*spin-off* Ryse Trade-Offs

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by shredenvain, Sep 17, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KKRT

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, i've made a test with shot from SDK level:

    1080p
    http://i2.minus.com/iDTL2e6mXarfi.png

    Lanchos resample
    http://i5.minus.com/id7SUAnSYKaIs.png

    Lanchos + 1 DPI sharpening
    http://i2.minus.com/iyMxFvY3ddp8z.png

    Mitchel resample
    http://i4.minus.com/i3FeJQgXYxz7x.png

    ---
    On my TV, there is almost unnoticeable difference between 1080p and Lanchos, but i have crappy 1080p mode and only 32'. But when i'm comparing them on my PC monitor, the difference is more noticeable.
    Ryse will still have better scaling than those.
     
  2. expletive

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Bridgewater, NJ
    I really wonder what the discourse would be on these games if we had no transparency into native resolutions or upscaled resolutions via the "Quaz Method". Regardless of Crytek's motives, i believe companies will make decisions based on general efficiencies or artistic merit, and the focus on resolution is getting in the way of meaningful discussion on those topics.
     
  3. Mianca

    Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    0
    @ Shifty Geezer: Thanks. I mainly wanted to visualize the pseudo-AA effect - but for a direct comparison of final results, your image is of course way better.

    Given your examples, I would actually concede that the diagonal lines do demonstrate a certain loss of detail when directly juxtaposed to the native resolution image ... not so much with the rest of the graphics, though.

    Overall conclusion is that 900p at least handily beats our "108p" examples ;)
     
  4. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    It's quincunx all over again :shock:
     
  5. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,797
    Likes Received:
    1,904
    If Yerli is telling the truth, that Ryse has always been 900p, then that would mean Crytek knew ahead of time certain XB1 limitations would cripple performance on handling the new CryEngine. Because we damn well know the new CryEngine goes well beyond 900p rendering...

    What possible XB1 hardware limitations did Crytek foresee ahead of time when developing Ryse on the system? Is it the ESRAM configuration? Not enough raw system memory bandwidth throughput? Not enough CUs/ROPs? Or a combination of everything?

    Will the XB1 sweet spot for rendering intensive games be 1600x900p, scaled to 1920x1080p? Because it seems IMHO, Yerli is applying 1080p native render output was never an option with Ryse development on XB1.
     
  6. dobwal

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    5,017
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    That the XB1 didn't come with a fast high end multi-core cpu and a 32+ CU gpu with 200-300 GB/s worth of off chip dram bandwidth.

    This isn't the PC space where you target flagship gpus and then allow pc gamers to adjust settings to accommodate lesser gpus as well as their individual tastes as a gamer.

    They picked a resolution that best expressed the visuals they wanted with Ryse.
     
    #426 dobwal, Sep 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2013
  7. KKRT

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    He just said that Ryse was always showed running in 900p. Its clear that they were experimenting with resolutions when they were developing the game, every developer does that.
     
  8. RudeCurve

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    2,831
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some parts of KZ:SF also has pixelated shadows.
     
  9. Betanumerical

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    In the land of the drop bears
    Wasn't the stone henge video found to be 1080P? does that mean it wasn't running on a XBONE?.
     
  10. expletive

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,583
    Likes Received:
    59
    Location:
    Bridgewater, NJ
    I dont see the connection. Do videos get pulled from some internal frame buffer instead of the HDMI output? (the HDMI output would obviously be 1080p)
     
  11. Tchock

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    PVG
    New low of shifted goalposts :roll:
     
  12. AzBat

    AzBat Agent of the Bat
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2002
    Messages:
    5,951
    Likes Received:
    1,745
    Location:
    Alma, AR
    Agreed, plus, he's also questioning the source as to whether he's telling the truth. FUD at its best. :roll:

    Tommy McClain
     
  13. Shortbread

    Shortbread Island Hopper
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    3,797
    Likes Received:
    1,904
    You guys have such problems with people having questions... this is a tech discussion board. I don't sit around constantly debating PS4/PC questions or pure FUD answers. Because at the end of the day, it's only hardware... so questions will be asked, regardless of your take on them.
     
    #433 Shortbread, Sep 30, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 30, 2013
  14. DrJay24

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Internet
    That was a helpful post.

    Back to his question, if you put Ryse in 1080P and it dropped frames (which is implied it would), what is the cause? 1080P @ 30fps is not unreasonable expectation considering the hardware improvements. MS was just telling us that they saw dropped frames from CPU bottlenecks, that clearly isn't the case here. So what is the issue; CU, ROPS, bandwidth? We will never know probably, but these types of questions are the point of the forum.
     
  15. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,277
    Likes Received:
    3,725
    So you want to know what the bottleneck would be to prevent it from running at 1080p, all other things remaining equal? Are you assuming the resolution of other buffers remain the same, or increase proportionally? Without an in-depth technical interview, I don't think you're going to get an answer. There are just too many moving parts to take a stab in the dark by looking at screenshots. We don't even know how the architecture works yet, or how it is being used. Could be fillrate, shader or cpu limited at different times.
     
  16. warb

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,057
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    UK
    You'd probably get dropped frames because it's 900p now. If it were 1080p there'd be some other trade-off.

    Were any Crytek PS360 games 720p?
     
  17. BoardBonobo

    BoardBonobo My hat is white!
    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 30, 2002
    Messages:
    3,255
    Likes Received:
    153
    Location:
    SurfMonkey's Cluster...
    I'm wondering how much input MS took from developers during the XBone design period. If the limits of the design were known ahead of time by the likes of Crytek the why was this never fed back to MS? Or perhaps it was but because of the none game focus it was ignored?
     
  18. DrJay24

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,891
    Likes Received:
    633
    Location:
    Internet
    Yes, I was assuming every thing else was held constant. How do the additional pixels stress the hardware; where is the bottleneck?
     
  19. dragonelite

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    netherlands
    But if rops were an issue wouldn't that mean that Forza 5 shouldn't run at 1080p@60fps and 2xMSAA(?) ?

    Next gen is just weak compared to top of the mid end pc game segment with that i mean the 7870 level cards not even the 79xx cards. Still shouldn't keep people from enjoying the games.
     
  20. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    13,277
    Likes Received:
    3,725
    They probably received and listened to a lot of feedback, including from Crytek. How do you know the feedback was ignored, without knowing what it was, or who presented it? Do you mean non-game focus?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...