I quit smoking..

Sabastian

Regular
Yeah yeah, I know it isn't a big deal to most anyone here. Too me though it is. I've smoked for the last 20 years of my life. It is a big deal too me because I've never done it before. I'm into day three and have cut my smoking to 3-5 cigs about three times a day. That is quite an achievement for me considering I was a 25 ++ cigarette a day smoker. I'm confident that by the end of the week I will manage a full 24 hours marking the end of my smoking era. I was shocked at just how difficult it was to just cut back to where I'm at in consumption.

Constant queuing for a cigarette just about drove me up the wall at points. Sometimes I was really upset that I had to control not going for a cigarette. A certain degree of anger actually empowered me in that I resented the lack of self control I was managing. I used anger to help stomp the "cravings" a number of times. It became painfully obvious that the whole affair would not be a walk in the park. But I quickly developed some philosophical tool I could use to help with the problem. The "cravings" as people call them are not that at all from what I can tell. The "craving" is simply a lack of carbon monoxide and the increase in oxygen levels in the system. If you calm yourself you can realize that it really isn't a bad feeling at all in fact it feels quite nice. I actually think that there is something to the idea, its been quite helpful for me over the last few days.

The real problem comes though when the addiction of routine rears its head. Smoking is something you do and with "addicted" smokers it becomes apart of what they do. For example at work I won't even take a break because I have no reason now. Smoking was what I did on my breaks. Now I simply don't know what I would do on them.