Hardware Specifications of Nintendo Switch Reveal

Discussion in 'Console Technology' started by McHuj, Dec 19, 2016.

  1. McHuj

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,598
    Likes Received:
    852
    Location:
    Texas
    Goodtwin and BRiT like this.
  2. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,548
    Likes Received:
    20,620
    We had an actual technology thread before with the DevKit but too much polution by the diehard wishful thinking fanboys reverted it back into speculation mode. We will be issuing reply-bans if this thread devolves into blind wishful thinking by those unwilling to accept reality.
     
    Goodtwin likes this.
  3. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,548
    Likes Received:
    20,620
    The final retail hardware is pretty much a copy of the dev kit but with downclocks when in mobile form. What remains unknown is the extent of hardware modifications (if any) that were done.

    From the artical, and summary of info so far:

    • CPU: Four ARM Cortex A57 cores, 1020 MHz
    • GPU: 256 CUDA cores, 768/307.2 MHz (docked, undocked)
    • Architecture: Nvidia second generation Maxwell, Tegra X1
    • Texture: 16 pixels/cycle
    • Fill: 14.4 pixels/cycle
    • Memory: 4GB
    • Memory Bandwidth: 25.6GB/s (1331/1600 MHz)
    • VRAM: shared
    • System memory: 32GB, max transfer rate: 400MB/s
    • USB: USB 2.0/3.0
    • Video output: 1080p60/4K30
    • Display: 6.2-inch IPS LCD, 1280x720 pixels, 10-point multi-touch support
     
  4. Lalaland

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    693
    Hey back in the Tech forum!
    So with the basics known it seems the remaining questions are around
    1) Process i.e 16nm FF, 20 nm or 28nm HPC+ (pretty sure I got that TLA wrong)
    2) Detailed customisation info, e.g.how many of the Pascal improvements came back to this chip

    What else remains?
     
    Goodtwin likes this.
  5. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Hopefully Chipworks will decap a chip and release a photo of it ala WiiU. Would be curious to see.
     
  6. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,672
    Likes Received:
    3,802
    Location:
    Finland
    It's Tegra X1, it's TSMC 20nm
    It's Tegra X1, none (unless you count 2:1 rate FP16 support as one, but it's been in X1 since day 1)

    Only thing I'd question at the moment is "are the CPU specs right", or should it be 4+4 cores like standard X1
     
  7. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,548
    Likes Received:
    20,620
    The talk is the other 4 cores were removed since they were hardly used or not used at all in scenarios of gaming.
     
    Goodtwin likes this.
  8. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    The small cores exist only as a power management trick. Only 4 cores are active at a time, so might as well remove the small ones? Or did that change and they can use all 8 at a time? If so, they could have kept them for the OS.
     
    Goodtwin likes this.
  9. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,907
    Likes Received:
    6,850
    There are 14.4 ROPs in the GPU?
     
    Goodtwin likes this.
  10. Rikimaru

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    411
    It's Nintendo. They could use stock chip :D

    https://twitter.com/fioraaeterna/status/757955789503868928
     
  11. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,548
    Likes Received:
    20,620
    Some suspect some sort of hardware bubbles and conflicts since 14.4 is exactly 0.9 of 16. Maybe like the Xbox One ES-Ram where not all clock cycles can run in R/W Dual mode.
     
    Goodtwin likes this.
  12. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,321
    Likes Received:
    1,980
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Almost uncannily characteristically Nintendo-like choice of hardware.
     
  13. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    5,996
    Suppose their downclock to 768MHz instead of 1GHz allows them to downvolt by at least 10%.
    80% from voltage, 75% from clock, so it's only 60% the wattage. That's a much smaller dumpster fire. :lol:

    And if they could downvolt by 20% it's half the wattage.

    Add to this that the screen is off when docked.
     
    #13 MrFox, Dec 19, 2016
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2016
    Goodtwin, Lalaland and BRiT like this.
  14. mpg1

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,250
    Likes Received:
    1,996
    So 157 GFlops in portable mode and 393 GFlops in docked mode.
     
  15. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,907
    Likes Received:
    6,850
    The same leak says it's unified RAM ("VRAM: shared") and there's no R/W dual mode on LPDDR4.
    This is the first time ever that I've seen fillrate/cycle being presented as lower than the amount of ROPs.

    Also, the specs you described in this post don't appear anywhere in eurogamer's article.
    The twitter leak says 2GHz CPU clocks and 1GHz on the GPU.

    Is that spec list a lowest common denominator between the twitter leak and eurogamer's clock values from today's article?
     
  16. BRiT

    BRiT (>• •)>⌐■-■ (⌐■-■)
    Moderator Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    18,548
    Likes Received:
    20,620
    @ToTTenTranz The actual clock speeds from DF have been put into that post as a summary.
     
  17. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    I had thought it'd be something wonky like the GTX 970 situation (64 ROPs, but only 56 because deactivated bits), but I can't do math today.

    THE NUMBERS, MASON. WHAT DO THEY MEAN?
     
    BRiT likes this.
  18. Esrever

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    822
    Likes Received:
    616
    300mhz makes no sense to me but if they really want to force 720p and 1080p, then I guess it makes some sense. With specs like this, I guess it's a portable Wii-u and a 1080p Wii-u when docked.
     
  19. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    11,907
    Likes Received:
    6,850
    Yeah you can deactivate 16 ROPs but you can't deactivate 0.6 ROPs AFAIK.

    Occam's Razor says the specs are wrong and shouldn't be taken literally at this point.
     
  20. TheAlSpark

    TheAlSpark Moderator
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Messages:
    22,146
    Likes Received:
    8,529
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    Yes, obviously something is amiss.

    Also, jokes. :rolleyes:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...