NVIDIA GF100 & Friends speculation

I'm no process expert, but personally I don't know that it increases die size at all. The vias the connections between the metal layers, so increasing via redundancy would likely change how we handle the metal layers; if so, the increased cost would probably come with additional metal layers.
Ok, from Anand's piece I was under the impression that die size went up with doubled vias in RV740. Must've misunderstood that part then.

Not sure about Vantage, but curiously the erlier 3DMarks "Single Texture Filtering" test, always ended up being a bandwidth and integer blending test more than anythng else.
I know, but those didn't use FP16 blending AFAIK.

NVidia's architecture, with its hot clock, seems to require custom implementation for those parts of the die at TSMC. Though I'm not sure of the extent of that. That's more difficult than going fully synthesisable is it not?
We don't know to what extent the design is custom. But the speeds are too low for it to be full custom the way CPU are. They also have too many versions of similar designs. You don't do that with full custom.
You like to assert there's no causation. Well feel free to provide an argument against the repetitions, rather than hand waving.
I've given plenty of reasons why designs can be late. You call this hand waving. I call it experience.
I'll ask again: feel free to explain why NVidia has consistently struggled with chips that aren't feature increments (e.g. GT200b is A3), let alone the feature incrementing chips, in the same period on the same fab's nodes that AMD has executed on, usually in advance of NVidia.
I don't know. I'm sure they're not happy about it. The fact that I don't know doesn't make me want to come up with theories that make me look dumb.
If those two vias are for the same signal (which they are), you can probably cut it a bit fine.

I highly doubt if it will cause too much bloat.