New Hardrive

l15741

Newcomer
Hello,
This is my first time purchasing a harddrive this large so some of my questions many seem a little noobish. :oops:

I want to pick up a 200 gigibyte hard drive that is on sale for like 100 dollars at the Compusa down the street. However I had a few questions.

1) I wanted to confirm that the 127 (137 whatever) gigibyte limit in windows XP had been fully fixed, or will I have problems what that?

2) Will there be to much of a power drain with that much added drive? I think my PSU is at about the end of it's cord anywaise and I don't want to have to get another. ;)

) I don't feel like going through the while reformatting ordeal, but I want windows and stuff on the new drive, so if I install it as a slave, then copy and paste everything from c: to d: then reinstall the 200 as a master and make it the c: drive, will everything work? Or do I have to reformat and get all my drivers and programs and stuff on there all over again? :cry:

Thanks for any help you choose to give.

1. I recently installed an sATA 200Gb HD in XP without any problems having XP recognize all 200Gb of it. (And I didn't partition it at all, it's just one huge horking drive. 8) )

2. No clue.

3. I highly doubt that copying the contents of your drive over and then swapping them around would be a very good idea. It might just work, but I doubt it would be stable. Generally speaking, if you're swapping the HD your OS is on it is a very good idea to re-install.

1. You need to make sure that your BIOS support more than 137GB HDDs. Windows XP won't have any problem with it, AFAIK (I have two computers with 160GB drives working under WinXP, and as digitalwanderer, I don't partition my drives :) ).

2. Most normal 7,200 rpm drives drain about 10W ~ 15W under normal operation. You can check the datasheet of your HDD for details.

3. You probably need something like Ghost to do that.

1) If you have problems with >127Gb hd's, install SP1. ( XP and 2K )