So who hates their job here? (aka "job hunting tips")

PARANOiA

Veteran
After a few varying bits and pieces at work I have done a complete 180 from really enjoying my work to really despising getting out of bed in the morning.

There's a fair bit behind it, but in a few words, I've had a change of boss who treats me like I'm not very good at my job... coming from being given a top rating in my 2006 performance review, it's a bit of a kick in the teeth. On top of having staff reporting into me moving companies into salaries 50% more than mine, it's really time to move on for me.

Anyway, I'm now "on the market" so to speak. Anyone have any tips for someone who has never really had to job-hunt? I've got a breadth of experience, and I'm young and quite talented at what I do. My big down-sides are my lack of interviewing experience... I'm really struggling to put a decent resume together.

Who should I use as referees? I've been with the same company since I entered the workforce... that's really giving my chills at the moment. I feel completely caged. But surely people get around it somehow, right?

Any general and/or specific tips?

Also as a side-topic... does anyone else hate their job? :LOL: Would love to hear stories from the front line.

As much as I bitch about mine, I actually like it. Granted raising kids/keeping house never gives you a day off and is 24/7, but you're your own boss at least to some extent.

The pay sucks, the benefits rock; but the big thing is the job satisfaction, off the chart. :cool:

Im not sure if your company is big or not, but is there anyway to just switch to a different department? You could use your 2006 review as proof that your not mashing with your new boss.

I hate my job. It pays nothing, leaves me hungry, longing for relationship, and with certain knowledge that this will continue forever. It's called living. :p