DirectX SDK users

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Davros, Apr 13, 2012.

  1. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    I found this post
    Is the Game Definition File Editor a standalone program, what would I need to be able to run it ?
     
  2. Humus

    Humus Crazy coder
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,217
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    It's a standalone program in the DirectX SDK, called GDFMaker.exe. You use it to edit resources which you then link into your executable.
     
  3. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
  4. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,328
    visual studio express is freeware so no big deal if you have to get it.
    would be funny to add DOS games launched by a script (that runs dosbox with a tuned .conf file)
    even games ran from other emulators.
     
  5. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
  6. Blazkowicz

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    5,328
    or sublty slowing down your system and making it brittle in strange ways. I remember installing every crap in XP : cygwin, msys, X server, microsoft SFU, openssh for windows etc. in my quest for a Unix-like environment on windows. I don't remember the quirks.

    I would do it in a VM (would be nice if windows gets sandboxing such as with freeBSD jails but that surely would be an "enterprise" feature)
    but else I'm pretty confident it should be a "setup.exe / next / next / finish" procedure and the "Express" maybe means the most complicated crap isn't there.
     
  7. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    If humus would send me the exe file ( GDFMaker.exe ) I would try it

    ps: tried photon game manager and its very good but only when it recognizes a game, when it doesnt or gets it wrong its a real pain
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ps: Humus as you seem to have experience with it do you know why it adds a shield to some games ?
    [​IMG]
     
  8. bobreece

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Hi all,
    I'm the creator of GameManager and I know its got alot of problems, I currently working on V4 which hopefully will be much more amazing. Anyway to answer your question, the shields (I assume you mean those green things on the covers) are added when the game has a back cover. Right click on cover to flip to its reverse and left click on cover to enlarge it.
     
  9. bobreece

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    oops, never mind I didn't see the picture below that. The program itself isn't programmed to do it so I must be todo with windows user account controls. Its a bug ive not seen yet so could you perhaps explain it in more detail and give instructions how to recreate so I can fix it? Thanks
     
  10. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Woah, thanks for showing up
    as for the sheild that is nothing to do with your program, and doesnt happen in your program. It happens in windows game explorer and why it happens I have no idea ( as you say something to do with user accounts, its the same shield you see next to run as an administrator)

    ps: I am a big fan of your program its damm cool especiall for people with a pc hooked up to a tv
    suggestions :
    the database manager:
    I tell it to scan d:\games, I have a game d:\games\codemasters\f1 2010\f1 2010.exe
    its detected as d:\games\codemasters and i cant delete the entry I cant edit it either. I can only seem to delete games that are detected properly. so a manual edit is needed.

    resolutions:
    more are needed 1680x1050 or anything above is not available

    thanks keep up the good work
     
  11. bobreece

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Database Manager is being rewritten and will have a full manual edit section and improved scanning so that should fix those problems

    It should do resolutions with the standard widescreen ratio but the graphics engine currently based on DX6-7 so maybe Dx6-7 isn't compatible with those high resolutions. V4 will have a complete rewrite in a newer graphics engine called irrlitcht so that should easily solve that problem too.
     
  12. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    thanks for that I cant wait for V4
    when v3 works it does so beautifully, everything is set up for you automatically. And being in the middle of trying to add all my games to windows 7 game explorer that is a godsend.

    ps: I run at 5292x1050

    windows game explorer (not finished)
    [​IMG]
     
  13. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,408
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    That's odd, I expected 1680*1050*3 but that's clearly not the case, what kind of resolution is each of your screens ?
     
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Screens ? I've only the one!





    only joking ;)
    It is indeed 1680*1050*3 you forgot to add in the bezel compensation.
    I know you dont really need this but incase someone does
     
  15. bobreece

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Holy smoke thats a lot of games, and I thought my collection was huge :D
     
  16. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    3,408
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Doh!
     
  17. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    Behold the Majesty of the "Most Holy 1.5 Terabytes of Gaming Goodness™"

    It's nice to find someone else who follows the teachings of the P.C Gaming Gods....
    It aint finished yet, about 100 more games to add

    ps: you should publicide your program by making a post in the pc games section..
     
  18. bobreece

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    I tend to get kicked out of forum boards when I spam post my program :D
    Also you'll be glad to know that the new database manager will auto import from game explorer :)
     
  19. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    12,740
    your post would be relevant, and therefore welcome (as long as you dont make 20 threads about it ;))
     
  20. Lightman

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,561
    Location:
    Torquay, UK
    Agree with Davros, very nice little program you wrote Bobreece!

    I will give it a go once V4 is available. BTW how it does with Steam games? Does automatic search pick them up properly?
    I have around 300 titles in Steam folder as I started following teaching of Gaming Gods few years back inspired by Davros then Sacred 1TB of Gaming Goodness!
     

Share This Page

Loading...