REAL programmers write code in hex!

I'm a REAL programmer, and I use:

• Hex. I'll decide how things execute, thank you very much.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Assembly. The assembler generally doesn't fuck that up.

Votes: 5 8.1%
  • C. Everything else is for dummies.

Votes: 7 11.3%
  • Sheesh. COBOL is where it's at. Do you have to ask?

Votes: 1 1.6%
  • I do REAL programming. Fortran, of course.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Don't try to be a smarty pants! C++ is THE standard. Duh.

Votes: 23 37.1%
  • Hey! I use my compiler as the perfect tool! Functional languages are the name of the game.

Votes: 1 1.6%
  • User interfaces are where it's at. Give me the best tool for that, like .NET.

Votes: 3 4.8%
  • Who cares? As long as it's readable and everyone understands the intent.

Votes: 14 22.6%
  • Other, please specify:

Votes: 8 12.9%

• Total voters

Frank

Certified not a majority
Veteran
Are you a REAL programmer? Do you like second-guessing and correcting even an assembler by inlining your code directly? Or do you value other things?

Hex is the only answer …
Code:
  int Pos = 0;

buff[Pos++]=0x68;

memmove(&buff[Pos],&dllStringptr,4);
  Pos+=4;

buff[Pos++]=0xFF;
  buff[Pos++]=0x15;

memmove(&buff[Pos],&LoadLibFuncptr,4);
  Pos+=4;

if (strInitFunction != NULL)
  {
      buff[Pos++]=0x68;

memmove(&buff[Pos],&initStringptr,4);
	  Pos+=4;

buff[Pos++]= 0x50; // push eax  

buff[Pos++]=0xFF;
	  buff[Pos++]=0x15;

memmove(&buff[Pos],&GetProcFuncptr,4);
	  Pos+=4;

buff[Pos++] = 0xFF; // call
	  buff[Pos++] = 0xD0; // eax
  }
  else
  {
	  buff[Pos++] = 0x33; //xor
	  buff[Pos++] = 0xC0; //eax
  }

buff[Pos++] = 0xEB; // jmp 0 as stoppoint
  buff[Pos++] = 0xFE;

… for some problems

Heh. Since words always come in multiples of four bits, Hex and binary are functionally identical :)

archie4oz said:
HEX is for pussies... It's all about binary opcodes...

yep. on meters-high piles of punch cards..

i'm a sisy, though, i'd take a mini assembler any day to that : )