AMD: Sea Islands R1100 (8*** series) Speculation/ Rumour Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Shtal, Dec 31, 2011.

Tags:
  1. 3dcgi

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    2,436
    Likes Received:
    264
    Companies don't tend to give employees any product they want though many including AMD have employee discounts or rebates.
     
  2. ECH

    ECH
    Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    7
    As I ponder on the possibilities of the 8000 series I have to also wonder if it will mark the 1st card that will be capable of the same functionality as the next gen consoles. Which is rumored to be released in 2013. I'm not 100% confident that the 7000/600 series will be on the same tier once it's known what the next gen consoles can do.
     
  3. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    200
  4. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Has CES ever been used to announce a new GPU? I can't imagine why a company would inflict such treatment on itself. That fact alone makes the rest suspicious. :wink:
     
  5. Ailuros

    Ailuros Epsilon plus three
    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    9,420
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Chania
    From that link:

    I guess the clue is in the 2nd quote.
     
  6. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Nice. :grin:
    So far with the rumour about Tahiti replacement being Venus... :lol: :roll:
     
  7. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    NV used CES 2010 to formally briefing the gaming press on GF100. Otherwise, no, new architectures have not been announced at CES in the last half-decade or so (as far as I can recall).

    As for any potential AMD announcement, it's worth noting that AMD had a significant HD7000M (VLIW5 rebrand) presence at CES 2012.
     
  8. Love_In_Rio

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,452
    Likes Received:
    110
    I would bet it is GCN 2 as it will be the same architecture in Xbox Next and PS4. And we have this http://www.techpowerup.com/175785/AS...-Graphics.html and Dave mentioned to look at some important bit of info in it. I would say it is the part in which says GCN 2 not equal to enhanced GCN.
     
  9. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Was that a press only private announcement? I guess it does make sense to do a briefing when everybody is there already.

    Ah, well. I'll have to be more specific and say 'major' announcement. :wink:
     
  10. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Hmm.

    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showpost.php?p=1651048&postcount=302

    And after that many posts dedicated to the topic. ;)

    I'd prefer to think it's just the Enhanced GCN, so not 2.0 ;)
     
  11. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    611
    Likes Received:
    1,052
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    Correct. They held it the day after CES since everyone was already there. Otherwise there's a strong disincentive to making major public announcements at CES since it's likely to get lost in the noise of the show.
     
  12. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,185
    Likes Received:
    1,841
    Location:
    Finland
    "Solar System" HD8000M is out
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  13. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    200
    If the chip pictures are anywhere near accurate, then it suggests that there is a new GCN-based 28 nm chip with (≥) 384 SPs which succeeds the 40 nm Turks 7xxxM chips, since the chip for the 8500M-8700M series seems to be smaller than the chip for the 8800M series (which I'm assuming is Cape Verde or something similar in size).

    As for the two "Coming soon" slots at the top right of the roadmap, maybe they'll be filled by the Cape Verde successor (which may be larger, hotter, and more powerful than Cape Verde) and the Pitcairn successor (Oland).
     
  14. RedVi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm not sure what the coming soon slot just above the 8600m could be.

    Also, it seems likely that these 384SP chips are to mate up with current VLIW4 APU's, is it possible that we will see a re-think of GCN based APU's to first release with only 384SP's as well? Perhaps the lower positioned coming soon slot is reserved for a 512SP part, although it seems a little low for that, unless it's purposely crippled by only being available with DDR3 to match the APU it's paired with. Considering the delay it seems more likely that we won't see a part to match to GCN based APU's this release anyhow.
     
  15. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    Man that's some sick naming right there. Three complete series (8500m, 8600m, 8700m) which only differ by clocks, and some of them have variable clocks within the series too. Oh and all are possible with ddr3 or gddr5 meaning a 8700m can be (quite a lot) slower than a 8500m...
    That said I guess the chip should be decent, those solutions could be quite comparable to the HD7700M series (if comparing same memory type), assuming they've got a 128bit memory interface... 6 vs 8 CUs but generally higher clocks (though I'd expect them to not really be much of an improvement in perf/w but the chip should obviously be cheaper to produce and it should be a definitive improvement over the former non-gcn low-end mobile chips).
    And yes the 8800m series looks like a rebadged Cape Verde to me too. Which leaves you wondering about the faster "coming soon" parts...

    Using my l00t pixel counting skillz the chip seems to be quite small, just below 2/3 of CV, so about 80mm². Using that estimate though it seems it is either more densely packed or something more was chopped off than just CUs (half the ROPs would be my prime suspect in this case) as otherwise it wouldn't fit into that size (6 instead of 10 CUs is a bit less than 2/3 but the CUs only make up about half the chip). I don't think only 8 ROPs would actually hurt all that much neither (the CU/ROP ratio would just be slightly higher than on full Cape Verde or full Pitcairn and still be way below that of full Tahiti) - and when equipped with ddr3 8 or 16 ROPs doesn't matter anyway so since I'd expect tons of ddr3 designs (but look with 4GB!!!) skimping there would make a lot of sense (and actually it might be in a performance region where even ddr3 itself makes sense at least on the low-clocked versions in contrast to abominations like desktop hd7750 ddr3 which have ~70% more compute power than a 650Mhz 6 CU chip).
     
  16. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #596 lanek, Dec 17, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 17, 2012
  17. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    hardware.fr states 77mm² maybe that's more accurate even :). I'm not sure if I believe the 64bit memory interface they state for the 8500m and 8600m though. Would suck big time with ddr3 reducing this to a "just about IVB IGP performance gpu" (and with gddr5 would require clamshell configuration for 1GB which I consider unlikely). But then the 3 different series would make a bit more sense (even though it would discard the lower two series from being actually useful...).
     
  18. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Well, im not sure about their information.. Anandtech will have write them directly if thoses one was available.
     
  19. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    GDDR5 does not have a "clamshell" mode, at least not in the same way DDR3 does. You can increase the addressable size with more devices by splitting up the adress lines, i.e. a 64Mx32 device can operate in a 128Mx16 mode. You can lay that out how you want, they do not need to be either side of each other on the PCB.
     
  20. mczak

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    Likes Received:
    112
    Well yes and that is called clamshell mode :). I've never heard that term being used for ddr3, but it appears in gddr5 papers for instance this one from elpida: http://www.elpida.com/pdfs/E1600E10.pdf
    Are you saying we'll see such configurations in the mobile space? I know they aren't that uncommon for some desktop cards (using same pcb with either one or both sides populated).
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...