AMD Mantle API [updating]

Discussion in 'Rendering Technology and APIs' started by MarkoIt, Sep 26, 2013.

  1. tEd

    tEd Casual Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    switzerland
    http://semiaccurate.com/2013/12/30/happened-eas-battlefield-4-mantle-patch/

     
  2. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,063
    Likes Received:
    1,660
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Seems to be a good idea. If you want to have a showcase title for a new technology, it's not great if that showcase title is losing reputation fast, or once you've implemented Mantle, the game will be fast but unstable. Also, it could send a message that Mantle is being implemented instead of fixing the bugs.
     
  3. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,227
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    So, S|A thinks there will be Mantle demos all over CES. That's fine. Hopefully Nixxes will show up and showcase Thief.
     
  4. gkar1

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Messages:
    614
    Likes Received:
    7
    StarSwarm benchmark to be released this Month

    Stardock's Brad Wardell talks Nitrous engine, Mantle, and their collaboration with Oxide to make Nitrous engine ready to license to third parties. http://forums.elementalgame.com/451041


    Plus, Star Swarm benchmark to be released on Steam later this month.
    http://forums.elementalgame.com/451041/get;3430480
     
  5. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,227
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    Stardock's CEO also mentioned that the Star Swarm demo will be highly moddable. He hopes that someone will make opening battle from Revenge from the Sith with it. :D

    Im interested to see what did he meant exactly when he said that their engine works like Renderman.
     
  6. jlippo

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,449
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Finland
    They actually shade the sample points before rasterization phase, how they render the scene is unknown. (micropolygons, point splatting, something else?)
     
  7. Paran

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    14
    Two more slides.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,126
    Likes Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Finland
  9. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,515
    Likes Received:
    934
    It'd be nice if marketing people used average figures instead of the utterly useless "up to" once in a while.
     
  10. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,126
    Likes Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Finland
    Am I reading the StarSwarm-slides correctly - Mantle is performing just like the game would perform without any API overhead?
    And that if Intels HD-graphics would work with Mantle as well as GCN does, it would outperform A8-Kaveri in StarSwarm CPU-limited scenarios, too?
     
  11. firstminion

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    46
    I read it as: No API overhead = Mantle
     
  12. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,126
    Likes Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Finland
    Performance wise, sure, but the 1st slide which says "No API overhead" can't be Mantle, since it has Core i7 result on it too, and HD Graphics doesn't support Mantle - if it was using separate GCN card on both, A8-7600 only results on next slide would surely have to be different?
     
  13. SimBy

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    511
    Likes Received:
    145
    Slide with system config is missing. I'm guessing Haswell is paired with AMD discrete GPU.
     
  14. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,227
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    T_T album is empty? Did anyone snatch images?
     
  15. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,126
    Likes Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Finland
    http://imgur.com/a/oZQ7R

    Even more slides this time, got this one saved, too (forgot to download the last one)
     
  16. firstminion

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2013
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yes. The performance numbers are even the same (8, 12, 30, 30+). They are just plotted differently of presentation purposes.

    A8 numbers are probably with a discrete GPU as well, to level the field.
     
  17. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,126
    Likes Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Finland
    Unlikely, if it was Mantle and discrete GPUs used, surely it would say Mantle, and in the next slide why would they state only A8 if it was A8+discrete, when they clearly state in other slides if discrete GPU is used?
     
  18. homerdog

    homerdog donator of the year
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    6,282
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Location:
    still camping with a mauler
    Is the BF4 Mantle update really supposed to happen this month? It seems likely to be pushed into February at this point, although I would love to be surprised :)

    I have 2 nearly identical and fairly high-end systems, one (my primary rig) running a GTX670 and the other (for my brother) a HD7950. Right now the 670 is a bit faster in most games but if Mantle really improves performance by >15% on the 7950 I will put that in my primary rig. Nice to have the option :cool:
     
  19. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,227
    Likes Received:
    2,179
    There is nothing that suggest that BF4 Mantle will slip into February. We have to wait and see.

    In any case, StarSwarm demo is also announced for January.
     
  20. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,126
    Likes Received:
    3,014
    Location:
    Finland
    And Thief is IIRC coming on 1st half of February regardless of possible BF4-delays
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...