Nvidia Pascal Speculation Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
When silicon comes back from the fab, everything has already been validated in simulation and emulation. Compilers have already been written. Programs have already been executed and tested for correctness.

Whatever these DL related capabilities may be, they're probably minor additions in the grand scheme of things. Nobody would ever consider spending $20M on a piece of silicon that will never see mass production to make sure that a minor feature really, really works.

Ah, no, I am not talking about Nvidia having something to test, I'm a noob but I know that would serve no purpose. I'm talking about select third parties having something to actually work on, I don't think and correct me if I'm wrong, but I don't think third parties have access to Nvidia's simulator, so that each of them can test evey single peace of software they develop. It's an expensive equipment that I'd guess that it is already very bussy simulating future GPUs and SoCs. That's what dev kits are for.