Mac OS/X Lion (Out Now)

Discussion in 'PC Hardware, Software and Displays' started by Arwin, Jul 21, 2011.

  1. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Why is Lion such a fucking hog on RAM? Seriously, I have 4GB in my machine, and with almost nothing running nearly 3 gigs are eaten up. Tried playing some Left 4 Dead, took ages for the level to load due to all the hard drive swapping.

    Safari's a particularly gluttonous bitch on memory, with 2 empty tabs and a page from Ars Technica it wanted over a quarter gigabyte. WHAT THE HELL! That's ridiculous.
     
  2. Pressure

    Veteran Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    276
    Can you take a picture of Activity Monitor running showing the real memory usage? You are probably seeing the sandboxed Safari Web content using a lot of memory.

    You can take a picture of the window by holding down Shift + Command + 4 and then clicking space.
     
  3. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Lion's disconnected me from my wifi network two times now after coming out of sleep. The icon still looks the same as when connected, but anything trying to reach the router (including time machine automatic backups) will fail.

    I've seen others post about this on Mac forums, so I'm hoping there'll be a bug fix for this in a maintenance release. It's not a big issue really, but it's a few unnecessary mouse clicks to re-connect to the wifi network again...

    Anyone else seeing this?

    Oh, and what's up with the spell chequer sometimes auto-correcting typos and sometimes not, and instead just leaving them the way they are with a dotted red line underneath them? I've been looking for some kind of pattern and there just doesn't seem to be one.
     
  4. Richard

    Richard Mord's imaginary friend
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    40
    Location:
    PT, EU
    Now imagine you're playing Diablo 3 when that happens. :wink:

    A friend of mine upgraded his MBP 2010 to Lion and he says the fonts on the menu are too "bold" he says. I haven't had a chance to look at it myself but I think Lion had some font changes. Anyone notice that?
     
  5. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    OMG ROFL! :lol:

    Can't really say I've noticed that one. Maybe it depends a bit on the DPI/rez of your display? I'm on an ancient terrible 19" 1280*1024 DVI monitor right now until I'm able to upgrade and I think fonts look....pretty much the same on the whole. Then again I haven't used a Mac for very long, so maybe I'm missing some subtleties.
     
  6. SedentaryJourney

    Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2003
    Messages:
    476
    Likes Received:
    27
    10.2 Jaguar introduced Quartz Extreme and had transparent window borders. Apple removed them in 10.3 probably for aesthetic reasons since Jaguar was able to composite in excess of 25 transparencies without issue. Also transparency remained for windows and the dock.

    Sometimes Apple just removes things for the sake of minimalism. When Aqua was first demoed Steve Jobs showed minimized videos running in the dock but this was later removed in Leopard. Now people complain that OS X doesn't have live video previews like the Windows 7 taskbar. Cutting down on visual clutter seems to be the trend at Apple, until they do something horrendous like the new iCal leather theme.

    Wouldn't using launch pad as your primary desktop and then switching between full screen apps imply killing off the desktop metaphor altogether? This is Mac OS, drag and drop between windows isn't just a vestige of some forgotten past, it's what makes the interface great.

    BTW invoking expose and using the dock to switch between apps still works great in Lion. I use it more than Mission Control.

    I always figured it was the other way around.
     
    #66 SedentaryJourney, Aug 9, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 10, 2011
  7. pcchen

    pcchen Moderator
    Moderator Veteran Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,768
    Likes Received:
    150
    Location:
    Taiwan
  8. Davros

    Legend

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    14,963
    Likes Received:
    2,343
  9. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    You can turn off the wonky "natural" (as Apple coined it) inverted scrolling in the control panel thingy (that isn't called the control panel, I forget the real name.)

    It was driving me nucking futs initially, but it's not a big deal. Just click a widget and it's back the way it's always been. Now if someone can tell me why my Mac keeps waking up out of sleep I'd be real happy...

