AMD: Volcanic Islands R1100/1200 (8***/9*** series) Speculation/ Rumour Thread

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Nemo, May 7, 2013.

Tags:
  1. rpg.314

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,298
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    /
    Hmm, so a shade faster than Titan, wider mem i/f, but 30% smaller die.

    This could be a beginning of a new strategy from AMD, make a ~350mm2 chip on leading edge and refresh it with a slightly larger (~450mm2) chip and some architectural tweaks a year later.

    This is going to crater nv's margins on Titan.
     
  2. hurleybird

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    Given that all of the cards with turbo in the preview have a "+" listed after their clock frequency, but the 290X does not, it's possible turbo wasn't enabled for the benchmarks. It's also possible that the leakers had no way of knowing whether or not the card was turboing in the first place.
     
  3. RobertR1

    RobertR1 Pro
    Legend

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,580
    Likes Received:
    614
    Looks good so far! I'll be curious to see it's OC potential. The 780's are OC monsters. You'd be hard pressed to find any enthusiast running one at stock speeds.
     
  4. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    ~15-20% faster than a Titan? That's a very nice chip and impressive, being 25% smaller, but it's not the kind of knock-out blow I'd expect it would be, especially with a 512-bits bus. Enable all SMs on GK110, increase the clocks here and there, lower the price obviously, and the real life differences will be as significant as they are right now (that is: not very much.)

    I really don't get why AMD doesn't go for the undisputed crown: their GCN architecture is more area efficient than Kelper's (at the very least for non-crippled DP versions.) Why hold back?
     
  5. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    Great, I am very happy finally to see this... after so long time waiting.

    Of course, if their GCN architecture is better than the corresponding competitor's. Wonder if Maxwell will be better with the same transistor count compared to Kepler.

    Great :grin:

    If they go for the crown, that will inevitably have a very positive effect on their brand image. Perhaps partially it is where the cheaper reputation comes from...
     
  6. Mintmaster

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2002
    Messages:
    3,897
    Likes Received:
    87
    People are too quick to draw a line in the sand about what is 'balanced', 'needed', etc. The reality is that a GPU goes through a variety of workloads when drawing a scene. Some of those are heavily BW limited, some geometry limited, some shader limited, etc. Even the same draw command can have clumps of triangles varying heavily in these characteristics.

    I think the main reason 512-bit made sense is that enthusiasts will demand 4-8GB to match upcoming consoles, and when you have that many chips on the board then you aren't saving much by going 256-bit. The marginal video card cost for 512-bit over 256-bit is probably well below 10%, and I think that much of a performance boost is more than likely.
     
  7. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    I think the main reason is that they cannot increase significantly the memory bandwidth if the stayed on 384-bit MI... Do you have any new type of memory capable to achieve this?
     
  8. AnarchX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    34
    The sample runs its GDDR5 at 5Gbps -> only ~10% more BW than 384-Bit@6Gbps.
    There was probably serious die-space saving through IMC down-grade and we can lay aside dreams of 512-Bit@8Gbps OC (512GB/s).:lol:
    But with such low GDDR5 speeds they could reduce voltage to <1,35V.
     
  9. hurleybird

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    4
    It will be interesting indeed to see how well the memory clock OCs.
     
  10. Wynix

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    57
    Indeed; Even modest overclocks will provide solid bandwidth improvements.

    512bit@
    5000Mhz = 320GB
    5250Mhz = 336GB
    5500Mhz = 352GB
     
  11. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    sorry double post
     
    #591 lanek, Sep 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 22, 2013
  12. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Dont forget they think too their card for Computing and Pro worksation segment. they can go for 8 and 16GB configuration for the FirePro cards. ( Like nearly 15% are retained for the ECC and control stuffs.. the more you can go, the better )

    I got the feeling the wires we see on the back was for bypass some limitations of the initial bios he had.
     
    #592 lanek, Sep 22, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 22, 2013
  13. rapso

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 6, 2008
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    27
    yet,if your competitor achives nearly your speed with just 256bit and beats you by 30% with the same 384bit, you might consider it's not the bandwith that causes it.

    you mean, like having 6gb, just as the titan has, with 384bit?

    Designing a 512bit controller to get to get more memory sounds somehow wrong,
     
  14. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
    There's a 512-bit bus, but only 5GT/s memory, so not that much bandwidth.

    As for why AMD holds back, it may just be that they're at 250W as it is and they see little point in adding more silicon. Plus, 20nm shouldn't be too far in the future now, maybe that was a factor too.
     
  15. LeStoffer

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Land of the 25% VAT
  16. Skinner

    Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2003
    Messages:
    871
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Zwijndrecht/Rotterdam, Netherlands and Phobos
    If these rumors are correct, they have a nice piece on their front. With future drivers performance will be even higher esp. on high res and load. My only concern, but that probably affect a few users, are the possibility of out of the box downsampling and flexible driver forced (SS)AA all though the more we are heading to dx11 titles, the more they are even on that part.
     
  17. Wynix

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes Received:
    57
    Downsampling is one of the key areas they need to improve; The lack of support for it is saddening, i hope they address in over the next few weeks.

    Also since it is kind of related; Is it possible for Nvidia or AMD to add in a feature that downsamples and if the framerate is going to drop below say 60, instead of dropping frames it drops the res back to normal until it can apply the downsample and keep the framerate above 60? Pretty much like what console games are doing except with downsampling.

    Actually now that i think about it, doesn't changing your screen resolution require a soft reset?
     
  18. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,798
    Likes Received:
    2,056
    Location:
    Germany
    Hawaii = 2x Pitcairn-on-a-die? Looks more and more likely.
     
  19. LittleJ

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2012
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is this just a big gamer chip or does this Hawaii carry over all of Tahiti's hpc goodness?
     
  20. Alexko

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2009
    Messages:
    4,496
    Likes Received:
    910
    I think CarstenS was talking about the basic specs (shader count, bus width, maybe ROP count). Otherwise I'm pretty sure it carries all the GPGPU features that Tahiti has, and probably a few new ones, as well as an improved front end, etc.

    There were also rumors that AMD would announce new FirePros based on Hawaii on the 25th.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...