Sins of a Solar Empire

KimB

Legend
I just started playing the beta for this game today. I've enjoyed the Galactic Civlization series, so I thought I'd go ahead and pre-order this one while the beta was still open (it's closed now, sorry).

Anyway, thought I'd list some impressions of the game. It's basically an RTS game where you try to take over a huge solar system that has a bunch of planets (some more habitable than others). It's got quite good graphics, and is, I think, a good premise. On to some of the details:

1. There doesn't appear to be any need for micro management in this game. Just place units in a sector and they'll attack any enemies that enter the sector. Research the right technologies, and the game will even tell you when enemies are entering your sectors. You can, of course, micro-manage, but I haven't seen a need to do much of this beyond simply telling my units to focus their fire on a single opponent. All special abilities seem to be used automatically, as near as I can tell.

2. The learning curve is steep. This is a hallmark of this company's games, so it doesn't really surprise me. I do hope, however, that they have a decent single-player campaign that eases the player into the game. And while it took me much less time to get started playing this game than playing the original Galactic Civilizations, it's still nowhere near the Starcraft or Warcraft games in terms of just being able to pick the game up and play.

3. The control interface is clunky. It's in beta, though, so hopefully this will be fixed. As it stands I have a hard time moving the view around.