Kingdom Hearts 2 - my impressions

London Geezer

Legend
Supporter
Hello all,

I started playing KH2 last night and now i can start giving some early impressions.
I spent about 3 or 4 hours just on the "introduction" level... If the intro lasts that long, i can't imagine how long the whole game is.
I stopped playing just after boarding on the Gummi ship.
The feel of the game is like the first one, which means if you liked the feel of the first game, in terms of story, mystery, sadness and cuteness all at the same time, you'll love this. It certainly is a billion times more interesting than KH's introductory level, which bored me to death.

The game looks absolutely amazing. It's as if KH was rendered with an engine that can push double the amount of polygons, the difference really is striking, on the models, on the environments, the draw distance, the textures are PS2-level obviously, but they are so well drawn that sometimes it's as if you're looking at a Disney-flavoured manga title... And the effects are absolutely fascinating, like usual on Square titles.

The combat so far was very easy, as expected, but there was very little of it obviously: the introductory level serves more as a long (and i mean LONG) recap of what happened in the last game. I must say, it's all connected very very well with the plot: you'll see what i mean if you play the game, but basically KH2 doesn't show you a 30min long cutscene of what happened before, the old story serves as a real connection to this one and is told through the gameplay, adding a lot of mystery which i'm quite sure will get even more interesting as the game continues. The beginning will surely shock some people.