NVIDIA Kepler speculation thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Kaotik, Sep 21, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Anas platyrhynchos
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    782
    Location:
    Finland
    GK 104 is almost 20 % smaller than GF114 and a bit over 10% smaller than GF104 and with the comments from nVidia that they thought Tahiti was faster and the pics of GTX 670 flying around, there is more than enough reason to believe that GK104 wasn't supposed to power a $499 card. I don't think it's reasonable to assume that it would have been a direct replacement for GTX 560 either, but perhaps something to occupy the $299-399 segment?
     
  2. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,485
    Likes Received:
    332
    Location:
    Treading Water
    As I said before, do you really think it was ever Nvidia's intent that their fastest available consumer product would be priced at $299?
     
  3. AnarchX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    34
    Like everybody else they probably expected more performance from AMD new-architecture GCN 2048SPs and 384-Bit GPU and also not such a high pricing from AMD.
     
  4. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Anas platyrhynchos
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    782
    Location:
    Finland
    No. Like I said perhaps $399 for the top GK104, perhaps a quick roll out for the dual chip solution and possibly a bit more aggressive timeline for the big one.
     
  5. AlphaWolf

    AlphaWolf Specious Misanthrope
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    8,485
    Likes Received:
    332
    Location:
    Treading Water
    Even that would have had serious repercussions down the lineup and considering the NV rant about price per transistor it seems more likely that what they are paying for GK104 is closer what they were paying for GF110 than GF114 anyway.
     
  6. swaaye

    swaaye Entirely Suboptimal
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,457
    Likes Received:
    580
    Location:
    WI, USA
    I wonder if the big chip will end up being called 780.
     
  7. Lukfi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
  8. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
  9. Lukfi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    Well I dunno... remember that Zotac GTX 680 allegedly running at 2 GHz? [​IMG]
     
  10. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,186
    Likes Received:
    1,841
    Location:
    Finland
    That one was "lost in translation" or some misunderstanding, they obviously meant it's possible to reach 2GHz (which would be 100MHz higher than current record on reference with beefed pwm) on their PCB using LN2 or liquid helium cooling, not air :roll:
     
  11. Lukfi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    Yeah, but the slide specifically mentions two frequencies, 2012 MHz only being the "proc clock", which I suppose means the SP clock, while the rest of the chips runs at 1 GHz, just like the regular GTX 680. OC editions of GeForce GTX 560 Ti ran at 900-950 MHz core, which means 1800-1900 MHz "hot clock". At 40nm and air cooling with no problem. I think you are a bit quick to dismiss the info, regardless of today being the 1st of April.
     
  12. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,186
    Likes Received:
    1,841
    Location:
    Finland
    Yeah, no. There's no hotclocks in GK104.
     
  13. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    @Lukfi, Again we are the 1st April, there's no hotclock on Kepler, (proc run at the same speed) lol. Nvidia, or Zotac, will not redesign the cores for add hotclock.
     
  14. Lukfi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    But what about the mystery card on the photos, then?
     
  15. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
    [​IMG]
     
  16. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Surely Photoshoped There's no reason Nvidia introduce back hotclock with Kepler (or revert back to it ) and i dont see why use 2x 6 pin + 1x 8pin, instead of 2x 8pin. ( The hardware for hotclock is not present in 680, this will mean complete new core)

    ( anyway the image is so blurried on the "GTX letters", the Bezel can come from an Asus DirectCU II )

    If the slide was not there and we are not the 1st April, i will maybe think it can be the GTX690, but the slides confirm it is a fake (or faked somewhere ): 1536CC, 365W ... + the photo on the slide differ of the photos taken.
     
    #3876 lanek, Apr 1, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 1, 2012
  17. Lukfi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    [​IMG]
    (Can't take credit for the pictures, though. A colleague of mine at ExtraHardware made them and posted them, so he could link the post as source for his April Fools' article. Come visit us and don't miss our exclusive SSD overclocking guide! :smile: )

    We're obviously fooling noone here, but VRforums might be a different story. The post has so far managed to get a few replies, but keep in mind that it's the middle of the night in Asia. I reckon we can still get a few laughs from the thread.
     
  18. tunafish

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    542
    Likes Received:
    171
    There's no longer a separate clock domains for the shaders and the rest of the GPU. It is absolutely impossible to run a Kepler chip with a shader frequency that differs from the "GPU frequency".

    Especially as one of the doublings of the shaders was achieved by "running both the clocks of the hot clock at the same time" in separate units. Kepler with hotclock just would not work. It would make absolutely no sense.
     
  19. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland

    You should have post it on Guru3D, im sure it will have work a little bit. Anyway on some.
     
  20. xDxD

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    1
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...