AMD: Southern Islands (7*** series) Speculation/ Rumour Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by UniversalTruth, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,138
    I see 11, too :???:
     
  2. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,330
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Well, unless AMD opted for 32-bit channel architecture--one DRAM device per channel, what we see now is very confusing.
     
  3. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,138
    Now I see even the 12th, it's between the green sticker a PCB border (near PCIe)
     
  4. Man from Atlantis

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    730
    what about the power plugs ? 2x8 pin, 8+6 pin or 2x6 pin ?
     
  5. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,330
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
  6. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    10,617
    Location:
    London
    #1146 Jawed, Dec 8, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 10, 2011
  7. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,330
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    LOL, I didn't saw that one! :D

    That one below must be in a very tight fit.
     
  8. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,138
    384bit MC seems to be double-confirmed now.
     
  9. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,330
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    fix't
     
  10. boxleitnerb

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Messages:
    406
    There has to be one between the GPU and the PCIe interface. If you look closely, the area where the chips are is of a slightly different color:

    [​IMG]
     
  11. TKK

    TKK
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    148
    I dare to say it's at least TRIPLE-CONFIRMED!!!

    :wink:
     
  12. yuri

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    8+6 pin
     
  13. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,208
    Location:
    Chania
    If there shouldn't be any sort of switchable "turbo mode" to justify 6+8pin, then former "rumors" indicating comparable GF560 power consumption were just bullshit.
     
  14. Gipsel

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,506
    Location:
    Hamburg, Germany
    Remember that it is an ES. If it is not a basically final version, it may have kind of an oversized power circuitry.

    Nevertheless, I don't think the TDP will be significantly less than 200W, probably slightly more.
     
  15. Picao84

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    On the last article Charlie did about Tahiti, he did say that things would be getting even more silly. At the time I already interpreted that as something he did not like. Power consumption is probably a good candidate.
     
  16. AlexV

    AlexV Heteroscedasticitate
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,520
    Considering the source, it's probably lack of open-source Linux drivers for the part, on the day of release. That is totally a deal-breaker, and undoubtedly a reason for never-ending hatred.
     
  17. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,468
    It has 8+6pin like all the highend last gen
     
  18. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    6,468
    Seriously, did anyone expect the power consumption to drop radically? I mean sure, 28nm allows that, but if you want more performance too it's not that simple anymore
     
  19. Sunrise

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2002
    Messages:
    306
    Exactly.

    The first question should always be, what an IHV tries to accomplish. AMD wants at least 50% more performance through the bank, on some cases even way higher. Now, you should ask yourself, how can they get it? If you have a process that is still maturing and theoretically gives you 50% more performance or 50% power savings, you cannot have both, not if you didnĀ“t radically change something in the design itself. And by radical, I mean something like pre-G80 -> G80 generation.
     
  20. Picao84

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    You certainly mean Cayman, but that was a Plan B afaik, since it was destined to be 32nm, before that node was canceled. Cypress was only 2x6pin. So, I bet some people, including Charlie, were expecting 2x6pin for Tahiti also.

    I loled :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...