*spin-off* Ryse Trade-Offs

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by shredenvain, Sep 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. COPS N RAPPERS

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    957
    Likes Received:
    32

    You know, There is a big misunderstanding when it comes to hardware limitations, out side of beyond3d. fixed hardware will always be locked to limits, and you could easily jump out of those boundaries in favor of unorthodox methods.

    Imagine the sacrifices Guerrilla Games would have to go through if they wanted to get rid of shadow fall's 7 LODs, in favor of 80k single LODs. there is a reason why they chose 7LODs (40k max descending to 20k and lower) @ 1080p; for environments and shaders.

    1080p is a compromise in it's self. Polygons, shaders, and frame rate are compromises in their selves as well.


    even when you upgrade hardware, you are still trading in for something that has similar limitations. this is something that should cross everyone's minds. so when developers talk about compromises they are not insulting the box, they are simply stating the obvious of working with fixed hardware.
     
  2. Tchock

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    PVG
    Certainly a lot more helpful than some of the utter noise here that people actually try to pass off as signal. I'm tired of seeing intellectually dishonest hypotheses getting backed without passing through grey matter in multiple threads- and from the looks of it, it's not just me. Anyway that's all I'm saying without digressing anymore.


    Considering the amount of fine-grained detail that would be lost in morphological antialiasing anyway in native 1080 though, why wouldn't Crytek make a decision to render in 900 and then apply ML/SMAA towards the upscaled result, killing potential upscaling artifacts in the way?

    The illusion that "native resolution" is some sort of ideal, panacea to graphics is rather naive and founded on the misconceptions of previous-generation resolution wars,
    which I'm pretty sure some bunch have more than a chip on their shoulders for.
    The more stark reality is, in real time rendering limitations are present to work with; trying to assume the limitations of hardware through some paper wall hodgepodge completely discounts the plurality of decisions made by TDs, ADs and other associated ninjas (TM) to deliver a certain level of holistic visual quality.
     
  3. scently

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    81
    That a video is 1080p does not mean that it is rendered in 1080p. I am sure you know this.
     
  4. XpiderMX

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1,768
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ryse E3 was builded with the "bad" drivers, no? what if with the new drivers, with better performance (supposedly), instead to upgrade the resolution to 1080p, they chose to enhanced the shaders?
     
  5. 2real4tv

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Is that a fair comparison 7 lods but thats for npc the fixed geometry for ryse only applies to the main character and makes more sense since it is 3rd person.
     
  6. Renegade_43

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    10
    It's fair in that it makes a point. You could have 5 times the performance of Xbox One and still target 900p. No matter what performance your hardware the percentage difference in pixels from 900p to 1080p is still the same. You can gain a lot in per pixel quality rendering at a lower resolution that in Cryteks view provides the best overall image.

    And you may ask why not just do 480p then? There is clearly an "optimal compromise" between resolution and effects on all systems, PS4, XB1 and PC. When the resolution gets too low you start to lose the benefits of your higher per pixel quality. Games should be judged on their overall image not one arbitrary number that was decided based on film standards.
     
  7. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    Thats what I mean, someone did pixel counting and found the native reso to be 1920x1080. I'm not 100% sure they did it right, but it looks okay.

    http://www.neogaf.com/forum/showpost.php?p=82450885&postcount=8
     
  8. scently

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    926
    Likes Received:
    81
    Its was shown that his methods were wrong. Check one of the numerous Ryse thread on neogaf for more details if you are really interested
     
  9. RenegadeRocks

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Messages:
    10,102
    Likes Received:
    1,094
    The way I see it they found the best settings to achieve the graphical fidelity they wanted to showcase. There is nothing weird or worng about it, nor. Does it show any inability or ability of the hardware. They kept graphical effects above resolution for this title. if the differwnce in image sharpness isn't much, then i think every developer would go for more effects. Its just a matter of goal. Internally, they want a good looking game, not a 1080p game.
     
