nVidia puts early driver releases behind a registration wall.

Discussion in 'Graphics and Semiconductor Industry' started by ToTTenTranz, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Finland
    You don't need AMD Gaming Evolved App for any driver updates, though, or even for notifications. Radeon Software does it on it's own, too
     
    CaptainGinger likes this.
  2. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,246
    Likes Received:
    3,292
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    And Raptr isn't even really an AMD app is it? Basiaclly a re-branded software package that has been around for quite awhile?
     
  3. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Finland
    I'd see it as "AMD app" even though it's coming from outside the company, since AMD is the one promoting it etc. You can get it without AMD naming as Raptr, but not 110% sure if it has all the same features
     
  4. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,817
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Location:
    Germany
    It is, however, pre-selected to be installed and distributed with every Radeon Software Crimson Package, much the same as Nvidias GFE.

    Neither do you with GFE and Geforce drivers (yet) - even though it seems to have been in the planning stage when the thread was created.

    Edit
    Meanwhile, we are talking about a software at AMD that is called "Gaming Evolved powered by raptr"

    Edit2
    Raptr just got updated and the update notification called it "AMD Gaming Evolved" :)
     
    #64 CarstenS, Jul 13, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
  5. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,817
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Location:
    Germany
    BRiT likes this.
  6. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Finland
    For what it's worth, GFE 3.0 beta isn't offering the drivers for my GTX 980, it says 368.69's are still the newest

    edit: where does it say it's 3.0 only?
     
    #66 Kaotik, Jul 14, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
  7. CarstenS

    Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    4,817
    Likes Received:
    2,095
    Location:
    Germany
    I actually meant what I wrote: In that article announcing the new drivers, there was no link to the download page and manually going to the driver download page yielded no 389.81 drivers. In the meantime though, the driver download page seems to have been updated, so we're back to waiting for the first drivers behind a registration wall as indicated by the thread title.
     
  8. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Finland
    There were links, at least when I replied, but as you said, the drivers weren't there at the time, they've been updated later.
    The drivers, according to reports, were available since they were released at nvidia.com / .co.uk > drivers search, though
     
  9. Alessio1989

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    291
    once upon a time there were drivers
    once upon a time there were bloatware required for getting drivers
    once upon a time there were emails required for getting bloadware required for getting drivers
    once upon a time there ????
     
    Razor1 and Lightman like this.
  10. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    1,737
    Does it still say 389.69 are the latest?

    I manually downloaded and installed the latest 368.81 which comes with GFE 2.11.4.0. Checking driver updates in GFE finds 368.81 is the latest Geforce driver.
     
  11. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    8,345
    Likes Received:
    2,027
    Location:
    Finland
    Nah, it came a day late or something saying there's new drivers up
     
    pharma likes this.
  12. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    1,737
    NVIDIA Releases GeForce Experience 3.0 - New UI and Features



    http://www.anandtech.com/show/10661/nvidia-geforce-experience-30
     
  13. Silent_Buddha

    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    5,560
    Never going to use it since I'm not going to sign up for yet another account just to use it as I don't have a Facebook, Google, or Nvidia account.

    But I'm glad they backed off their threat to put their drivers behind a registration wall.

    Regards,
    SB
     
    pharma and RootKit like this.
  14. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,061
    Likes Received:
    1,737
    I'm glad as well, and have not tried it yet but think it might be possible to use newer drivers with older GF Experience (up to 3.0) if required.
     
  15. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,273
    Likes Received:
    4,855
  16. Malo

    Malo Yak Mechanicum
    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Messages:
    7,246
    Likes Received:
    3,292
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
  17. ToTTenTranz

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2008
    Messages:
    10,273
    Likes Received:
    4,855
    At the moment it's just a reddit post.
    Let's hope some notable website picks this up to confirm or deny it.
     
  18. tabs

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,717
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    UK
    Wow, this fucking sucks. In the meantime here's how to disable it if it concerns you.
     
    I.S.T., RedVi, pharma and 3 others like this.
  19. Bludd

    Bludd Experiencing A Significant Gravitas Shortfall
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    817
    Location:
    Funny, It Worked Last Time...
    Or just block nvtmrep.exe and nvtmmon.exe in your firewall.
     
  20. Osamar

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    40,00ºN - 00,00ºE
    I have installed just drivers, NO Geforce Experience and I have found no telemetry at all running on my system.
     
    pharma likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...