The Annual E3 Microsoft press conference thread, 2016 edition

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by BRiT, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. bunge

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    725
    Likes Received:
    513
    It does delay a purchase for me. I'm primarily a Sony gamer but always end up with two consoles. The Slim with the 4K is so enticing but I know the price will drop when Scorpio arrives. At that point the console graphics whore in me will ache for the Scorpio.

    I was already kinda waiting on the release of Titanfall 2. I'll probably re-evaluate then. The slim is so nice though.
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,387
    Likes Received:
    3,070
    Scott_Arm likes this.
  3. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18,023
    Likes Received:
    8,228
    12 chips. Going to guess 12 GB. 6 GB is unlikely. :)

    Regards,
    SB
     
  4. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,387
    Likes Received:
    3,070
    what about 32GB of RAM? it'll be 2017... I also wonder if it is going to be GDDR5x or HBM
     
  5. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    19,107
    Likes Received:
    21,739
    HA!

    It shows 12 chips on the top side. Don't know if there are any chips on the bottom, so using current density chips that would be 12 GB or 24GB. Though there's going to be higher density chips next year, so it could be higher with only 12 chips.

    Also with 12 chips and 384bit buss, it's doubtful to be GDDR5x or HBM given the PCB Render shown.
     
    Cyan and Silent_Buddha like this.
  6. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,387
    Likes Received:
    3,070
    no GDDR5x nor HBM? Aren't you missing anything? I don't expect it to be classic GDDR5, so if it's not either GDDR5x nor HBM, that doesn't leave many options to engineers and imagination..
     
  7. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    I guess the most telling is the 12 chips and 320GB/s which is obviously 384bits of gddr5. The slowest bin of gddr5x would make it 480GB/s like the latest rumored PS4 Neo specs I saw on the internet.
     
  8. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,556
    Likes Received:
    4,729
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    For 320 GB/s bandwidth, Microsoft could use GDDR5 running at 6.66 GT/s.
    For that magical number by that year, the DRAM could be bought for a soul song if purchased on the sixth hour of the sixth day of the sixth month.
     
    #368 3dilettante, Jun 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2016
  9. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,691
    Likes Received:
    1,516
    Shame that (apparently?_ the 299 version is only 500GB. It's really squeezing it. At least give us 1TB at 299, so that it's an improvement on the price/storage options that we have now.

    Gears 4 looked really really good. Have to check it out again but maybe most impressive graphics I've seen so far of show.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  10. Rangers

    Legend

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    12,691
    Likes Received:
    1,516

    Wow so they are upping the RAM too? This thing is a monster. I expected it to stay at 8GB.

    Phil Spencer is doing incredible moves, putting the brawny Scorpio specs front and center was like a way of saying "the real Xbox is back". Xbox has always been strong in the grunt dept until Mattrick/XBO. I'd say it's a defining characteristic of the brand and it's back.
     
  11. Jwm

    Jwm
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,037
    Likes Received:
    155
    Location:
    Texas
    On graphics, things were either running on Scorpio or PC - IMO ;)

    The IQ even over the feed was really good, and FH3 was really clean, seemed much cleaner than the current version. Gears 4 at first glance was...well wait they did say running on the S with HDR right?
     
  12. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    19,107
    Likes Received:
    21,739
    Well for a HD VR and 4K capable system you will need more than the current 5Gigs of ram just to support the higher resolutions. The Sony PS4 Neo is rumored to allow another 512megs to be used by games for the higher needs of VR and that's not targetting 4k.
     
  13. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,387
    Likes Received:
    3,070
    320 GB/s of memory bandwidth is exactly the same amount of bandwidth you can find in the brand new GTX 1080, which uses GDDR5X, while the 1070 has 256GB/s bandwidth, and uses classic GDDR5
     
  14. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18,023
    Likes Received:
    8,228
    384 bit memory interface versus 256 bit memory interface, along with different speed grades of memory.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  15. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Maybe the 3d render they have shown is not representative, and the misdirection is a ploy for world domination.
     
  16. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,387
    Likes Received:
    3,070
    I still don't get why they use GDDR5, isn't it old and not power consumption friendly? Either that or it is like nVidia's Maxwell, which increased the cache making it unnecessary to use more memory bandwidth, or it's using new compression techniques like in Pascal so you don't need a higher memory bandwidth.

    sebbi mentioned that some time ago, when he said that current memory bandwidth can't be compared to bandwidth numbers of the X360 era, because the Xenos' eDRAM was not as efficient as the bandwidth in modern devices, so Xenos was easier to emulate than numbers initially suggested with its huge -at the time- 256GB/s bandwidth.
     
  17. McHuj

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    859
    Location:
    Texas
    I'll go with that the render isn't completely representative. I guess I'm not buying a 384-bit bus. The math for a 320 GB/sec number works out nicely to a 256-bit bus with 10 Gb/sec GDDR5x. I think GDDR5 on a 384-bit bus would be really power inefficient for an embedded solution.
     
  18. Dave Baumann

    Dave Baumann Gamerscore Wh...
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Messages:
    14,090
    Likes Received:
    694
    Location:
    O Canada!
    That was very specific location to be showing for a representation of the internals, and I would guess that it's for the very specific reason for showing those things. It would be somewhat irregular to so that specific number of memory devices if the console has something different because everyone knowsthat the second press receive samples they will tear it down and compare those items.
     
    Silent_Buddha and BRiT like this.
  19. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    18,023
    Likes Received:
    8,228
    Cost. It's more expensive than DDR, but DDR is too slow. And GDDR5x and HBM are a fair bit more expensive hence no GDDR5x on a graphics card that has an MSRP of almost 400 USD. And the only 2 products with HBM so far are the Fury series and a Pascal Tesla part which currently costs over 10,000 USD a piece IIRC.

    Regards,
    SB
     
  20. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,711
    Likes Received:
    3,632
    Also if they are going for 16 ,24 or 32 gigs of the stuff then HBM 1 is out of the question and I would think HBM 2 would be to expensive and I don't know what the max amount they can put .

    I'm guessing this is using the smaller vega which is vega 11 ? Its very bold of Ms to announce tflops so early , do you think they made a deal with AMD that no one can buy a higher tflop chip for a console in 2017 ? It would be very weird for them to give sony such an open target to one up them with
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...