    What I probably like most in Lion is I can now shut my macbook without it going to sleep if there's an external screen connected, but it's a bit silly you can crash the Mac by opening it up, powering it up and then closing it again before the login prompt appears. End result is a grey screen and a non-responsive system. :(

    Oh, and the fullscreen mode is pretty rad too (although the Commodore Amiga's windowing manager (Intuition) had that basic functionality back in 1985 though... :lol::lol::lol:)
     
  10. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,685
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    What about full-screen apps, state saves, etc.? I use that all the time. I now find it almost anachronistic to be in the old 'desktop' pane.
     
  11. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Fullscreen mode is great for small screens. I'm still waiting for the Thunderbolt Display, and its 27"/2600 rez probably makes fullscreen rather overkill.

    Don't really care for state saves. If I restart my computer, it's 9/10 because I want to get RID of all the stuff that's running, not have all that stuff quietly re-load as I login without telling me... :razz:
     
  12. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    anyone running Lion on a MBP/2.6GHz C2D (2009 vintage) with 8GB RAM? Just wondering how much slower it is compared with Snow Leopard as I'm debating the upgrade...

    The wife got a new MBA, 11" with Lion and it's quite fast owing to the SSD...
     
  13. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
  14. Arwin

    Arwin Now Officially a Top 10 Poster
    Moderator Legend

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    17,685
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    Location:
    Maastricht, The Netherlands
    Also you can change the direction in settings. I use a bamboo with touch and then this makes a lot of sense.
     
  15. shiznit

    Regular Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Oblast of Columbia
    Once I "fixed" mouse acceleration, the new scrolling actually grew on me. Just remember you are moving the page not the camera.
     
  16. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Apple just updated the EFI on my Macbook with a new version, and now I get an icon for the guest user on the filevault password screen whenever I boot up the machine. How can I disable this? I don't want any guest accounts showing up and forcing extra clicks for no reason... :(

    Thanks a lot for any help.
     
  17. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    No clue, but have you tried disabling the guest account?
     
  18. Grall

    Grall Invisible Member
    Legend

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2002
    Messages:
    10,801
    Likes Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    La-la land
    Yes, but I don't know how to do that. :oops:

    I visited the Users and Groups System Prefs applet, but found no real way to do away with the guest account entirely, or at least not without disabling file sharing too. Or maybe I can still fileshare via LAN even with the guest user disabled?

    To be more precise, the "Allow guests to log in" checkbox is currently unchecked, "Parental Controls" is unchecked, and "Allow guests to connect" is checked. Even though the first checkbox is unchecked, I still get the guest account on the filevault EFI password screen... :(

    Thanks for your help though. :)
     
  19. Mize

    Mize 3dfx Fan
    Moderator Legend Veteran

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Messages:
    5,064
    Likes Received:
    1,127
    Location:
    Cincinnati, Ohio USA
    You can allow guest SMB sharing without enabling the Guest account.
    For SMB/LAN sharing "guest" just means no username or password. For the "Guest" account this allows a temporary home folder to be created for people who login to the console without a user account.

    So...I would think you could disable the user "Guest Account" and then just enable "everyone" to connect to your shared directories.

    I'm not running Lion (yet) but my wife is. On Snow Leopard you go to system prefs->accounts then unlock it and disable Guest Account
     
  20. zed

    zed
    Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,451
    Likes Received:
    635
    A couple of easy questions

    1. How can I scroll a browser window like this -> Press middle mouse button in (cursor changes), move mouse up/down to scroll. I use this all the time in windows/linux. But can I do this in mac with chrome?

    2. any apps to improve the mouses handling

    3. Im gonna download Xcode 1.7GB now does this need to be downloaded in one go (Its gonna take hours) or can I download part and then later on it will resume downloading when Im next online

    4. How can I widen the narrow scrollbars on the windows side

    cheers zed
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  • About Us

    Beyond3D has been around for over a decade and prides itself on being the best place on the web for in-depth, technically-driven discussion and analysis of 3D graphics hardware. If you love pixels and transistors, you've come to the right place!

    Beyond3D is proudly published by GPU Tools Ltd.
Loading...