No DX12 Software is Suitable for Benchmarking *spawn*

Discussion in 'Architecture and Products' started by trinibwoy, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. techuse

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    227
  2. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    1,066
    Location:
    France
    The 1440p => 4k hit is pretty big, more than in some other games... ?
     
  3. CarstenS

    Legend Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 31, 2002
    Messages:
    5,153
    Likes Received:
    2,655
    Location:
    Germany
    Maybe more cards hitting hard memory limits? Apparently, DE is supposed to eat vidmem even before breakfast.
     
  4. fellix

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    The game is definitely VRAM hungry. On max settings, 1440p mode and no res scaling, my 1080Ti GPU utilization hover around the 40% mark with nearly 8GB VRAM occupied.
     
    Per Lindstrom likes this.
  5. Kaotik

    Kaotik Drunk Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2003
    Messages:
    9,328
    Likes Received:
    3,301
    Location:
    Finland
    According to TPU it stays within 8GB limits until you go 4K, when it jumps slightly over 8GB making pretty much everyone run out of memory 2080 Ti aside
     
  6. Rootax

    Veteran Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,702
    Likes Received:
    1,066
    Location:
    France
    My VEGA FE will be fine then : o
     
  7. Svensk Viking

    Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2009
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    121
  8. techuse

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2013
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    227
  9. fellix

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    Lightman likes this.
  10. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    Likes Received:
    2,680
  11. fellix

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
  12. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    Hardware Unboxed: GeForce 600, 700, 900, 10 & Radeon HD 7000, 200, 300, 400 series cards reviewed.
     
    Lightman and PSman1700 like this.
  13. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,396
    Likes Received:
    6,016
    Without knowing the architecture of the renderer and which hardware features it’s leveraging, I don’t know how anyone can make claims about how things should be performing.
     
    DegustatoR likes this.
  14. fellix

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    3,516
    Likes Received:
    442
    Location:
    Varna, Bulgaria
    In general, the engine is forward-rendering with tile-based occlusion pre-pass for the lighting. My guess is that if the engine is using async compute operations, this could be the main reason Kepler is struggling without dedicated driver profiling, considering this architecture is particularly reliant on fine software tuning of the driver compiler for sustained resource utilization.
     
  15. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,396
    Likes Received:
    6,016
    Yah, I've read that the renderer is still a forward-renderer. It seems like they've changed/upgraded their AA solution again (computed asychronously, accumulates up to 32 samples per pixel), and you can't actually change it or turn it off (except in the console). They stated that turning it off breaks a lot of things, because they rely on temporal accumulation. They've also completely re-done the texturing system and gotten rid of megatexture entirely. There are just so many places where they've upgraded from Doom 2016 to Wolf 2 to Doom Eternal that I really don't think anyone should be reading into Doom 2016 numbers and extrapolating to Doom Eternal. Looking forward to future tech talks on this one.
     
    Lightman, iroboto, chris1515 and 4 others like this.
  16. Rodéric

    Rodéric a.k.a. Ingenu
    Moderator Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,031
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Source please. I'm interested in what they did (except if they went back to just loading everything a level requires before-hand ^^)
     
  17. Scott_Arm

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    14,396
    Likes Received:
    6,016
    TIme stamped



    Considering how fast the game loads on an nvme, I'm not too worried. It loads much faster than Doom 2016 or Wolf 2.
     
  18. pharma

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    3,791
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    Resident Evil 3 Benchmark Test & Performance Analysis - 27 Graphics Cards Compared
    March 30, 2020
    https://www.techpowerup.com/review/resident-evil-3-benchmark-test-performance-analysis/
     
    Lightman likes this.
  19. sir doris

    Regular

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    675
    Likes Received:
    131
    No 1% lows for RE3 DX11 vs 12?
     
    Lightman likes this.
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...