RV870 texture filtering

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by Voxilla, Sep 23, 2009.

  1. Novum

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2006
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Germany
    Yes of course that is correct.

    If you would do bilinear filtering in the ALUs they would also need to do the rest of the filtering (including AF) and there were no TMUs ;)

    Doing the vertex value interpolation in the ALUs is a wise design decition - more performance/die space.

    AFAIK GT200 actually can use the MUL if it is not used for interpolation or the SFU is used for transcendentals. Also I've seen an NV patent that claims that there are many transistors shared beetween the circuits for interpolation and transcendentals.
     
    #61 Novum, Sep 25, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2009
  2. TimothyFarrar

    Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Santa Clara, CA
    The irony in all this is that where the filtering happens is NOT as important as that other number, 272 billion unfiltered 32-bit fetches per sec, under the assumption that the programmer can now bypass the filtering bottleneck using unfiltered texture fetches and directly hit L1 (general purpose vector gather).

    This could be quite useful in CS work such as in-game full screen post processing, etc!

    So with all the confusion on R800 details, this is one I'd like to see profiled!

    There are multiple possibilities here such as,

    (a.) That number is bogus and cannot be realized using point sample texture fetches. In which case the number simply refers to sample capacity in the TU's themselves.

    (b.) That number represents fetch4/gather4 performance only. Must access a 2x2 texel quad. Seems possible if filtering is in the TUs. Possibly would NOT require wider TU to SIMD core interconnect if didn't expand texels to floats prior to the transfer (under the assumption filtered texels are always expanded to floats as a result of texture filter interpolation).

    (c.) That number represents peek performance of single 32-bit sample point sampled texture fetch, which would be unlikely.
     
  3. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    7,212
    Likes Received:
    610
    I dunno ... a banked cache with 4 independently addressed 32 bit banks/ports kinda makes sense for a texture cache, and it would behave like that if you exposed that addressing to the shaders.
     
  4. Jawed

    Legend

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    11,018
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    Location:
    London
    This
    is how prunedtree's matrix multiplication is able to produce >1TFLOPS single-precision matrix multiply on HD4890:

    http://forum.beyond3d.com/showthread.php?t=54842

    So 16 fp32s as a quad makes 64 bytes, which is a nice size for a cache line.

    Now the intrigue is what's the performance like on HD5870...

    Jawed
     
  5. OpenGL guy

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,357
    Likes Received:
    28
    In order for that to work, you would need:
    Code:
    texld r0, r0, s0
    texld r1, r1, s0
    texld r2, r2, s0
    texld r3, r3, s0
    to work as fast as:
    Code:
    texld r4, r4, s1
    where s0 is point-sampled and s1 is bilinear filtered. This isn't reasonable in the general case. Gather/Fetch4 works because we already get the 4 point samples when we do bilinear filtering so all that needs to be done is return the raw values instead.

    Note that DX11 Gather specifies some things. For one, you specify what channel you want returned. For example, say you have a 32-bit ARGB surface and you want the 4 alpha values, then you would select that alpha channel for the Gather. In other words, it will take multiple instructions to get more than one channel.

    Also remember, Gather takes a single address as input.
     
  6. Chade

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Ati 5870 Filtering

    This link appears to show that the 5870 is still using some kind of optimisation in it's textures filtering, the filter tester shows a perfect implementation of AF filtering, but there are comparison videos further down that show shimmering on actual 'gamelike' textures? They mention underfiltering in the review but the translation isn't the easiest to understand.

    I thought the 5870 was supposed to offer perfect AF and supposed to be doing Trilinear all the time by default? Is this simply a bug? Or is it another case of over enthusiastic optimisations?
     
  7. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    7,212
    Likes Received:
    610
    Interesting.

    I didn't know Novum wrote a flat plane version too ... I wonder why they didn't use his earlier pipe version (it could test both depth translation and rotation, although I guess you could just add a rotation to the flat plane version as well).
     
    #67 MfA, Sep 26, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 26, 2009
  8. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    New York
    Wow, that's pretty compelling evidence there.
     
  9. trinibwoy

    trinibwoy Meh
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2004
    Messages:
    10,782
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    New York
    That's the default mode. You have to pick "Show Tunnel" in the view menu to get the tunnel.
     
  10. Chade

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    This isn't looking good, here's another review showing the same problem and coming to the conclusion that the AF quality of the 5870 is equal to a Quality setting on a current Geforce. Not even High Quality. What one earth is the point of having near perfect AF if you then go and fudge it up by screwing with the mip blending?
     
  11. Thowllly

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    551
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Norway
    It doesn't have near perfect AF, the shimering is caused by AF undersampling, not (as much) by mipmap filtering.
    The HD5870 was never supposed to have perfect AF, angle dependency is far less important for near perfect AF than lack of texture shimmering (caused by lack of adequate number of AF samples). It was just that far too many reviewers drew hasty conclusions from faulty logic. From these facts:

    'Angle dependencies' causes 'blurring at some angels'
    'AF undersampling' causes 'texture shimmering'


    They basically drew the faulty conclusion that:

    no 'Angle dependencies' means no 'texture shimmering'


    They really should know better, because this is really basic stuff, but unfortunately far too many reviewers don't know what they are talking about. Good to see that some that some do.
     
  12. no-X

    Veteran

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    313
    In fact, shimmering seems to be slightly better than on RV770. Not as good as on G80/GT200 at maximum quality, but it's a step in the right direction.
     
  13. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    7,212
    Likes Received:
    610
    I'd still like to see rotating comparisons.
     
  14. nAo

    nAo Nutella Nutellae
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,339
    Likes Received:
    163
    Location:
    San Francisco
    What is it?
     
  15. Lukfi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prague, Czech Republic
    The 3DMark "flower"?
     
  16. MfA

    MfA
    Legend

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    7,212
    Likes Received:
    610
    Simply turning around on the flat plane version, instead of only translating the texture, or rotating the texture on the tube version.
     
  17. CarstenS

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,126
    Likes Received:
    2,599
    Location:
    Germany
    Sorry to dig this up again, but just today I've stumbled upon this older test (of ours):
    http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,...w-AMD-graphics-card-reviewed/Reviews/?page=12

    The HD 4670 performed abnormally slow in Vantages Perlin Noise Test - but i certainly couldn't be interpolator limited, could it?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...