Is there a Quaternion master ?

Dio said:
It's a good point. I should have put quotes around 'real'. I'm not a mathematician, my background is in physics, so I can visualise and manipulate vectors 'til the cows come home - while I have no idea what the phrase 'matrices represent bases of spaces' means :).

that be because my wording used in this case (and in 95% of the rest of the cases, i'm affraid) was pretty loose. a vector-space base would have been the correct term - a set of N linearly-independent vectors, defining the base of a coodinate system with N dimensions. you then pack those vectors the right way in a matrix (possibly with a homogeneous part) and voila - there's your matrix transformation ; )

Of course, this is just me demonstrating my stupidity. My experience with maths is mostly with mathemagicians, where three rules hold:
1. They always know an answer, but there's no danger of me understanding it
2. They invariably turn out to be right
3. Sometimes - rarely - there are hacks that they miss ;)

So I was describing one of the methods I've seen that maths fools like me might have a better time with if they find matrix math hairy.

while this board is yet to see a 'demonstation of your stupidity', i absolutely second your three points of view at math (me being a math mediocrite at large), just that with linear algebra it's pretty much an intuitive process - one can learn to envision pretty much any entity from it, includingly matrix transformations : )

ed: yet another example of my inabily to write anything sensible in a human language

Ah, now that starts to sound like some of the stuff I didn't understand in my plasma physics (which is where 'real' vectors get really hairy). :) I can hear the words 'eigenvector' and 'eigenvalue' approaching... like the front of an oncoming train.

The general agreement on that course was that Maxwell was an evil git.

Dio said: