New Skate Character Models...what uncanny valley??

Those actually look the real skaters. I've been skating for like 15+ years. Well at least one of them does. The first one is Jerry Hsu. He is super good in real life. The white guy is Jason Dill I think.i could be wrong though. If it's him it's a little off since I can't reconize him right away.Usually see him more "punk rock" looking. What I've seen of this game is pretty sick. Much different the Tony Hawk. The viewpoint is more like how they film skate videos nowadays. Pretyy damn cool.

If only they looked like than in-game too.
Impressive anyway, but I wouldn't go as far as say they're the best cgi character models today.

Couple new SKATE character model screens from over at gamespot, the best character models I've ever seen as far as avoiding the uncanny valley and looking like real people:

I'd like to see the models animated before claiming that they look like real people _and_ are avoiding the uncanny valley.

I'd like to see the models animated before claiming that they look like real people _and_ are avoiding the uncanny valley.
Definitely. There's been some great models before...until they move. Lip sync is extremely hard to make convincing, as is fluid motion and eye movement. I'll be surprised if more than a handful of titles get close to being convincing this gen, and not until some advanced natural motion tech comes into play that adds those natural movements needed to get past the robotic look.

Me don't like them... Though it's a bit scary to await when you'll criticize our work :)

imho, they are fully in the uncanny valley... the skin looks really ugly, and they're rather lowpoly, i don't like how they look at all.

and yes, animation is the most important to make them look real or unreal. and canny or not :D

imho, they are fully in the uncanny valley... the skin looks really ugly, and they're rather lowpoly, i don't like how they look at all.