Microsoft Flight Simulator 2020 (MS FS 2020) [PC, XGP-PC]

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by Jupiter, Sep 30, 2019.

Tags:
  1. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    4,204
    Likes Received:
    3,390
    Flight Simulator 2020 is expected to generate 3 billion in PC hardware sales
    https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/g...-generate-3-billion-in-pc-hardware-sales.html


    Pls move if wrong thread.
     
    Lightman, orangpelupa, Cyan and 2 others like this.
  2. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,455
    Likes Received:
    3,392
    I suck at flying but love it. Flew past disney and universal in florida tonight.

    It also looks beautiful on my vega 56 at the second highest setting
     
    Cyan and Lightman like this.
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,761
    Likes Received:
    4,063
    Question how many of you have this because you want to learn how to fly a plane properly, flight procedures, avionics ect
    and how many of you just want to explore the cool tech and do a bit of sight seeing ?
    I'm currently learning the A-10C in DCS world, I have the game in the centre monitor
    on the left monitor I have the controls
    [​IMG]
    and on the right monitor i have a folder of video tutorials (currently learning how to blow up stuff with the AGM-65 maverick missile)
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,279
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Cool tech and sight seeing. Not enough inclination to spend the time actually learning.
     
  5. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    12,455
    Likes Received:
    3,392

    I want to get a better understanding of flight control. I don't really need to know all the radio stuff but actual controls and the idea behind flight and how the planes work and land. My stick is not as fancy as yours tho !
     
  6. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,761
    Likes Received:
    4,063
    BRiT likes this.
  7. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,347
    Likes Received:
    3,029
    Lightman and pharma like this.
  8. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,761
    Likes Received:
    4,063
    I dont think it supports vr (bad move imho flight/space/racing sims is where vr excels)
    How so ?
     
  9. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    8,549
    Likes Received:
    2,893
    Location:
    Guess...
    I'm pretty sure they've confirmed its planned for a future update.
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,347
    Likes Received:
    3,029
    'cos you could have a true to life panel in front of your eyes and touch it with your hands
     
  11. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    16,761
    Likes Received:
    4,063
    You sure it uses bing? it certainly uses open streetmap
     
    BRiT likes this.
  12. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,813
    Likes Received:
    21,137
  13. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,232
    Likes Received:
    2,538
    Yeah they announced it on their blog. I don't think osm have sats imagery. They use osm for metadata afaik
     
  14. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,232
    Likes Received:
    2,538
    SDK bug?

    Plopped the building (lawang sewu/thousand doors - historical building from dutch colonial era) into FS2020



    Trying to draw polygon to remove the existing ugly building, but I only can draw 1 point. When holding CTRL, it showed a line, but clicking did nothing.




    • Thus I cannot draw polygon to remove existing building
    • thus i can't release this building yet.
    Any idea what's wrong?
     
  15. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3,477
    Likes Received:
    2,836
    Yep VR is confirmed.

    The fact that they expect this to drive so much pc sales shows just what it could've done for xsx, not saying they would've all bought xsx.
    Peripheral, keyboard & mouse support(already there)
    Running on a closed platform.

    MS should get a team focused on the port.
    Could be one of the best ways to play it, especially for the price.

    Although wonder if they would require peripherals to be supported like wheels? So they can get a cut.
     
  16. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,232
    Likes Received:
    2,538
    found the solution!

    go to UEFI, set to this

    • USB XHCI handsoff = disabled
    • Legacy USB = disabled
    hopefully can help other people that got same issue as me hahaha. so weird.

    EDIT: i reinstalled FS2020 to SSD, turns out Microsoft kinda fixed the download progress/size on game pass app. now it properly shows 150GB. But completes at 900MB hahaha.

    anyway, uninstalling FS2020 didnt delete game installation. It leaves 90GB useless junk

    fs2020space.jpg
     
    #176 orangpelupa, Aug 28, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2020
    Cyan likes this.
  17. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,279
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    It looks like you're reinstalling at the time. Most stores and game installers will create dummy files filling up the required space with placeholders before downloading.
     
    BRiT likes this.
  18. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,347
    Likes Received:
    3,029
    can it run FS 2020? This game seems to be the new Crysis.



     
    BRiT likes this.
  19. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,232
    Likes Received:
    2,538
    The game was installed on F. I uninstalled it and it leave that 90GB folder on F.

    I'm reinstalling on C.

    The Uninstaller probably deliberately didn't remove the 90GB data to avoid accidental deletion of user generated content, I think.

    Because that folder have exposed texture data for planes, etc. So you can mod planes liveries thru them.

    Officially, you should put mods only on Community folder. But it's easier to directly edit the game file.
     
  20. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    8,279
    Likes Received:
    4,712
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    ah ok.
    Installers know what files are created by the game and don't remove any files that aren't part of the manifest so it should still remove all the core content and leave any custom files alone.
    Mods should never modify existing files. If it's a texture replacement for an existing plane for example, then the game checks in the relevant place for a custom texture and uses that instead of its own. As you suggested, it may be why the data was left behind if it's doing an checksum on the entirety. It's just as likely though that the uninstaller simply isn't removing the additional downloaded content, either due to bug or on purpose.
     
    BRiT likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...