  10. Bigus Dickus

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    943
    Likes Received:
    16
    FUD, plain and simple. You aren't trying to ask a question, you are trying to make a point. Bitch and moan about just wanting to have a technical discussion all you want... that post of yours is transparent and IMO has no place here.
     
  11. function

    function None functional
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    2,248
    Location:
    Wrong thread
    Yeah, I'm getting tired of posts like that one from Shortbus.

    Most HDTVs don't even have 1:1 pixel mapping turned on. When I go places I have to fight owners to get the remote and turn it on. I wouldn't be surprised if "900p" is indiscernible from "1080p" for the vast majority of HDTV owners, and not a big deal for most of the tiny number who can push their nose up against the tv and actually know what they're looking at.

    And I expect that there's very little overlap between those that know what they're looking at and those that make the most noise.
     
  12. ultragpu

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    5,438
    Likes Received:
    1,628
    Location:
    Australia
    I wonder what effects would've been cut if they went with 1080p and see if the tradeoffs are worth it. If just by looking at it, I would cut the object motion blur, get rid off the Bokeh dof, tone down the character polys a bit further to 65k, reduce the joints and maybe cut back some of the grass. This should at least keep everything clean and sharp without looking too much different.
     
  13. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,925
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    Yet still looking worse so why would you?
    Although I'm not sure about you saying it wouldn't look _too_ different anyway.

    This talk of bottlenecks, what bottlenecks?
    Maybe the only bottleneck is that it is on a _console_ and to achieve what some of you go on about would require it to run on PC.
    How is that even remotely a bottleneck?

    It's up there in the top 3 of best looking launch games on any platform(assuming most peoples view) and yet people still going on like the graphics are gimped in some way. :roll:
     
  14. Jay

    Jay
    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1,925
    Likes Received:
    1,074
    Anyway back to the discussion.

    Does anyone believe the scaling that was mentioned was their own software implementation or that it could be done by the hardware scaler?
    Do we know enough about the hardware scaler to know if it could do what they mentioned?
     
    #454 Jay, Oct 1, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 1, 2013
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,891
    Likes Received:
    2,304
    If consoles are similar to pc's then the gpu does the scaling (there isnt a separate scaling chip)
    And if your struggling for horsepower and it looks like ryse is the that would suggest scaling would be handed off to the t.v
    Just send a 900p signal to the t.v and it will upscale (unless you've set your t.v to not upscale)
     
  16. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    Could they just not take the same route as GG have done with KZ:SF? Run the single player at 1080p@30 with all the effects switched on instead of crippling the resolution to enable effects @60fps?

    After all Ryse is a brand new IP, there is no conditioning in place to expect 60fps.
     
  17. function

    function None functional
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    Messages:
    5,135
    Likes Received:
    2,248
    Location:
    Wrong thread
    You're assuming that Ryse isn't "1080p" because the Xbox is "struggling for power". Crytek are saying they chose 900p for [reasons].

    Scaling takes no power in the Xbone because there's a variable res scaler built in - even better than the one in the 360. Also, there probably aren't any/many TVs that could even take a "900p" input. None of the HDTVs I've used can accept a resolution like that. Even PC inputs are limited to a handful of resolutions.

    Mine can't take anything other than 1080, 720, 576, 480.
     
  18. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,274
    Likes Received:
    3,724
    Ryse is 30fps in single player from what I've read.
     
  19. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    40,701
    Likes Received:
    11,147
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    There is a separate scaling chip, or rather logic block, that supports three layered buffers which can be scaled independently, and uses a reportedly high quality, though undisclosed, upscaler. It costs zero CPU or GPU power to upscale a lower resolution framebuffer.
     
  20. Strange

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,418
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    Somewhere out there
    So you're saying they wouldn't go for 1080p if they could do it with little other stuff turned off.

    Of course they would, they're Crytek. Push everything to the limit and watch the hardware break down.:lol:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...