    Slovenia
    Not just Khronos, this extensions (or hacks) are available in D3D11 and D3D12 as well. And it's not that I have a problem with NV or AMD introducing them.
    It does get seriously weird to compare Vulkan (or DX12) game on vendor A vs. vendor B where huge parts of rendering pipeline are simply ifdefed based on vendor id and then claiming how architecture X is better suited for Vulkan/DX12 then architecture Y.
    It's a great time for wccf tech and the likes though: one game, bunch of news for each patch.
     
    Lightman, Razor1, DavidGraham and 3 others like this.
  18. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,018
    Likes Received:
    113
    Using vendor-specific extensions isn't exactly something new.
    Besides, the extensions actually look quite reasonable, maybe some day they'll be available as standard extensions.
     
  19. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    300
    Yes, some functionalities are exposed via proprietary extensions on DirectX 11/12 too, however Vulkan, like openGL, is designed to deal more with extension than Direct3D.
    Little example:
    On Direct3D there is one version of ROVs, one version Geomtry shader "bypass", one version of conservative rasterization (with 3 incremental tiers) etc...
    Those intrinsics extensions have been released for D3D11/12 too it's not a big issue after all, they will be exposed under SM6.0 and some of them (most? I do not remember) should be available from years under XB1 and PS4 SDKs. So they will not cause any headache to developers.
     
  20. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,861
    Likes Received:
    6,001
    Yes, it's just that in the past, the majority of extensions used were Nvidia specific with AMD/ATI being mostly left out. I wonder if it's the console effect here where AMD is finally getting more extension support than Nvidia for once.

    Regards,
    SB
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...