Windows 11 [2021]

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by eastmen, Jun 24, 2021.

  1. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    13,186
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    well we will see soon
     
  2. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    13,186
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    #2 eastmen, Jun 24, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2021
    egoless likes this.
  3. fehu

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    973
    Location:
    Somewhere over the ocean
    Gamepass integrated in Win11
    I can already see the legals at Epic and Valve calling the european commission
     
    egoless and milk like this.
  4. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
  5. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    13,186
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    epic can put the epic store in the windows store for free and not pay anything

    So i don't think they will have any luck in EU
     
  6. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    13,186
    Likes Received:
    3,956
    still doesn't go far enough IMO but hey at least I wont be working support when this comes out lol.

    I know windows 10 is barely usable with 4gigs , I would have hoped they put 8 gigs as the minimum but here is hoping 11 works better on less ram.

    I am guessing they did that because of low priced laptops for schools
     
  7. fehu

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    973
    Location:
    Somewhere over the ocean
    Yeah, sure

    [​IMG]

    You will get it later because it's Internet Explorer
     
  8. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    9,908
    Likes Received:
    2,893
    "DirectX 12 Ultimate"

    Huh, they really go the extra mile to not call things "13"
     
  9. fehu

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    973
    Location:
    Somewhere over the ocean
    Does someone know if it's using CShell?
     
  10. DSoup

    DSoup Series Soup
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    Messages:
    15,803
    Likes Received:
    11,796
    Location:
    London, UK
    The principle of forcing Microsoft to remove their browser and media player from Windows was predicated on the vast majority of people will just use what is already installed on the computer. Sad, but true. And the EU fined Microsoft a bunch of times because Microsoft distributed non-compliant OEM discs in Europe.

    If you think the EU will not jump at the chance to renew a cash cow, you're crazy. The Commission lives for fining people, it's easy money :yep2:
     
    egoless likes this.
  11. Svensk Viking

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    208
    I don't consider 4GB RAM and WDDM 2.0 drivers as high minimum requirements at all, but I really didn't expect the strict motherboards requirements with UEFI and TPM 2.0.

    The oldest hardware I have tried Win10 on are Core 2 Duo systems with various Geforce 6 IGP and 6600GT and 4GB RAM, worked fine. And they definitely felt older already in 2015 than the systems now losing support for Win11.
     
  12. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    3,347
    https://blogs.windows.com/windows-i...ing-for-insider-preview-builds-of-windows-11/

    we plan to release the first Insider Preview build for Windows 11 next week.
    And
    In preparation for releasing Windows 11 Insider Preview builds to the Beta Channel later this summer


    Moving faster than expected.

    I am into the insider build, dev channel -'cos of Auto HDR- and it seems I can try next week? The timing would be perfect for me tbh, specially if I could install everything from scratch.
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  13. AzBat

    AzBat Agent of the Bat
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    7,686
    Likes Received:
    4,704
    Location:
    Alma, AR
    DirectStorage only supported in Windows 11...

    https://news.xbox.com/en-us/2021/06/24/windows-11-the-best-windows-ever-for-gaming/

    Tommy McClain
     
    PSman1700 likes this.
  14. cheapchips

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    2,219
    Likes Received:
    2,335
    Location:
    UK
    Not sure my motherboard supports TPM 2.0. Might end up as one of those "runs with issues" people.
     
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    17,478
    Likes Received:
    4,881
    What do i do ?
    [​IMG]
     
  16. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    I kind of hoped for UEFI, considering that DirectStorage was to require an NVMe boot disk, which can only work with UEFI systems.

    So basically anything below Intel Haswell (with some hackery, Yorkfield/Nehalem and Sandy/Ivy Bridge) and AMD Bulldozer is cut off on the desktop, since it didn't come with UEFI firmware.


    But what about TPM 2.0 - are there TPM cards in PCIe x1 format for upgrading 2011 era desktop PCs?
    There are PCIe to LPC diagnostic cards, I wonder if they should work with TPM LPC cards below...


    Well, correct me if I'm wrong, but most pre-built desktops and all cheap 'school' laptops/nettops are not going to satisfy the TPM 2.0 requirement, unless they were released with 'Certified for Windows' logo after 2016:

    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/security/information-protection/tpm/tpm-recommendations


    There are TPM SPI header cards from ASUS, ASRock and GigaByte but they only work on very latest desktop motherboards such as Intel 300/400/500 and AMD B450/X570.

    https://www.asrock.com/mb/spec/card.asp?Model=TPM Module
    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards-Components/Motherboards/Accessories/TPM-SPI/
    https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GC-TPM20-SPI
    https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GC-TPM20-SPI-20

    There are also TPM LPC header cards from ASUS and GigaByte which should work with Intel 8/9/99/100/200 chipsets and earlier AMD AM4 chipsets.

    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards-Components/Motherboards/Accessories/TPM-M-R2-0/
    https://www.asus.com/Motherboards-Components/Motherboards/Accessories/TPM-L-R2-0/
    https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GC-TPM20
    https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/GC-TPM20_S
     
    #17 DmitryKo, Jun 24, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2021
    eastmen likes this.
  17. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    13,186
    Likes Received:
    3,956
  18. Cyan

    Cyan orange
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    9,648
    Likes Received:
    3,347
    well, then no Windows 11 for me, at least for now.

    I have the Asrock B450M Steel Legend , the Asrock Steel Legend are listed, but not the B450M version. Sigh.

    EDIT: Fixed! I went to the BIOS and on the Advanced tab, CPU settings, I looked first but was looking for terms starting with T at a quick glance, and the lower case f confused me so I didnt check the rest of the word :-| .

    However, I found this video, and now I've enabled TPM 2.0 no problem.



    I purchased my current computer back in august last year.
     
    PSman1700 and DmitryKo like this.
  19. DmitryKo

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    967
    Likes Received:
    1,222
    Location:
    55°38′33″ N, 37°28′37″ E
    AM4 motherboards implement fTPM (firmware TPM) using the Platform Security Processor in recent AMD CPUs, though you have to explicutly enable fTPM in your UEFI BIOS settings under Advanced menu

    Asrock B450M Steel Legend does have an TPM SPI header as well.

    Intel chipsets have an equivalent PTT (Platform Trust Technology) option since Haswell, you have to look for 'Enable PTT' under PCH-FW Configuration in UEFI settings.


    Enable fTPM in your UEFI settings - look under Secutiry menu.

    Though it's not necessary right now, at some point they will probably also require users to disable CSM and convert MBR boot disks to GPT layout to support UEFI Secure Boot.
     
    #20 DmitryKo, Jun 24, 2021
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2021
    Lightman, BRiT and Cyan like this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...