*spin-off* Ryse Trade-Offs

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by shredenvain, Sep 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mianca

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    The game looks great - and that's way more important than pushing 1080p or 100.000+ polys per character just for the sake of it, imo.

    If you really NEED to discuss the drop to 900p (if that's actually true) as a downgrade, I'd be way more interested in the question of what it potentially tells us with respect to XBOX One's ROP and memory system "balance" than with respect to a game developer's quest for maximizing the perceived visual quality of their game ... the fact that MS openly said that boosting overall GPU clocks (which includes a boost to ROPs and embedded RAM) seemed more effective to them than just adding more shader power (by potentially unlocking CUs deactivated for the sake of yields) was very telling, though.
     
  2. rokkerkory

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    99
    I agree if the game really looks like the 2nd pic @ 900p vs 1st pic @ 1080p... I don't think most people will complain. This goes for all games on all consoles imo.
     
  3. MarkoIt

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2007
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    0
    With display panels and dynamic resolution, even when the game ships we will talk endlessly about the real resolution. So Yerli can say what he wants :grin:
     
  4. dragonelite

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    netherlands
    Dat driver performance recovery and windows team reinforcements :lol:
     
  5. TrungGap

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    2
    Personally when a game looks this great it doesn't matter. However, there's the screen tearing issue on all the videos so far. I rather they make it solid at 900p or maybe do it 60fps...60 fps will be awesome.
     
  6. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,277
    Likes Received:
    3,726
    So they've made a software scaler that performs AA?
     
  7. XpiderMX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    [​IMG]
     
  8. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,050
  9. Tchock

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    PVG
    I think they perform post-processing AA after upscaling to framebuffer resolution?
     
  10. DrJay24

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Internet
  11. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,122
    Likes Received:
    2,050
    Shall we then also belive MS PR that Xbone is the "most powerful console ever created"? :D They wrote it on their official site, so it must be true.
     
  12. Strange

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    I completely do not understand this tweet.

    No compromise means they are not changing the native resolution from 1080p but they're saying here that it runs at 900p.

    Downgrading resolution to increase performance in other areas is a compromise, and as far as I can tell from this tweet they're doing exactly that...? So what does no compromise mean?

    Oh, and decreasing the polygon count surely counts as a compromise in my book, or they simply made a model that didn't fit their purpose in the first place and then the question would be if somebody related to making the models being actually competent or not by wasting time making a high polygon model only to throw away/redo/change it again..
     
  13. Cjail

    Cjail Fool
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    210
    Compromise a.k.a. trade-off are unjustly despised.
     
  14. Nisaaru

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    879
    Likes Received:
    198
    A "little" off-topic but do they plan to get Crysis 2-3 with the new engine on the consoles?
     
  15. joker454

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,819
    Likes Received:
    139
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Presumably means they lost visual fidelity in one area like resolution, but that let them improve visual fidelity in another area, hence no compromise. Like perhaps the downscale let them incorporate better aa, so before you had higher resolution with aliasing and now you have less resolution but with less aliasing. Compromise would be one way like they lost visual fidelity from the resolution drop and gained no visual improvements in the process.
     
  16. XpiderMX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess he mean no compromise from the E3 versiĆ³n.
     
  17. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    It was never running at 1080p therefore it isn't a downgrade.
    The fact people thought it was, and it still at worse looks just as good is testament to the graphical choices made.

    http://www.dualshockers.com/2013/09...amebuffer-polygon-reduced-in-invisible-parts/

    In fact it seems like you know that, so now I'm confused by your post.
     
    #377 Jay, Sep 29, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 29, 2013
  18. FordGTGuy

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    He is saying that it's been the same resolution all along so there was no compromise on the games resolution. Also if they were able to optimize their use of polygons, which makes it look better with less, are we really going to consider that a compromise?

    The funny thing is that no one has a hard time believing it was 1080p before we knew it wasn't.
     
  19. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,943
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    I'm not sure if your replying to me or Strange.

    Anyway.
    Yea, that's what I said pretty much word for word :lol:

    Resolution used to be king, and for good reason.
    I'm not saying it still isn't important but it's not what defines how good something looks the way it used to, and that change has been happing over the years.
     
  20. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    I think the confusion over that came from one of the MS tools who said it was running at 1080p.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...