AMD Radeon R9 Fury X Reviews

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by gamervivek, Jul 18, 2015.

  1. UniversalTruth

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    22
    We are offtopic here.
    Expected gaming performance is somewhere between Fury and 390X, probably faster enough than 390X.
    Retail price - 450$.
    Noise output is irrelevent for me, at this point.
    Actual power consumption won't be so much different given that the form of the card.

    So, now, would be please so kind to move to Pirate Islands discussion thread?
     
  2. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Lightman likes this.
  3. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    I meant is dx12 using mantle itself, as in it's based on that?

    Why not?

    Considering the ease of dx11 while having all the features of dx12 and nvidia having enough of a leg up in dx11 right now to make AMD look distant second best at resolutions lower than 4k, I don't think it'd be that quick to be adopted.

    Around a stock 980Ti's boost clocks. Should've done some firestrike.
     
  4. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Meh ... they are using LN2 to achieve these clocks. The people using the Voltage Tweak said the following about FireStrike. :
     
    Lightman likes this.
  5. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    The video uploaded shows a temp. above zero, in 30-40s, so it doesn't seem to be ln2 only. The voltage is on the high side though with 1.45v, I doubt that is going to used except for benchmarking.

     
  6. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    What is saying the guys, is they have make some bench but ended with blackscreen ( certainly caused be the driver .. ) .... they have THEN.. try LN2, but the core clock seems throttles when running under subzero to 300mhz ... as for now, it is not practicable for them to a do run under LN2 .. ( specially LN2 is not cheap, so if it is for make a benchs run at 300mhz, lol not valuable )
     
  7. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    Maybe driver, maybe not ... the reviews had no problem with driver in their FS runs. In FS blackscreen is usually caused by memory issues.
     
  8. lanek

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    2,469
    Likes Received:
    315
    Location:
    Switzerland
    sorry but maybe we are speaking about different things.. the initial runs was not under Ln2.. the second was..... but they have discover problem.. basically the clocks boards seems to respond strangely ... and i find this really more than more strange verythin else..

    Passed the subzero you could have 2 problems .. but one of the biggest is the "cold bug" ... for a cpu or gpu, its like the temperatures stop the chips to start ( for make it short )..

    In their case what is really abnromal, it seems that a temperature under subezero, put the clock to idle speed .. ( this said, nothing to do with the initial run with the stock cooling )..

    On the run posted at 1215 wit this "non offcial" tweaks ( not supported overvoltage ), they are not under subzero anyway ,, this said this not really impressive at all, and i got the feeling a new firmware need to be provided .
     
    #448 lanek, Jul 22, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2015
  9. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    jbq.junior01, pharma and Razor1 like this.
  10. Razor1

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    749
    Location:
    NY, NY
    beat me to it, yikes, definitely not an overclocker's dream
     
  11. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
  12. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,958
    Likes Received:
    4,553
    AMD seems to have this historical fixation on disappointing everyone with their reference cards, one way or another.
    But here's this bit from that article:

    Combine that with this:
    http://forum.hwbot.org/showthread.php?t=142320&page=3

    And 3rd parties could be making a Fury X with a custom PCB that allows some 1.3GHz on the core and >600MHz on the memory.
     
  13. gamervivek

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    715
    Likes Received:
    220
    Location:
    india
    I doubt Fury chips will reach 1.3Ghz except for same rare ones. 1.2Ghz at acceptable level of power usage might be excellent considering hawaii's capabilities.

    AMD have this clockspeed disadvantage since Kepler cards which could reach 1.4Ghz with more voltages but with way more power usage than Maxwells. But AMD's couldn't clock that high.

    A quicker release of parts on newer node is the best they've got going for them regarding that. And of course, drivers to eek out a little more.
     
  14. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Somewhere around page 12 or so there was discussion about the bandwidth tests that evaluated the effectiveness of Fury's delta compression.

    Some additional information was provided about some of the do's and don'ts for getting the most out of it.
    http://gpuopen.com/dcc-overview/

    The discussion about how AMD's scheme is implemented has happened sporadically across several product threads, but there are some interesting tidbits. There appears to be some special-casing for the most likely cleared states like 0.0 and 1.0, etc. The bandwidth tests use an all-black texture, which seems to play into this optimization for AMD. It makes sense, and might be similarly optimized for in other implementations. I could be interesting to test with a different color to know how big the difference could be.

    Not writing back all channels is more problematic with compression, which seems understandable when the compressor needs to know what is in the rest of the format in order to compress things.

    There was some discussion somewhere on where compression data may be, and how much back and forth in read/write traffic between the ROPs and TEX paths might be, and the linked article provides cases where the system becomes conservative in simultaneous read/write scenarios.

    There are a number of other optimizations there.
     
  15. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    9,958
    Likes Received:
    4,553

    Eeerm.. I think maybe you replied to the wrong thread? How about this one?
     
  16. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Around the middle of this thread, there was discussion about delta compression and the bandwidth test run by Techreport. Maybe page 10 is a better point, posts were lost around that time and had to be re-entered, so it's a little less readable than before.
     
  17. Rys

    Rys PowerVR
    Moderator Veteran Alpha

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2003
    Messages:
    4,156
    Likes Received:
    1,433
    Location:
    Beyond3D HQ
    Entirely my fault in all cases. I'll take a look at that DCC page and see if I can make changes to the bandwidth tests to make them better analyse how it works. Should really buy a Fury, too, to test it all on!
     
  18. 3dilettante

    Legend Alpha

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2003
    Messages:
    8,122
    Likes Received:
    2,873
    Location:
    Well within 3d
    Tonga should have a shared interest in these optimizations, although its launch predates Fury by so much that it wasn't tested in this way.
    Should GCN benefit from changes in the test, would Nvidia see a difference as well or is it a sign that their implementation is able to remain in effect across more situations?

    The memory subsystem isn't split like it is for GCN, which might remove some of the concerns like metadata and data being incoherent, or Nvidia's driver can manage it less conservatively.
     
  19. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,927
    Likes Received:
    1,626
    AMD Radeon Pro Duo Preview and Details

    http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/amd_radeon_pro_duo_preview,1.html
     
  20. silent_guy

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,754
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    I'm calling it now: the Polaris introduction will be absolutely flawless. After so many failed attempts, statistics simply dictate that AMD marketing will get things right one way or the other.
     
    pharma and Lightman like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...