Dell 2407WFP Details Leaked

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by phenix, Mar 22, 2006.

  1. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    NY
    I know I originally thought it was a 6 bit panel, but it turns out that dell's "Faroudja image processing" was the banding culprit. You can test this because only in desktop mode (with the new revisions) is the Faroudja processing disabled, put the 2407 in any other mode (which has the Faroudja processing on) and the color banding returns.
     
  2. Natoma

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,913
    Likes Received:
    84
  3. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22
    what's the dead/stuck pixel rate on these displays? i hear each mfg has different standard for what's acceptable to ship. and that every LCD monitor has some dead pixels right out of the box. and some companies won't allow you to get a replacement display. is dell or samsung one of those companies?
     
    #64 Cartoon Corpse, Oct 4, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 4, 2006
  4. Sxotty

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    4,894
    Likes Received:
    344
    Location:
    PA USA
    Well you heard wrong, b/c not every LCD monitor has dead pixels. That is FUD
     
  5. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22
    really? i think i read it in either one of those maximum pc type mags, or maybe even a pc gamer UK issue?


    anyone out there have any dead/stuck pixels? how noticeable is it?
     
  6. Pete

    Pete Moderate Nuisance
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    348
    Either you read wrong or they wrote wrong, b/c a stuck pixel isn't guaranteed. The mere fact that I've seen one LCD without a single stuck or dead pixel disproves that statement. :)

    As to how noticable, it depends on 1) color, 2) location, and 3) your sensitivity to such defects. So, it's hard to say, easier for you to judge in person. If you're worried, surely there are stores (such as Costco and maybe Circuit City) with return policies good enough to remove it from the equation.

    BeHardware did a series of articles on various manufacturer's stuck/dead pixel policies, if you're interested.
     
  7. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22
    lol! only one? do most LCDs have at least some?

    another question. is it a big operation to get LCD widescreen up and running problem free for most games? will it do both 4:3 and widescreen? like for older games.
     
    #68 Cartoon Corpse, Oct 4, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 4, 2006
  8. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I could say I haven't seen more than 5 LCDs with dead pixels working as a network admin over the last 10 years. And thats a lot of LCDs. They are pretty rare, though most LCDs i've seen in my work environment haven't really been in the cheap end of the scale.
     
  9. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    NY
    Positive. Why else would it only happen in certain modes? Trustedreview used revision A00; to their defense they had no idea about dell's special image processing.
     
  10. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,948
    Likes Received:
    497
    My 2407 has no dead/stuck pixels that I have been able to detect.
    Never seen any on the cheap nasty little 15" ones at work.
    But I think my friends Dell laptop might have a couple.
     
  11. BRiT

    BRiT (╯°□°)╯
    Moderator Legend Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    12,504
    Likes Received:
    8,708
    Location:
    Cleveland
    For what it's worth...

    My Dell 2405 has -0- dead pixels and -0- stuck pixels.
    My Planar PL190M has -0- dead pixels and -0- stuck pixels.
    Sister's Dell FP 18" has -0- dead pixels and -0- stuck pixels.

    The 5 Dell 2001 LCDs I've used at work have -0- dead pixels and -0- stuck pixels.
     
  12. Pete

    Pete Moderate Nuisance
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,945
    Likes Received:
    348
    Well, one is enough to disprove that "all" theory, isn't it? :) I've seen a bunch, and haven't noticed a problem pixel yet. I don't even think I've seen problem pixels in the display LCDs in stores like CompUSA and BestBuy, either, but I don't pay that much attention there. I'm comfortable suggesting you don't have to buy an LCD expecting a problem pixel, but consider that even having one or two may not bother you--as much as, say, imperfect geometry, high power draw and heat output, etc. ;) But it won't hurt to buy informed, so read up on the manufacturers' and stores' policies if it's a hang-up (and it's a reasonable one, don't get me wrong).

    Dunno, personally. These guys might.
     
    #73 Pete, Oct 5, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 5, 2006
  13. inefficient

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,121
    Likes Received:
    53
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Yes it does. There are 3 modes for when you are not running at the optimal res of 1920x1200:

    1:1 - No pixel doubling
    4:3 - Fill but keep aspect ratio
    Fill - Fill the whole screen
     
  14. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22
    thanks.

    went to that widescreen link. very informative for a noob.

    TRIPLE HEAD! what is that? 3 screens joined? (leaving out the border around each in the screenshot)
     
  15. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,031
    Likes Received:
    3,101
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    You can get video cards with 3 outputs (Matrox Parhelia?) to connect to something like this.
     
  16. Cartoon Corpse

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,216
    Likes Received:
    22

    i would LOVE that without the screen borders. at least on the sides. i think i remember seeing 1 model like that in a magazine a while back.

    im looking for a price at that site. price doesn't seem to awful.

    what's the drawbacks? no games work at that level?
     
  17. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    NY
    Sigh the BenQ doesn't have 1:1 mapping mode. Great, this monitor was perfect, now it's useless for anything outside its native resoulition (no love for PS3, Xbox360, bluray or hd-dvd players or even ATi users at 4:3/16:9 resolutions).

    I guess I'll go back to waiting on the 245T, and maybe it will push the price of the 244T down.
     
    #78 willardjuice, Oct 7, 2006
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 7, 2006
  18. Natoma

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,913
    Likes Received:
    84
    Where'd you find that?
     
  19. willardjuice

    willardjuice super willyjuice
    Moderator Veteran Alpha Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,373
    Likes Received:
    242
    Location:
    NY
    http://www.tftcentral.co.uk/articles/benq_fp241w.htm

     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...