*spin-off* Ryse Trade-Offs

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by shredenvain, Sep 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Airon

    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2012
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    To be honest, Ryse looks great, anyway...

    Also I consider that:

    1) Ryse is a cross gen title (it begins on X360)
    2) I have read somewhere that in the actual form is in development for only 1,5 years;
    3) New hardware, new platform,
    4) First implementation of Cryengine;
    4) Less straightforward hardware then PS4 (esram, move engines etc...) could probably means and higher learning curve;
    5) It is common knowledge that X1 devkits are far behind;
    6) Platform hardware specifications closed not so long ago.

    Nevertheless Ryse looks really great in my eyes.
     
  2. Rurouni

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    950
    Likes Received:
    216
    No versus please.
     
  3. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,001
    Likes Received:
    4,574
    Crytek is saving the higher resolutions to the great PC Master Race!! Whahahaha!

    To be honest, I do notice the transition from 900p to 1080p in my 50" plasma.. But the IQ is a lot worse in 1080p no-AA than 900p 4x MSAA, for example.
     
  4. Bagel seed

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    16
    They didn't complain because they were looking at bullshots.
     
  5. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,486
    Likes Received:
    333
    Location:
    Treading Water
    omg the sky is falling.
     
  6. RudeCurve

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most people who watched the vidoc were impressed by it. Are you saying the vidoc was a bull video?:lol:

    For those who are complaining, have they even seen the SP mode running on X1? I think not...so why are they complaining?
     
    #86 RudeCurve, Sep 17, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 17, 2013
  7. Bagel seed

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    16
    I dunno, but are you saying it's not? Let's get confirmation from our excellent crew of pixel counters :p
     
  8. RudeCurve

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    No I'm saying it doesn't matter just like when I'm watching a HD CGI movie...if the HD CGI looks good doesn't matter what the native resolution is..:wink:
     
  9. Cranky

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 22, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0

    Ryse is still by far the best looking launch game for either console. In fact, I would argue that the what appears to be a drop in resolution has resulted in the game looking much better than it already did. hence why I stated earlier that it looks like crytek made an IQ versus resolution trade-off.
     
  10. Tchock

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    PVG
    Ryse looks amazing because exceptional care has been taken to make sure that assets are consistently good and manage to perform without choking the system too much.
    Even games like Crysis 3 feel like they're made with the converse approach with scaled up assets and texturing looking really out of place at max settings. If 900p is the price to pay for "cinematic/production" assets, I'd gladly have that. The pixelcount seems good enough to make sure morphological/TXAA work decently, too.
     
  11. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    1,909
    Behind E3 close doors, Ryse was running on Nvidia GTX based PCs.

    http://www.slashgear.com/xbox-one-e3-demos-were-played-on-windows-gaming-pcs-15286627/

    So, anything up to this point means compromises were being made on getting it up and running on XB1. I'm still impressed with Ryse on certain levels, but that doesn't give MS (nor Sony) a pass on saying one thing, then another. Lets discuss which assets or post processing effects are causing frame drops and lower resolution targets with Ryse.
     
  12. Bagel seed

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    16
    Umm, HD CGI movies are rendered in very high resolutions.
     
  13. XpiderMX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ryse, Forza and Ki was shown on Xbox One hardware.

    About Ryse:

    http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/digitalfoundry-hands-on-with-xbox-one
     
  14. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,277
    Likes Received:
    3,726
    There's no way to know what is causing the frame drops, but it's more likely the sum of all things than one thing in particular. All we know is they lowered the resolution, but so far we have not seen anything to use as a comparison.
     
  15. RudeCurve

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Doesn't matter because movies aren't being rendered at those resolutions. Hell even watching a CGI movie using an upscaling DVD player looks good. Good lighting, texturing, modeling, antialiasing trumps resolution.
     
  16. expletive

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Bridgewater, NJ
    Old news is old, at the last 2 conventions (games-com and pax) it was on XBO hardware.
     
  17. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    1,909
    Thanks Scott for not being combative... :smile:

    Lets say hypothetically that the 32MB ESRAM is hampering rendering speed... not that the XB1 can't do 1080p, but with certain games that use a lot of large memory intensive operations and large render assets... could that effect Ryse's current state? Better yet, is there a way around from using the ESRAM?
     
  18. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,799
    Likes Received:
    1,909
    I wasn't stating it as such... what I said was "since then?". Meaning; what has happened during development since the E3 presentation that would require such a move (downgrade), if the GTX PC Kits were close to the XB1 SDK specs?
     
  19. Bagel seed

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    16
    Still, downsampled first. They say film is equivalent to about 4k or so. IIRC CGI movies are typically rendered at that res as well, or higher.

    If Ryse turns out to look like a Blizzard cinematic except rendered at 900p, I agree, it would be very impressive.
     
  20. XpiderMX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a proof that Ryse was running on real Xbox One hardware at E3, not on PC, DigitalFoundry said that, the games running on PC were Crimson Dragon, Lococycle and Dead Rising 3.

    Ryse is not a multiplatform game. We don't know the resolution for multiplatform games yet.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...