Rift, Vive, and Virtual Reality

Discussion in 'VR and AR' started by idsn6, May 8, 2013.

  1. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,107
    Likes Received:
    1,672
    i prefer the way steam did it. The steam vr are a separate entity that can run without steam running. But if you did that, it will run DRM free, and will break games that use Steam's DRM.
     
  2. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,701
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    So i disabled the internet in my firewall, plugged in the rift it didnt work, ran the oculus program and the splashscreen showed up with the loading animation and it just stayed on that
    had to kill it in task manager. I strarted the oculus app with the internet enabled and everything worked so i disabled the net again and everything continued to work but some furniture disappeared from the home room
     
  3. hughJ

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    309
    Are the OVR background processes running normally throughout your tests? (Or are you disabling the Oculus Service via Oculus Tray Tools?)
     
  4. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,701
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    Not using tray tools
    internet enabled = rift works
    internet disabled in zonealarm = rift wont start
     
  5. orangpelupa

    orangpelupa Elite Bug Hunter
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    Messages:
    8,107
    Likes Received:
    1,672
    Maybe they put overly long timeout?
     
  6. hughJ

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    309
    Are you blocking only internet IP addresses with ZA, or blocking all network activity (including loopback, etc)? Have you tried simply disconnecting your physical network and seeing if it behaves the same way as ZA's block?
     
    orangpelupa likes this.
  7. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,701
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    Selecting "stop all internet activity" from the right click menu (taskbar icon)
    Rift works fine if I just disconnect the cable (the store doesnt load and neither does the vr house thing)

    you can switch into Passthrough mode by: Pressing the Oculus button on your right Touch controller twice.
     
    #2167 Davros, May 12, 2020
    Last edited: May 12, 2020
  8. hughJ

    Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    309
    So it's an issue with the way ZA is blocking network traffic, not the internet being disconnected. It's probably blocking 127.0.0.1 which is used by ovrserver_x64.exe
     
  9. manux

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Earth
  10. pjbliverpool

    pjbliverpool B3D Scallywag
    Legend

    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Messages:
    7,719
    Likes Received:
    929
    Location:
    Guess...
  11. eastmen

    Legend Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    10,258
    Likes Received:
    1,711
    will be interesting to see how they compare to HoloLens. But a 2021 announcement and release in 2022 would put it up against HoloLens 3
     
  12. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,701
    Likes Received:
    2,847
  13. cheapchips

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    939
    Likes Received:
    694
    DuckThor Evil, Daozang, BRiT and 2 others like this.
  14. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,701
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    Needs a ton of vram - sort of partly defeats the point of rendering most of the screen in low detail
     
  15. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,701
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    Elite Dangerous has now on sale for £4.99
     
    manux likes this.
  16. manux

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Earth
    Elite Dangerous in VR is seriously cool. It was pretty demoralizing trying to pass mining training when I accidentally and unknowingly had disabled flight assistant :D That chunk of rock was pretty much impossible to scoop up with my puny skillz.

    I ended up getting t16000m fcs hotas. So far I'm happy with the choice of controller.
     
  17. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,701
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    just bought Elite Dangerous for £4.99 on sale
    edit: oops allready posted ;)
     
  18. manux

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Earth
    Elite Dangerous in vr is so cool. Did my first missions yesterday. Elite takes me back too my childhood. It's wonderful experience to zoom around in space. Same kind of wonder in the game mechanics and possibilities of what do do and where to go as I remember when playing elite on c64. I'm for now just learning and doing the trainings + easy missions in solo mode. Maybe at some later point I'll tip my toes to the side if of the game where other human players are.

    First few times of playing elite I did get quite nauseous due to the movement. I guess I'm now adjusted as yesterday I didn't get any ill effects from rolling around space.

    Graphics could be a lot better though. Don't know if it's just the headset or graphics in general but they are not very impressive. That said, graphics does't matter that much. What's important for immersion is there(cockpit, giant structures, sheer scale of the game). Gameplay feels appropriately challenging in a fun way. This is first game where I feel like voice commands could be nice to have and I would probably use them.

    Elite might become my second favorite game to play in vr. In my books Half Life Alyx is still the vr game to beat.
     
  19. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    15,701
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    I'm waiting for my warthog to arrive before trying Elite
    ps: have you tried no mans sky
     
  20. manux

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,946
    Likes Received:
    815
    Location:
    Earth
    I haven't played no mans sky. Maybe one day. Elite + freespace1/2 should keep me plenty busy and then it's probably time for cyberpunk2077 and vampire.
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...