NVIDIA GF100 & Friends speculation

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Arty, Oct 1, 2009.

  1. Man from Atlantis

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    6
  2. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
  3. Kynes

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South of Spain
    System DDR (DDR3)?
     
  4. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    98
    Probably "Synchronous" (but so is GDDR3). I'm guessing that, from the pre-DDR days, the first and second "SDR" in SDR-SDRAM (Single Data Rate-Synchronous Dynamic Random Access Memory) have gotten mixed up in common parlance.
     
  5. Man from Atlantis

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    732
    Likes Received:
    6
    i thought AMD memory chips was more interesting than what sddr3 is that it's already been using in lowend parts for so long.. There were AMD brand DIMMs but they were actually just a sticker job.. This time it looks different and they expanded the job maybe we'll see AMD NANDs in the future..
    FWIW translated from source
     
    #8325 Man from Atlantis, Apr 13, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2012
  6. Zaphod

    Zaphod Remember
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Messages:
    2,201
    Likes Received:
    98
    They've had this product page up for ages. Amusing to see AMD-branded RAM coupled with a Nvidia GPU, but I assume any manufacturer making cards from both could have dug through their spare parts bin to fill up some quantity. Or maybe it was just cheap.
     
  7. Ryan Smith

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    1,036
    Location:
    PCIe x16_1
    It happens more often than you think. I have a GeForce G210 with ATI branded DDR2.
     
  8. I.S.T.

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,174
    Likes Received:
    389
    I suppose this is the right thread.

    Does anyone know why the GTS 450 was so slow? Upon release, it was barely any faster than the GTS 250, which is G92 powered!
     
  9. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,607
    Likes Received:
    256
    with 128bit memory, approximately 100W of power budget, you can't do miracles. especially the Fermi architecture before refresh was a serious power hog.

    funnily the new radeon 7750/7770 still are around the same level of performance.
    the 7750 is easily the best current card from a certain viewpoint. I would buy it right now if it had good proprietary linux drivers (it doesn't. not that there are games to play under that OS..)

    I hope a low end Kepler will match it. or that AMD does a serious effort to support non-Windows OS.
     
  10. AnarchX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    34
    Bandwidth was lower and the 192SPs were probably trough super-scalar execution not so effective as the 128SPs in G92, which had also support by the co-issue/missing MUL in some situations.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...