Xbox One (Durango) Technical hardware investigation

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by Love_In_Rio, Jan 21, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    The two bolded sentence fragments practically mean the same thing.

    GCN has more features then DX11/11.1/11.2 therefore the + in DX11.1+ are the features that GCN supports that DX11.1 doesn't require.

    There are some software DX12 features in the XB1 API, and there has been for a while. This doesn't mean the GPU contains any DX12 hardware.
     
  2. mosen

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    152
    No. Prior to Bonaire, GCN had no feature level 11_2 capabilities, so the first part of your sentence is incorrect and as I said before "+" means additional/unique features to XB1. The question is how those features can be unique to XB1 while they are already presented in GCN? It seems that you are trying to say that millions of GPUs and PS4 already using XB1 unique features. If you think that they were only talking about SW features at the time it's better to read/listen their presentation again. "DX11.1+ graphics core" means that XB1's GPU has feature level 11_1+ capabilities and if you think it's not what they were trying to say, you can read the quote from the article again:

    It's very clear that those features are supported through some software and hardware customizations.

    Where did you read that those DX12 features in XB1 are software only? I'm really interested to know your source.
     
    Starx likes this.
  3. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    DX11.1+ doesn't mean features unique to the XB1 where has there been any indication of that?. Also we know that the XB1 is not a DX12 GPU as they have previously mentioned they are the same generation of GPU as Sony, the customisations no doubt centre more around the additional memory pools and things like having two GFX pipelines to draw quick overlays.

    I suggest you read this.

    https://forum.beyond3d.com/threads/...ectx-11-2-amd-gpu-whats-the-difference.54781/
     
    #8103 Betanumerical, Dec 8, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2014
  4. mosen

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    152
    I said you here. John Sell said that in Hot Chips conference. Those features are unique to XB1.

    They didn't said XB1 has no DX12 capability, they said XB1 GPU is based on Sea Islands family:

    They started their work from AMD DX11 design as the baseline requirement.

    You mentioned their customisations to support two independent graphics contexts (that helps with system/title rendering, too) and yet ignoring their comments about highly customised command processors in XB1 (the biggest customisation in XB1) :

    I did and I don't think that it adds anything new to our discussion.
     
    #8104 mosen, Dec 8, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2014
  5. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    https://forum.beyond3d.com/posts/1757241/

    Is pretty relevant
     
  6. mosen

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2013
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    152
    I didn't call it irrelevant, I said it adds nothing new to the discussion. He simply said that the "+" at the end of "DX11.1+" or "DX11.2+" isn't only PR, but he didn't know exactly what the "+" really stand for.
     
  7. googoo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]

    PS4 has only one GCP.

    [​IMG]
    Xbone has 2 GCPs.

    right?
     
  8. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    The PS4 has a second graphics front end. It seems like the exact availability of resources (possibly limited compute capability) and the priorities assigned to that front end might differ from how Microsoft has done it, but public details are sparse.
     
  9. powdercore

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2014
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    29
    Can you show this second front end for the PS4? What is missing from googoo's picture for the PS4?
     
  10. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    http://www.vgleaks.com/orbis-gpu-compute-queues-and-pipelines

    The high-priority 3D pipe is the other front end, reserved for VSHELL--so it's a system-reserved front end. The diagrams do not show a direct link to a CS dispatch box, but some of the other text indicates there could be a reserved pipe for system.
    The exact nature of the front ends for Durango is not clear, although one of the more conceptually straightforward interpretations is that there is a similar game/non-game split for them. The relative priorities when it comes to allocating work, and the exact breadth of their access to the full resources of the GPU is unclear, so the two designs may have somewhat similar duplication but for different desired ends.
     
  11. googoo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    #8111 googoo, Dec 9, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 9, 2014
  12. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
  13. googoo

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GCP's numb = graphics context' num ?

    i think u guys may have some wrong info...
    or really someone wrote wrong info at that site.
     
  14. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    I think the diagrams are wrong is more likely.
     
  15. Jwm

    Jwm
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Texas
    Where did our DX12 thread go? Anyway - Brad's blog comments -- Link
     
  16. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,079
    Likes Received:
    648
    Location:
    O Canada!
    With regards to the comment earlier, even Tahiti class hardware has capabilities not exposed through DX... I'm sure the architects could point out capabilities in the VLIW chips that aren't exposed in DX yet. Just because a rev of DX is released on PC does not mean it is absolutely a direct mapping or superset of an individual IHVs capabilities.
     
  17. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,277
    Likes Received:
    3,726
  18. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,277
    Likes Received:
    3,726
    I mean, it's memory. All you can do with it is read and write. What kind of restrictions could have been in place? Specific api calls that only allowed certain types of data/render targets or format restrictions?
     
  19. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Per the ESRAM thread, there were ways of using the ESRAM that were not being implemented in the early stages of the generation.

    https://forum.beyond3d.com/posts/1614724/

    Being able to split a buffer so that parts of it could reside outside of the ESRAM was not projected to be adopted until later software waves, and apparently more flexible streaming of data in and out of the ESRAM was going to come into its own later as well.

    Part of that may be that the means to set up split targets and to flexibly move targets in and out as needed required validating the ways of defining these more complex behaviors and tracking of hazards. The more flexible allocation could shave off more significant portions of ESRAM consumption that would worsen capacity pressure, and if asynchronous streaming is implemented, it might allow for better utilization of space by reducing the necessary footprint at a given point in the frame, or by more rapidly freeing up space rather than waiting for more coarse synchronization points. This is likely more difficult to get right than the earlier stages that allowed for static allocation of whole resources and noting which ones could be reused.
     
    BRiT, AlBran, nggamer and 1 other person like this.
  20. Allandor

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2013
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    169
    Since october it is possible to use up to 80% of the 7th cpu core. 50% of the core is always available when no voice recognition is needed. The 30% is dynamically used by the os for voice recognition of os commands.

    Well this is a small, but nice improvement.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...