AMD: Pirate Islands (R* 3** series) Speculation/Rumor Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by iMacmatician, Apr 10, 2014.

Tags:
  1. Ethatron

    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    264
    Actually, this is especially rich. Gameworks only needs to provide implementations for 11_1 or 12_1 and nothing inbetween, you don't want to make a specialization for hardware you don't produce obviously. Same as: ICC doesn't support XOP.
     
  2. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    291
    fixed.
    This mean also that gameworks should work on all D3D12 GPUs unless it force any NVIDIA proprietary extension.
     
  3. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,583
    Likes Received:
    703
    Location:
    Guess...
    Individual features are useable via cap bits.
     
    Alessio1989 likes this.
  4. Ethatron

    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    863
    Likes Received:
    264
    Thanks.
    I think they will always have a down-compatible [and slow] implementation in addition to the state-of-the-art one, instead of none.
     
  5. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Nvidiai dont support 11_1 .... only 11_0 .. But they support 12_1, only on Maxwell .. As we can think will be the case of Fidji .. or we get a problem there if it dont support 12_1... ( this mean the specification of it have been included afterward ) .

    As for Gameowrk .. whatever is the level features of it or not, tthis will allways been a problem on non Nvidia gpu's . wait the next batman, we will get some funny things to discuss about it.
     
  6. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,261
    Likes Received:
    1,950
    Location:
    Finland
    Since when? DX11 at least threw cap bits away, IIRC?
     
  7. hoom

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    Messages:
    2,967
    Likes Received:
    512
    So if its OK for NV to claim partial 11_1 support for Maxwell1, can't AMD claim partial 12_0 for GCN 1.0? (partial 12_1 for GCN 1.1/1.2?)

    Edit: anyways, thats a damn big die on Fiji O_O

    I've been fearing an R600 type big underperforming mis-match.
    But maybe its gonna be more RV770 style balanced big compute density improvement?

    Edit2: is there actually some evidence that 4GB is likely to be a significant limit?
    I'd like to see some VRAM usage graphs proving it to be so.
     
    #1487 hoom, Jun 7, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2015
  8. iMacmatician

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    202
    Hardware Battle has a report in Korean on AMD's 300 series and the Fury lineup. Strangely enough, the important information is in a picture file and I get an error when putting the site URL through Google and Bing translators. With the help of my parents, I was able to translate it (we are Korean). Our translation of the Fury portion of the report is below.

    The most anticipated new product from AMD is Fury, and following what has been previously mentioned here, the Fury lineup will consist of three models. These models are Fury Nano, Fury XT, and Fury Pro.
    • The Fury series will first come in reference models and both water-cooled and air-cooled products will be released. Non-reference models will come to market as early as mid-August or as late as early September. For the next month or more, only reference models will be released.
    • As expected, the supply of reference models will be limited.
    • We believe that the AMD Fury series is sufficiently competitive with the TITAN X and the GTX 980 Ti.
    • AMD Fury will have a GPU and memory on top of a small interposer, so the concentrated heat from the interposer region looks unsatisfactory concerning the TDP, but in the reference models this problem is limited.
    • The heat from the cooler is of a high level (like the TITAN X), but the noise level is of no concern.
     
    Razor1, Alexko and spworley like this.
  9. spworley

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    190
    iMacmathician, thanks for that fresh info!
    Two of the five points are trying to say "The interposer gets really hot, but it still works."
     
    nnunn likes this.
  10. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    1,053
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
  11. Nemo

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2012
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    23
  12. Alatar

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    18
    380X with a full tonga could be 6GB (would fit the lineup considering that the hawaii cards are getting bumped up to 8GB)

    With the Fiji pics out there it's pretty much 100% known that at least the normal models are going to be 4GB.
     
  13. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,110
    Likes Received:
    4,694
    They could make a card with dual-Tongas and 3+3GB later when DX12 games and VR have a substantial presence in the market.
    It might be cheaper to do than Fiji cards, and power consumption could be decent enough.
     
  14. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    384-bit wouldn't make sense without 48 ROPs to go along with it. Clock it to 1.1Ghz, up the memory clocks and capacity, and of course nvidia's new-gen maxwell optimizations are here to help and 780Ti is within sights.
     
  15. fellix

    fellix Hey, You!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,494
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Probably. The current Tonga SKU looks like to be ROP limited in the fill-rate tests. But a ~200MHz bump for the core could warrant all the 6 memory controllers going wired.
     
  16. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    291
    Microsoft never completely threw away cap-bits, as example under Direct3D 10.0 - before feature levels - GPUs can optionally support compute shaders 4.0
    Still better then 4GB. It would be a shame to have such bandwidth but only 4GB of VRAM .-.
     
  17. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    291
    Sorry, don't bother this, that's wrong.
     
  18. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    It looks like it is using GCN1.2 or even better.

    http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?p=37461727#post37461727
     
  19. Alatar

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2014
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    18
  20. Pressure

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    284
    It does say 8GB, so there is hope.

    Update: Oh, just a slightly faster Hawaii with 8GB.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...