Diablo 3 - Gamepad Edition

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by Jedi2016, Jul 6, 2013.

  1. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,225
    Likes Received:
    2,862
    Same here. I have it on PC already, and never got past the 3rd Chapter. But without the DRM and stuff, on my Xbox One it could be a glorious game.

    I don't know if it could ever bring me the feelings I had with Diablo 2 though. From the little I played it seems a difficult task, actually.
     
  2. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,031
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    It's okay for couch coop. All these games kinda scratch that itch, and they all get bought by us because of that. I think the added clarity of the PS4's visuals would help. On PS3 it was sub-HD blur-o-vision. (BGDA, for the uninitiated, had supersampling because the devs knew clarity was of utmost importance for the small sprites to present a reasonable area of map on screen. High IQ, high framerate, priorities in right places to make it easy to watch and control)
     
  3. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,031
    Location:
    Under my bridge
  4. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11,554
    Likes Received:
    2,565
    ughj I hope they decide against 1080p on the xbox one , use the extra power to insure the 60fps . The ps4 looks horrible and more noticeable than a lack of resolution
     
  5. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    21,913
    Likes Received:
    7,819
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    CPU/streaming issue?
     
  6. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,031
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Article vid claims day one 1080p patch is coming to XB1, and we'll have to see if it suffers in the same way. It'd be horrifically ironic if they ruin the 60 fps fluidity with fake 60 fps in order to provide true 1080p.
     
  7. Inuhanyou

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    303
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    What exactly is the limitation of the PS4 that disallows it from 60fps?
     
  8. NRP

    NRP
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    293
    Well, forum warriors want the check box items like 1080p. You see it here too when discussing pixel quality versus pixel quantity. Blizzard is just giving these fools what they say they want.
     
  9. DrJay24

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,894
    Likes Received:
    634
    Location:
    Internet
    So if someone has a different opinion about something than you they are forum warriors? It is subjective, some people prefer the native res of their TV, some prefer the rendering budget spent on other effects. Why call names, both are legitimate and honest opinions.
     
  10. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,031
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Except those same 'forum warriors' will now complain about 60 fps lies. "This game is 1080p6-" says Blizzard. "Hooray, let's get it!" says forum warriors/consumers. "Oh, it looks a bit crap," says consumers. "It's not actually 60 fps," says DF. "Damn, we've been lied to!! Class action lawsuit aouy!" says consumers/forum warriors.

    Oh and, "curious technique with questionable/debatable outcomes," says a few engineering types on B3D. ;)

    Although in this case, forum warriors have been informed before buying the game. I wonder if it'll impact sales?
     
  11. NRP

    NRP
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,712
    Likes Received:
    293
    Personally, I really hope they don't trade frame rate for resolution on the Bone. I really want to try homerdog's crazy ass Witch Doctor build, which supposedly has so much crap going on at once it tanks everyone's frame rate.
     
  12. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,095
    WTH ! :roll:

    Wait n watch it is then !
     
  13. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11,554
    Likes Received:
    2,565
    you can play this game with no problems on the pc .
     
  14. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,854
    Likes Received:
    4,034
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It tanks framerates on the PC. This is on my 3570k@4.4ghz with a 7870 OC @ 1680x1050 resolution at maxed settings with shadow smoothing on. As soon as there's some really big fights with all his minions and followers out it starts chugging noticeably. He has a fucking army.
     
  15. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    11,554
    Likes Received:
    2,565
    odd , I haven't had any problems on my fx 8150 @ 4ghz with 16 gigs of ram and a 7950 at 1080p

    whats the build. I will try to test it this week and see
     
  16. Globalisateur

    Globalisateur Globby
    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3,597
    Likes Received:
    2,333
    Location:
    France
    Well the gameplay framerate drops also on XB1 just less than on PS4.

    DF were just soo happy to find one spot where the gameplay tanks low (44fps) on PS4 that they slowed down the part on the video to make it last 5 times longer. That's tragic, really.
     
  17. Jedi2016

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,021
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not really. That kind of slowdown is needed to show what they're talking about. It's one thing to listen to someone babble about simultaneous different framerates, it's quite another to see it in action, and you can't really do that without slowing it down.
     
  18. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    43,576
    Likes Received:
    16,031
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    It was necessary to highlight the issue. The video looked 30 fps to me making judder impossible to portray without showing it in action. What looks okay in a gameplay clip on the interwebs will be at times rather jarring in play.
     
  19. steveOrino

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    496
    Likes Received:
    163
    DF got a response from Blizzard and it seems like it was a bug. Its a bit strange that some of the console games are having these weird framerate bugs (frame pacing and the like).
     
  20. djskribbles

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,257
    Likes Received:
    667
    Yeah, article was updated: http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-2014-diablo-3-performance-analysis

     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...