AMD Mantle API [updating]

Discussion in 'Rendering Technology and APIs' started by MarkoIt, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,240
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    Location:
    Finland
  2. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,133
    Likes Received:
    2,061
    Very nice! These types of games are perfect candidates for Mantle. Shame Ubi is ignoring it [lots of their games are sponsored by Nvidia].
     
  3. borden

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Mantle for Linux?

    I thought the primary reason for its existence was the huge drivers/ CPU overhead caused and introduced intentionally by Microsoft.

    What does it have to do with Linux and more importantly, if DirectX 12 is coming, what's the point of Mantle existence anyways?
    Will it bring improvements over DX12?
     
  5. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,240
    Likes Received:
    1,914
    Location:
    Finland
    MS hasn't intentionally made DirectX any worse, and OpenGL has similar high CPU overhead as DirectX does, even if some recent'ish extensions allow to bypass it in certain scenarios (like gazillion draw calls)
     
  6. pMax

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 14, 2013
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    out of the games
    Oh yeah, would you mind to explain me that in detail?

    That's even better than taking a Ionescu training class @RECon, indeed...
     
  7. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    Direct3D 12 is not available on Linux, Android, iOS or MacOS. It is only available on Microsoft Windows desktop and Windows Phone/RT.

    If AMD decides to open the specification and manages to create a strong cross-platform developer community, they can potentially displace OpenGL ES 3.x and OpenGL 3.x as high-performance gaming APIs on these platforms. All they need to do is add support for GLSL shaders and Linux game developers like Valve will start abandoning OpenGL in droves.
     
    #1667 DmitryKo, Apr 15, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 16, 2014
  8. Andrew Lauritzen

    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    2,526
    Likes Received:
    454
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Wow! You managed to get like 5-10 unrealistic hypotheses/assumptions into 2 sentences! ;)

    Seriously though - while I fully agree that other platforms need some sort of decent solution - all of that is hardly less work than other alternatives.
     
  9. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    Yeah, I am known to have very detailed, realistic hallucinations which I routinely present as my visions of the future :)

    But seriously, with a new breed of D3D11 feature level GPUs even in the mobile SOC there is a potential moment to instantiate a clean API break, like what D3D12 does for the desktop/console. Something that [post=1836013]Long Peaks (OpenGL 3.0) proposal was supposed to be for D3D10 level cards[/post] before it was "simplified" to feature yet another set of extensions.
     
  10. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    2,638
    #1670 DavidGraham, Apr 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 16, 2014
  11. Sinistar

    Sinistar I LIVE
    Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    648
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Indiana
    all I get is "Sorry, the page you are looking for can’t be found."
     
  12. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,173
    Likes Received:
    958
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Star Citizen is also supporting Mantle right?

    Your link is somehow borked.
     
  13. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    2,638
    Don't know why the link is broken,it is opening normally for me .. I expect this should be fixed soon(unless it was a mistake on NVIDIA's part).

    As for Star Citizen it will support Mantle. Also PhysX and some other NVIDIA features like TXAA and HBAO+.
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,964
    Likes Received:
    2,343
    Are TXAA and HBAO+ nv exclusive
     
  15. zorg

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    HBAO+ is a standard HLSL effect. But I don't think they will use it for Civ, because the source code is closed even for the partners. Many developers don't like these black box solutions.
     
  16. DavidGraham

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    2,638
    Only TXAA, HBAO+ can run on any hardware(even Intel's)
    The link still doesn't work, I guess it still works for me because of FireFox caching, don't know why they took it down, guess if it is not up soon, then we should consider it a mistake.

    This is a picture of the cached page:
    http://i57.tinypic.com/2zqd8q0.jpg
     
  17. jlippo

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,352
    Likes Received:
    459
    Location:
    Finland
    It does offer a lot more control to hardware than OpenGL ever will.
    I would love to see a proper high end arcade machine with 4GPUs on tiny game specific Linux and Mantle. ;)
     
  18. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    702
    Likes Received:
    588
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    http://www.slideshare.net/DICEStudio/mantle-for-developers/32

     
    #1678 DmitryKo, Apr 16, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: May 18, 2014
  19. zorg

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sweden
    Interesting. I wonder how they use HBAO+ on Mantle.:smile:
     
  20. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,173
    Likes Received:
    958
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Mantle uses HLSL, so if it's a standard HLSL effect it should work right?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...