News & Rumours: Playstation 4/ Orbis *spin*

Discussion in 'Console Industry' started by patsu, Jan 23, 2013.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neb

    Neb Iron "BEAST" Man
    Legend

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,391
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    NGC2264
    *EIGHTGIGABYTEDDRFIVESUPERIORVRAMFORCEMIA* :lol:

    But honestly not really unexpected. I guess people will come to reality now and let it settle in over a bottle of prime whiskey.
     
  2. McHuj

    Veteran Regular Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,512
    Likes Received:
    678
    Location:
    Texas
    If that additional 1GB isn't guaranteed, I image it will only end up being used for non-critical stuff like caching to hide load times.
     
  3. gurgi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    1
    That's the most reasonable assumption. You can't count on it, but it will help if you aren't running facebook, netflix, and browsing the internet with 15 tabs while trying to play a game.


    Oh, for some reason I thought they started with FreeBSD. I was joking anyway, it's clearly reserved for app usage and isn't a 3.5GB os. :)
     
  4. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,941
    Likes Received:
    4,864
    The 2.5GB was expected, but it's still a very large amount of system memory. Mapping a separate 1GB as some kind of shared caching area is surprising though. It's likely that it will be always available to the game except for some special situations, I suppose devs will use that for preloading levels, caching and the likes.

    "the current allocation in terms of both CPU cores and memory could be reduced once the operating system is complete and then streamlined."


    Yeah, I guess there's no harm in reserving too much and reducing later, since the reverse cannot be done.
     
  5. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    ... or things you can regenerate or load quickly. e.g., camera data.
     
  6. liolio

    liolio Aquoiboniste
    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Stateless
    Devil advocate here, SOny doesnt have windows 8 and gave up on eye toy to reach 399$.
    I would think that they could have include eye toy and 4GB and launch @399$, either way they could have gone with 4GB no eye toy and a may an even lower price or plam for aggressive price reduction scheme ie slashing the price as soon as the rumored 8Gb GDDR5 memory chips would have been available so most likely before shrinking the SOC is an option.

    As for OS usage it is getting crazy, my old G2x phone has 256MB of RAM and back ground services are not taking all the space. It is not the most reactive phone ever but this has a lot to do with the slow RAM, SLow CPU, etc /the phone as the whole.
    If switching is not instant not to background services but for example from game to browser well, it happens to be the same of plenty of cheap tablet or notebook...
    Speak about losing track of priority... both MSFT and Sony think that instant switching and providing better multi tasking that most PC (not even laptop or tablet or phone) is critical to console, imo the market needs to be disrupt.
    I hope Google will enter the show with Nvidia and others following its path.
     
  7. ThePissartist

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,498
    Likes Received:
    431
    I guess this is a problem with both manufacturers knowing about each other's hardware. They're turning into the same machine. Might as well have just built the same machine and stuck a MS label on one and a Sony label on the other
     
  8. grndzro

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    The OS dosen't use 3.5 GB of ram it uses 2.5. The extra gig is flexible between open applications or the game.
     
  9. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    They use both Free BSD and NetBSD on PS3. I think they use the network stack from NetBSD but I can't remember where I read it anymore.

    It's not so clear for a layperson what those 2.5GB RAM may include. ^_^
    The memory may be used for a concurrent BSD app/game, or a full-blown OS VM/environment like Android. :p
    Need to see the final experience to know.

    I expected some shared heap memory since the beginning.

    EDIT:
    Thanks ! I corrected my posts.
     
  10. MrFox

    MrFox Deludedly Fantastic
    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    5,941
    Likes Received:
    4,864
    If it means the game recording loop is in memory, at least it saves our plan for an SSD upgrade :lol:
     
  11. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    41,727
    Likes Received:
    12,801
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    4.5 GBs? What a waste 8 GBs GDDR5 was then!
     
  12. Cjail

    Cjail Fool
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    210
    What puzzles me is that PC BSD requires less memory than BSD on PS4.
     
  13. Bagel seed

    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    16
    So in the future, perhaps...

    1gb shared heap
    512mb core OS
    1gb apps?
     
  14. Shifty Geezer

    Shifty Geezer uber-Troll!
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2004
    Messages:
    41,727
    Likes Received:
    12,801
    Location:
    Under my bridge
    Don't assume it's the core OS, but what Sony wants to do with it. If BSd can run in 200 MBs, Sony may still dump 3 GBs of Sony special crap in there (free trial of McAfee? Yahoo toolbar? :roll: ).

    There was me thinking Nintendo's 1 GB excessive, and MS's 3 GBs including Kinect stuff obscene. I guess that's modern computing for you - extremely wasteful and inefficient. But more than that, I don't understand why Sony made the choices they did. If they want +4 GBs for OS, why not go split RAM for a massive saving? The whole unified RAM was a huge selling point, trumpeted to developers after the reveal - "eight gigabytes of unified RAM". In reality it's 4.5. All those devs asking for more RAM, I wonder what their reaction is? Kinda like asking for a 4 bedroomed house to be given a four bedroomed house with two bedrooms walled in.
     
  15. gurgi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    1
    IIRC, didn't the article read more like 2.75GB OS, .75GB shared cache? The title of the article seemed to round up.
     
  16. patsu

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2005
    Messages:
    27,614
    Likes Received:
    60
    That may be because you're comparing memory reserved for PC BSD OS alone with memory reserved for PS4 OS + PS4 apps and other overhead.

    In the article, DF mentioned that a developer can allocate small or large memory setup for games (4.5GB vs 5.25GB). The latter mode is for debugging only. This is on top of the 1GB optional memory.

    In large memory mode, the "OS" takes less than 2.5GB.
     
  17. DieH@rd

    Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,179
    Likes Received:
    2,110
    15min of DVR has to me managed somehow. Currently they can place all 15minutes of it in ram if they use sensible bitrate [8mbit, ~900MB total].
     
  18. liolio

    liolio Aquoiboniste
    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,724
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Stateless
    Well we don't know as it seems that devs are not allowed to speak about their efforts on the xb1.

    as a side note your post is a testament to how successful Mark Cerny's communication campaign is at least on the web, all of sudden the Xb1 is a complicated system to deal with.
    That is imo a felony, it should be easier, significantly easier to work with than the 360, relative to the resolution the scatchpad is bigger than in the 360, it is accessible to the GPU and so on.
    Then there is the API and the tools provided by MSFT.

    Imo till we hear serious complains about xb1 it is safer to not byte to hard into Sony communication campaign, the PS4 is super straight forward, the most straigh forward console ever, but it says nothing about the competitor machine being a hell to code for.

    I don't think it will take much more time, if at all, to port to Xb1. At worse Devs will make a non optimal use of the scratchpad.
     
  19. Cjail

    Cjail Fool
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    2,027
    Likes Received:
    210
    I am still waiting for the aforementioned Sony statement on this matter..
     
  20. gurgi

    Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2003
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    1
    DVR doesn't make sense. They were probably caching to hdd when the PS4 was 4GB anyway. The reserve is probably for 'apps.'


    I wonder if the devs that Cerny talked to when they increased the RAM weren't App devs? (honest question)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...