New Heavenly Sword Info (screens included)

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by "Nerve-Damage", Mar 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. idsn6

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    121
    Wait, SPUs have caches? Little snoopy caches for main memory address space?
    That's actually really cool.
     
  2. Kryton

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yeah, remember you've got the EIB (a token ring bus) which can push data between SPUs far faster than consulting either memory pool.
     
  3. idsn6

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    121
    Yeah, a snooping protocol actually makes a lot of sense for the EIB (high bandwidth for the coherence traffic, broadcasting to all SPUs).
     
  4. one

    one Unruly Member
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    4,823
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    Minato-ku, Tokyo
  5. DeanA

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    I'm not sure it'll make a huge difference... infact, I'm interested as to why you think it would! Even without keeping this data in the 4 entry cache, it's my understanding that full LS to LS DMAs stay on the EIB.. they don't go via main memory.

    So bearing that in mind, I'm not sure why Deano is describing a system where data goes out from LS, to main memory, and back to LS. As that simply doesn't happen in the case of LS->LS DMA.

    And surely the utilisation of the SPU cache in this way pretty much requires that in order to run at full speed the other SPUs you're communicating with are not evicting cache contents by performing other DMAs? So your system needs to be pretty static in terms of DMA usage to reap the full benefit of what is described.

    Cheers,
    Dean
     
  6. idsn6

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    121
    LS->LS DMA still requires more programmer synchronization between SPUs than the ACU to my naive mind for some cases, so it seems more a matter of convenience than speed...though if, as you say, DMAs with memory can erase lines in the cache then that is a bit of a bummer. I assumed that the ACU locked the atomic lines in while other DMAs went directly between LS and main memory, though I guess I had no reason to think this.
     
  7. DeanA

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Cambridge, UK
    Hmm.. I thought that the ACU shares some bits with the DMA subsystem, but hey.. irrespective of this, if other SPUs are doing things (unrelated to stats update), then it would be possible for entries to become evicted.

    Probably wouldn't affect things too much though, to be honest..

    Dean
     
  8. DeanoC

    DeanoC Trust me, I'm a renderer person!
    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,469
    Likes Received:
    185
    Location:
    Viking lands
    Cos its very hard to do LS->LS DMA in real world usage (you need static memory layout and synchronised tasks). In practise you do a LS->EA on one SPU and EA->LS on another. If you lucky this occurs at the same time so its shortcut, else it goes in back into the main cache/memory system. Tho atomic put/get is higher priority so should be faster for 128 bytes than a LS->LS DMA anyway...

    The ACU cache gives you a place to leave the data effectively on the ring bus for a while without knowing any details of the destination. Its partly LRU and AFAICT doesn't get evicted via normal DMA get, tho put does. Its also a high speed ring bus op, faster than normal ring bus movement. So its should always be better or the same as normal get.

    Its not perfect but it does appear to be better than the alternatives 'most' of the time. Which is true of all caches really.
     
  9. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    LOL. I vaguely remember your reply but I didn't quite grasp it last time.

    Ok cool... I have confirmation about efficient LS<->LS DMA (without PPE or other external subsystem involvment). The gain from the cache would be relatively smaller if so.

    What is the time saved between an atomic cache write/read (cache hit) versus a LS atomic store/read (cache miss) for multiple SPUs ?

    Yes it seems. The algorithm in question should be pretty regular/predictable (Some globally shared data structure needs to be consulted/updated "everytime"). In DeanoC's case it looks to be the death/alive counter.

    EDIT: Ah ! DeanoC replied with more juicy details. :D
     
    #389 patsu, May 22, 2007
    Last edited by a moderator: May 22, 2007
  10. deepbrown

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    3,056
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is all sounds very interesting :p

    This appears to be the article that other blog was referencing. http://www.gameswank.com/content/view/48/

    "So hats off to him for taking the time to get so much out of the PS3 and being a pioneer in RSX and Cell programming. Certainly, don't infer that the game he's working on is going to be a failure, or that he doesn't put effort into his work just because he uses Microsoft applications. If anything that shows a dedicated and passionate programmer committed to his work. Keep up the good work Ninja Theory."

    Haha suck up.
     
  11. StefanS

    StefanS meandering Velosoph
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,608
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Vienna
  12. cthellis42

    cthellis42 Hoopy Frood
    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,890
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Out of my gourd
    Is it just me, or does "Atomic Cache Units" sound too... dangerous to be put into a chip? Doomsday device, surely...
     
    Shifty Geezer likes this.
  13. AlBran

    AlBran Ferro-Fibrous
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    20,732
    Likes Received:
    5,823
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    PS3 = Cell = Folding@home = 1st step to Skynet = atomic cache units = nuclear war! :runaway:
     
  14. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,741
    Likes Received:
    11,222
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    More like they're using 1950's technology. Atomic caches, and those discs the games come on appear to be some kind of solidified electricity.
     
  15. cthellis42

    cthellis42 Hoopy Frood
    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,890
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Out of my gourd
    Is Nariko going to defeat Ming the Merciless?
     
  16. crazygambit

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't believe noone has posted this yet, but here DeanoC revealed information about a demo of HS coming to the PSN (I can't wait) and some tidbits on loading in the game. There wasn't a date for the demo though, so Deano if you're reading this... hint, hint.
     
  17. idsn6

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    121
    They just scavenged those bits from comments in Deano's blog again.
     
  18. danteye

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    New screenshots:

    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Can't wait for this game... :Q______
     
  19. danteye

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    the lasts

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
  20. wco81

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    6,204
    Likes Received:
    264
    Location:
    West Coast
    Looks great but they really light up the characters and the water while making the mountains dark.

    Almost like there's a spotlight on the characters and the water and it's dusk everywhere else.

    Shouldn't the HDR show more gradations between dark and bright?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...